Special HD-Vinyl 96/24 (EMI) Sergei Rachmaninov – The Bells/Vocalise

Reposted, now with FF links

# Composer: Sergej Rachmaninov
# Performer: Sheila Armstrong, Robert Tear, John Shirley-Quirk
# Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: André Previn
# Vinyl (1976)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: EMI
# ASIN: B00000DR1U
# Size: 822 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

This recording of Rachmaninov’s The Bells is excellent. An admirer had suggested Rachmaninov set Edgar Allan Poe’s poem, The Bells, to music. Poe’s poem dealt with four important life experiences as expressed in the sounds of different bells (silver – youth, gold – marriage, brass – war, iron – mourning). Rachmaninov set them as a four-movement choral piece, wonderfully capturing the different sounds and moods.

It’s a great piece of music and Previn does a great job of highlighting the contrasting movements. The soloists are likewise all excellent – sensitively relaying the differing moods of their respective movements.


The Bells – Based on the poem by Edgar Allan Poe
A1 Allegro ma non troppo 6:36
A2 Lento 10:54
A3   Presto 7:52
B1 Lento Lugubre 10:35
B3 Vocalise Op. 34 No. 14 6:36


Analyzed folder: /Users/alfredo/Desktop/ HiResMusic/96k Rachmaninov – The Bells/96k Rachmaninov – The Bells
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR12        -1.78 dB     -19.54 dB     A1 Rachmaninov – The Bells – Allegro ma non troppo.wav
 DR15        -2.54 dB     -23.23 dB     A2 Rachmaninov – The Bells – Lento.wav
 DR10        -0.90 dB     -15.48 dB     B1 Rachmaninov – The Bells – Presto.wav
 DR14        -1.76 dB     -21.76 dB     B2 Rachmaninov – The Bells – Lento Lugubre.wav
 DR13        -6.14 dB     -23.88 dB     B3 Rachmaninov – Vocalise Op34 No14.wav
 Number of files:    5
 Official DR value:    DR13


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Limited Edition Denon DL 103 SA
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

9 thoughts on “Special HD-Vinyl 96/24 (EMI) Sergei Rachmaninov – The Bells/Vocalise

    • 😉
      Try to find something out, about the legendary ASD-recordings by EMI. Some of them, from the early 60ies are near impossible to find to human prices

  1. My,Oh My, the clarity is palpible; it seems we are in the Symphony Hall while recording it; In fact even better, your audio equipment does what our ears cannot do – takes it all in at once – and what a finished product.

    What a pleasure, my friend.
    Thank you.


Leave a Reply