Anders Öhrwall / Stockholm Bach Choir / SRSO – Händel: Messiah – A Live Recording (3LP, Swedish pressing)

# Composer: Georg Friedrich Händel
# Orchestra: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Anders Öhrwall
# Vinyl (1982)
# Number of Discs: 3
# Format: Flac
# DR Analysis: DR 13
# Label: Proprius Musik | 7871-73
# Size: 24-bit/192kHz (5.28GB), 24-bit/96kHz (2.68GB) and 16-bit/44.1kHz (776MB)
# Recovery: 5%
# Scan: yes
# Servers: File Factory


Handel’s Messiah is increasingly performed in authentic Baroque style and with period techniques, and this version by conductor Anders Öhrwall, the Stockholm Bach Choir, and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra falls in line with the trend. While there is no clear indication that the instruments are anything but modern, the orchestral sound is imbued with a glossy string sound and transparent textures supported by a basso continuo that includes both harpsichord and organ, and the choir’s scaled-down size gives it the transparency associated with Baroque choral singing.

The free use of ornamentation, particularly in the repeated sections, also puts this in the period practice category, and the brilliant performances by soprano Yvonne Kenny, countertenor Paul Esswood, tenor Martyn Hill, and bass Magnus Lindén are tasteful in the use of such decoration. The orchestral arrangement by Öhrwall is not too far from the norms for historically informed practice, and his fleshing out of the continuo part with interesting counterpoint is a welcome addition.

But the most significant aspect of the performance that makes it a success is the lightness of tone that Öhrwall maintains through bright timbres, brisk tempos, and crisp accentuation. While Messiah often runs the risk of becoming too weighty or solemn, this fleet presentation sustains interest and never becomes tiresome. Proprius’ mastering provides clean and vibrant sound, which adds substantially to the freshness of this live recording. – Blair Sanderson,

Track Listing:

Side One
01 – Sinfonia
02 – Comfort ye
03 – Every valley
04 – And the glory
05 – Thus saith the Lord
06 – But who may abide
07 – And He shall purify

Side Two
08 – Behold, a virgin
09 – O thou that tellest
10 – For, behold, darkness
11 – The people that walked
12 – For unto us a Child is born
13 – Pifa
14 – There were shepherds…
15 – Glory to God

Side Three
16 – Rejoice greatly
17 – Then shall the eyes
18 – He shall feed His flock
19 – His yoke is easy
20 – Behold the Lamb
21 – He was despised

Side Four
22 – Surely, He hath borne
23 – And with His stripes
24 – All we liek sheep
25 – All they that see Him
26 – He trusted in God
27 – Thy rebuke
28 – Behold, and see
29 – He was cut off
30 – But Thou didst not leave

Side Five
31 – Lift up your heads
32 – Unto which of the angels
33 – Let all the angels
34 – Thou art gone up
35 – The Lord gave the word
36 – How beautiful
37 – Why do the nations
38 – Let us break their bonds
39 – He that dwelleth in heaven
40 – Thou shalt break them
41 – Hallelujah

Side Six
42 – I know that my Redeemer liveth
43 – Since by man came death
44 – Behold, I tell you a mystery
45 – The trumpet shall sound
46 – Then shall be brought
47 – Worthy is the Lamb
48 – Amen

Recorded live on February 13 and 14, 1982, at Adolf Fredrik’s Church in two performances open to the public

Thomas Schuback – harpsichord
Maria Wieslander – organ

Yvonne Kenny – soprano
Paul Esswood – countertenor
Martyn Hill – tenor
Magnus Lindén – bass

Anders Öhrwall – conductor
Stockholm Bach Choir – vocals

Additional info can be found here.

Notes about this pressing:

Rich sound, dynamic recording. Super clean vinyl. Very little to do here.

Ripping Info:

All vinyl is cleaned on a VPI 16.5

Technics SL1200-MK5 (modified)
– Rega RB300 arm with RB700 wiring
– Michell Tecnoweight
– SoundSupports armboard
– Trans-Fi Audio ResoMat
Audio Technica AT33PTG/II
AVID Pellar preamp
RME Hammerfall 9632 ADC

Processing: Sound Forge 10, ClickRepair, iZotope RX3

Do you like my rips?

If you enjoy my rips, please consider making a donation. All donations will go toward new music and/or equipment. Requests are always accepted.

Thank you!


Click here to download the files

Password is SteveMTNO.

13 thoughts on “Anders Öhrwall / Stockholm Bach Choir / SRSO – Händel: Messiah – A Live Recording (3LP, Swedish pressing)”

    1. Hi Steve,
      My greeting above was before I got the24/96 links downloaded.
      The first 3 came down smoothly and quickly.
      The last 3 defaulted and failed several times.So this AM took the last 3,1 at a time and finally got them.

      Steve the sound is beautiful and the Orchestra sound wonderful for a live recording.
      Paul Esswood does a very nice job of the tenor.
      I’m really grateful for this: THANK YOU, Neighbor.

  1. Thanks for uploading. I wouldn’t have guessed it was a live recording. The sound is excellent.

    I had problems extracting the 24/192 files so I grabbed the 24/96. There were corrupt header problems, crc error on part01 and it was expecting file ‘hand-mess-24192.part12.rar’, which isn’t available. Nevertheless, the 24/96 recording is still fabulous.

      1. Steve, my apologies, there was an error in the download. I noticed 2 file sizes were smaller than the others. These were direct FF downloads but something must have interfered. I was able to unpack the files in glorious 24/192 sound. Many, many thanks for the upload.

Leave a Reply