Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Mercury) Sergeji Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 3 (Janis/Dorati)

Many thanks for this beauty to our friend Jean-Luc
Rachmaninov wrote four concerti for the instrument, but the middle two are by far the best known (and best loved) of the four. For many years, the 2nd Piano Concerto, largely thanks to its “Full Moon and Empty Arms” theme in the final movement, was more popular with audiences and listeners than the 3rd. But, thanks largely to the dramatized travails of the Australian pianist David Helfgott in the movie “Shine,” the race, as it were, is much closer. The 3rd definitely places much higher technical demands on the soloist.

# Composer: Sergeji Rachmaninov
# Performer: Byron Janis
# Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Antal Dorati
# Vinyl (1961)

# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: Mercury
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
# Size: 1.46 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory


Byron Janis, at his prime (as he is in these performances), was one of the finest pianists of his generation. (If the latest generation of classical music listeners is unfamiliar with his abilities, it certainly isn’t due to the magnificent support that the Mercury label provided for him through most of those years. More likely, the unfamiliarity is due to a very steep decline in his concertizing activities once he was stricken with psoriatic arthritis in the early ’70s.) A prodigious technician, Janis was also able to infuse his playing with finely-honed lyricism when called for; he was definitely not a subscriber to today’s “Bang Bang” (or “Clang Clang” if you will) school of pianism. (Interestingly, he was the first private student that Vladimir Horowitz took on [and Horowitz only had a few such students]. While he undoubtedly learned well from Horowitz, I believe that his ability to combine technical prowess with lyricism was innate.)

 Analyzed folder: /192k Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 3 – Byron Janis
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR13        -1.03 dB     -18.99 dB     A Piano Concerto No. 3, In D Minor, Op. 30 – Allegro Non Tanto.wav
 DR13        -4.82 dB     -22.62 dB     B1 Piano Concerto No. 3, In D Minor, Op. 30 – Intermezzo – Adagio.wav
 DR13        -1.84 dB     -19.35 dB     B2 Piano Concerto No. 3, In D Minor, Op. 30 – Finale – Alla Breve.wav
 Number of files:    3
 Official DR value:    DR13


  • Composed By – Rachmaninov
  • Conductor – Antal Dorati
  • Design [Cover Design] – George Maas
  • Orchestra – London Symphony Orchestra, The
  • Photography By – Henry Ries
  • Piano – Byron Janis
  • Producer [Recording Director] – Wilma Cozart
  • Recording Supervisor [Musical Director] – Harold Lawrence
  • Sleeve Notes – Henry Jaques
  • Technician [Associate Technical Supervisor] – Robert Eberenz
  • Technician [Technical Supervisor] – C. R. Fine
  • Transferred By [Film-To-Lacquer-Transfer], Lacquer Cut By – George Piros

Ripping Infos


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
I tend more and more, in the last time, to de-click with an automatic setting between 0.7 and 1.2 so you can say, my rips are like half rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Very light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
4 archives

PW: LaWally

14 thoughts on “Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Mercury) Sergeji Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 3 (Janis/Dorati)

  1. This Concerto is a fitting reminder of Rachmaninov’s extraordinary ability to compose imposing, technically demanding, music that still thrills and captivates audiences throughout the globe to this very day. It’s one of those pieces I’ll always have several recordings of and will always enjoy.

    Thank you for this great post!



  2. Much awesomeness RACH !!! My request for more 24 192 classic Mercury 35mm is becoming more and more a dream come true. Dorati’s stuff is most desired.

    God Bless

  3. Wow what a year: I have two 3 Terabite and a 1&1/2 TB external HDs nearly full this year. As the Old Pirates used to say, “WHAT A HAUL!”
    A huge Thanks to Rach, Whatever, Night Owl, and to all the contributors of LPs for this splendid treasure from !
    Whatsoever, your site is Number 1 in my books!
    May you all prosper this new year, 2015, as your soul prospers!

  4. Hi Rach,

    could you please upload the 3rd part of the archive somewhere else? The current server is under maintenance for several weeks.

    Many thanks.

Leave a Reply