HD-Vinyls 96/24 (Decca) Giacomo Puccini – La Bohème (Freni/Pavarotti)

Reposted – now on FF

# Composer: Giacomo Puccini
# Singer: Mirella Freni, Luciano Pavarotti, Nicolai Ghiaurov
# Orchestra: Berlin Philarmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
# Vinyl (1973)
# Number of Discs: 2
# Format: Flac
# Label: London (Decca)
# DR-Analysis: DR15
# ASIN: B0000041TD
# Size: 2.1 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server:

Ladies and Gentlemen, please sit down and fasten your seat belts !
This is the best performed and best sounding BOHÈME in the milky way.

The score for La Bohème comes to glowing life under Herbert von Karajan’s baton, and Mirella Freni and Luciano Pavarotti make beautiful music together as the ill-fated lovers. The smaller parts are wonderfully sung, the comedy sharply profiled, and the pathos contained in such a way that the opera’s ending proves remarkably gripping. London’s sound is excellent. –Ted Libbey

This is one of the best opera recordings ever produced. For more than a decade, Freni-Pavarotti ruled the interpretation of Mimì and Rodolfo of this opera. This is absolutely the best La Bohème recording available, although some may argue that sometimes Karajan’s tempi may be a little bit slow. But Karajan shows his meticulosity in this recording by showing all the poetry and dramatical concept of this opera. The orchestra just sounds perfect, and the singers Freni, Pavarotti and Panerai are exactly Mimì, Rodolfo and Marcello. The combination between Freni and Pavarotti, the way they merge they voices together, is absolutely magic and essential for the results of this recording, because they have the adequate voices for both roles. Panerai sings the nicer Marcello of all, and Ghiaurov nails his Colline role, while Harwood delivers another great role as Musetta, despite her lack of perfect Italian, but with a lot of expressiveness.

Analyzed folder: /96k Puccini – Boheme – Freni-Pavarotti
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR16        -0.49 dB     -22.05 dB     side1.wav
DR14        -0.58 dB     -20.33 dB     side2.wav
DR14        -1.34 dB     -21.20 dB     side3.wav
DR15        -1.27 dB     -22.77 dB     side4.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR15



  • Choir – Schöneberger Boys Choir*
  • Chorus – Chorus Of The Deutsche Oper, Berlin*
  • Chorus Master – Walter Hagen-Groll
  • Composed By – Giacomo Puccini
  • Conductor – Herbert von Karajan
  • Engineer – Colin Moorfoot, Gordon Parry, James Lock (2)
  • Libretto By – Giuseppe Giacosa, Luigi Illica
  • Orchestra – Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra*
  • Other [Stylistic Adviser] – Antonio Tonini
  • Producer – James Mallinson, Ray Minshull
  • Vocals [A Custom-house Official] – Hans-Dietrich Pohl
  • Vocals [Benoit, Alcindoro] – Michel Senechal*
  • Vocals [Colline] – Nicolai Ghiaurov
  • Vocals [Marcello] – Rolando Panerai
  • Vocals [Mimi] – Mirella Freni
  • Vocals [Musetta] – Elizabeth Harwood
  • Vocals [Parpignol] – Gernot Pietsch
  • Vocals [Rodolfo] – Luciano Pavarotti
  • Vocals [Sergeant] – Hans-Dieter Appelt


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
6 archives

PW: LaWally

13 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 96/24 (Decca) Giacomo Puccini – La Bohème (Freni/Pavarotti)

  1. Dear Rachmaninov, just heard my first digitalized vinyl record on my equipment (madame butterfly with Freni/Pavarotti) and I am really blown away by the warmth and power of the music. Tried to download my favourite recording ever (Bohème with the same leading couple, which was performed at the Salzburg Easter Festival in the 70ties), but can´t find the FSo links and HF is still empty? Would be grateful if you can reupload it!

    Cheers, Chris

      • You are my hero! I have to look at my Salzburg appartment, there must be a recording of Figaro with Prey/Böhm, never unpacked since the 70ties, and Beethovens 9th symphony with Karajan… If i find it, I will send it to you if you want!

Leave a Reply