Bernstein/VPO: Beethoven: 9 Symphonies (Deutsche Grammaphon, 8LP box set)


# Composers: Ludwig van Ludwig van Beethoven
# Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Leonard Bernstein
# Vinyl (1980)
# Number of Discs: 8
# Format: Flac
# DR Analysis: varies
# Label: Deutsche Grammaphon
# Size: varies, each symphony is downloadable separately
# Recovery: 5%
# Scan: yes
# Server: RS, FF, FP

This box set was generously donated by a member from the US.


Critics have accused Leonard Bernstein of being too idiosyncratic in his interpretations, and some have claimed that his later recordings with Deutsche Grammophon were too flamboyant. I tend to disagree, since I have enjoyed listening to his Beethoven and Brahms symphony cycles with the Vienna Philharmonic and virtually all of his Mahler symphony recordings. Bernstein was as comfortable conducting Beethoven as he was with Mozart, Haydn, Mahler, Sibelius, or Copeland, to name but a few. And there were only a handful of orchestras with whom he had a great relationship, of which his partnership with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra surely ranks at the top, perhaps even more so than his critically acclaimed relationship with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra (I might add that he is still remembered by musicians in the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, who regard him as one of the most inspirational conductors with whom they’ve collaborated with.).

Bernstein’s Beethoven symphony recordings were among Deutsche Grammophon’s finest recording achievements in the late 1970’s. This 8LP box set is thus a tribute not only to Bernstein and the Vienna Philharmonic, but also to the technical excellence demonstrated by Deutsche Grammophon’s producers and recording engineers. My own personal favorites in this cycle are Bernstein’s riveting accounts of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 6th and 7th symphonies (his interpretation of the 5th Symphony is a bit too slow for my taste, and doesn’t quite seem nearly as riveting as Carlos Kleiber’s electrifying account with the Vienna Philharmonic recorded by Deutsche Grammophon a few years earlier). This is an excellent Beethoven symphony cycle for those interested in hearing the recordings of one of the 20th century’s greatest conductors. – John Kwok,

Track Lists:

Symphony No. 1 in C major op. 21
01 – Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
02 – Andante cantabile con moto
03 – Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace
04 – Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace

Symphony No. 2 in D major op. 36
01 – Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
02 – Larghetto
03 – Scherzo: Allegro – quasi attacca
04 – Allegro molto

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major op. 55 – “Eroica”
01 – Allegro con brio
02 – Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
03 – Scherzo: Allegro vivace
04 – Finale: Allegro molto

Symphony No. 4 in B flat major op. 60
1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
2. Adagio
3. Allegro vivace
4. Allegro ma non troppo

Symphony No. 5 in C minor op. 67
1. Allegro con brio
2. Andante con moto
3. Allegro
4. Allegro – Presto

Symphony No. 6 in F major op. 68 – “Pastorale”
1. Erwachen heiterer Gefuhle bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande: Allegro ma non troppo
2. Szene am Bach: Andante molto mosso
3. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landieute: Allegro
4. Gewitter, Sturm: Allegro
5. Hirtengesang – Frohe und dankbare Gefuhle nach dem Sturm: Allegretto

Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92
1. Poco sostenuto – Vivace
2. Allegretto
3. Presto – assai meno presto
4. Allegro con brio

Symphony No. 8 in F major op. 93
1. Allegro vivace e con brio
2. Allegretto scherzando
3. Tempo di Menuetto
4. Allegro vivace

Symphony No. 9 in D minor op. 125
1. Allegro ma non troppo un poco maestoso
2. Molto vivace
3. Adagio molto e cantabile
4. Presto – Allegro assai

Details on the CD version of this box set can be found here.

Ripping Info:

All vinyl is cleaned on a VPI 16.5

Technics SL1200-MK5 (modified)
– Rega RB300 arm with RB700 wiring
– Michell Tecnoweight
– SoundSupports armboard
– Trans-Fi Audio Reso-Mat
Shure V15VxMR (with Jico stylus)
SimAudio Moon 110LP preamp
Native Instruments Audio4DJ USB interface

Processing: Sound Forge 10, ClickRepair (manual mode only)


Symphony #1 – All of the files are here
Symphony #2 – All of the files are here
Symphony #3 – All of the files are here
Symphony #4 – All of the files are here
Symphony #5 – All of the files are here
Symphony #6 – All of the files are here
Symphony #7 – All of the files are here
Symphony #8 – All of the files are here
Symphony #9 – All of the files are here

Password is SteveMTNO. The files are interchangeable.

Do you like my rips?

If you enjoy my rips, please consider making a donation. All donations will go toward new music and/or equipment. Requests are always accepted.

Thank you!

35 thoughts on “Bernstein/VPO: Beethoven: 9 Symphonies (Deutsche Grammaphon, 8LP box set)

  1. Hi Rach,
    After unzipping Beet7-2496 part 1 and 2 files which I downloaded from FF. Message “bad password” was shown and the unzip process is incomplete. Could you check on it and advise if I need to download again.

    Thank you.

  2. This morning I have tried to download by FF, but the files arent running. The error during extraction is “CRC verification inst possible”
    Pls help me. Many Thanks. in advance…

  3. Steve MTNO,
    beenie-beet6 has only part 2 link.
    Is that correct; or is my sense of numbers tricking me tha Part 1 ought to be first?
    Little help Bro –


    • Hi Bob,

      Looks like another FF casualty. I’m uploading a new file now – thanks for letting me know it was missing!

      In the meantime, you can grab it from FP if you want, or wait a little while and try FF again.


      edit – looks like we were typing at the same time! 🙂

  4. Thank you so much for this fantastic box, but part 1 for the 4th Symphony 24/96 is not available anymore (bernie-beet4-2496.part1.rar). Can you please repost it on FF? Thank you in advance. Alex

Leave a Reply