Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Aaron Copland – Appalachian Spring/Rodeo/Fanfare For The Common Man (Lane)

The eternal question: Why does a digital recording sound much better, when played from vinyl, compared to the CD? Indeed, this is fact on almost all recordings. But in this case, Telarc used the full benefits of the master tapes (“only” 16 bit & 50 kHz its time), that were played in the full range, not beeing reduced to 44.1 kHz for the CD-norm. The HiFi-sound becomes a Hi-End-sound and you remain speechless and want to hear it again and again. Enjoy!

You are warned: take care of your amp and (more) of your speakers. Don’t play it too loud, until you know, how loud you can get it. Telarc’s timpani and bass drum are terrific!

Composer: Aaron Copland

Orchestra: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Louis Lane

Vinyl 1982
Number of Discs: 1

Format: Flac

Label: Telarc
DR-Analysis: DR 16
Size: 1.62 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

And now, something distinctly American: the music of Aaron Copland. I’m proud and happy to be an American, and so was Mr. Copland, apparently. I enjoy living in the southern Appalachians. It was getting acquainted with this region of the country that I got better acquainted with his music- which has a certain vivid photographic quality to it. That is, it conveys the social and even the topographic landscape of our wonderful country with brilliant imagery in music. The strong use of brass and percussion gives us the full, broad and rich sounds that match our American landscape, while the woodwinds and strings often capture the intimate woodland settings and quiet places of our forests.

On listening to the 1st track, “Fanfare For The Common Man” you may think “I know this well…”
OK, yes and no. Yes, this is the original, by Copland…and no, Emerson, Lake & Palmer didn’t write it 😀


A1 Fanfare For The Common Man 3:14
A2 Buckaroo Holiday 7:15
A3 Corral Nocturne 3:40
A4 Saturday Night Waltz 4:04
A5 Hoe-Down 3:12
B1 Appalachian Spring (Suite) 22:19


Analyzed Folder: /192k Copland – Fanfare…, Rodeo, Appalachian Spring – Lane_dr.txt
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR16 -0.47 dB -21.80 dB A1 Fanfare For The Common Man.flac
DR18 -0.12 dB -23.00 dB A2 Rodeo – Buckaroo Holiday.flac
DR14 -14.74 dB -34.88 dB A3 Rodeo – Corral Nocturne.flac
DR14 -9.90 dB -30.58 dB A4 Rodeo – Saturday Night Waltz.flac
DR16 -0.89 dB -23.20 dB A5 Rodeo – Hoe-Down.flac
DR17 -0.39 dB -23.86 dB B1 Appalachian Spring (Suite).flac

Number of Files: 6
Official DR Value: DR16



  • Composed By – Aaron Copland
  • Conductor – Louis Lane
  • Engineer [Recording] – Jack Renner
  • Liner Notes – Steven Ledbetter
  • Mastered By [Digital] – Jim Wolvington, John Newton
  • Orchestra – Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Producer [Recording] – Robert Woods


Ripping Info

A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.

When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

2 thoughts on “Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Aaron Copland – Appalachian Spring/Rodeo/Fanfare For The Common Man (Lane)

  1. The first track just reminds me my lovely TV series “Star Trek, The Voyager”. The rest tracks are enjoyable as well.

    Thanks Rachmaninov.

Leave a Reply