Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Hector Berlioz – Symphonie Fantastique (Maazel)

Revisited after 5 years, now with the benefits of the Black Bird Gang and the Audio Research SP15…and in 24/192
The eternal question: Why does a digital recording sound much better, when played from vinyl, compared to the CD? Indeed, this is fact on almost all recordings. But in this case, Telarc used the full benefits of the master tapes (“only” 16 bit & 50 kHz its time), that were played in the full range, not beeing reduced to 44.1 kHz for the CD-norm. The HiFi-sound becomes a Hi-End-sound and you remain speechless and want to hear it again and again. Enjoy!

You are warned: take care of your amp and (more) of your speakers. Don’t play it too loud, until you know, how loud you can get it. Telarc’s timpani and bass drum are terrific!

Composer: Hector Berlioz

Orchestra: Cleveland Orchestra

Conductor: Lorin Maazel

Vinyl 1982

Number of Discs: 1

Format: FLAC

Label: Telarc
DR-Analysis: DR 15
Size: 1.76 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF


Lorin Maazel and the Cleveland Orchestra recorded Berlioz’s great symphony of 1830 (just 3 years after Beethoven’s death!) in 1982, in a more “Classical” manner than some may prefer, but I like his recording of the SYMPHONIE FANTASTIQUE very much. Telarc offers terrific sound: clean and clear in treble, midrange and bass. Maazel avoids excesses of changing tempos, nuances at cadence points, unnecessary ritards, and just lets the Cleveland Orchestra play the music.

Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique was an ideal candidate to show off Telarc’s sonics. As an added gimmick, Telarc’s engineers rigged a microphone hookup to a nearby church, substituting the church’s bells for the usual orchestral chimes in the Witches Sabbath movement. The bells were recorded in real-time with the rest of the orchestra, the player being cued via a closed circuit television.
The best sounding performance of this work (with the exeption of Kujan’s recording for Reference Recordings) – and the church bell in the 5th movement provides a fascinating listening experience. Other than Munch, Maazel is as good as it gets in this symphony.

Analyzed folder: /192k Berlioz – Symphonie Fantastique – Maazel_dr.txt
DR Peak RMS Filename
DR17 -0.25 dB -23.70 dB A1 1st Mov. Reveries – Passion – Largo – Allegro Agitato E Appassionato Assai.flac
DR15 -4.30 dB -25.59 dB A2 2nd Mov. Un Bal – Valse – Allegro Non Troppo.flac
DR17 -2.52 dB -28.04 dB A3-B1 3rd Mov. Scene Aux Champs – Adagio.flac
DR13 -0.15 dB -19.17 dB B2 4th Mov. March Au Suppice – Allegretto Non Troppo.flac
DR15 -0.21 dB -20.35 dB B3 5th Mov. Songe D’Une Nuit Du Sabbat – Larghetto – Allegro – Lontano – Rondo.flac
Number of Files: 5
Official DR Value: DR15


  • Art Direction – Ray Kirschensteiner
  • Composed By – Hector Berlioz
  • Conductor – Lorin Maazel
  • Engineer – Jack Renner
  • Orchestra – The Cleveland Orchestra Chorus
  • Producer – Robert Woods


Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


12 thoughts on “Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Hector Berlioz – Symphonie Fantastique (Maazel)

        • I’m not only a classical lover…I’m first of all HiFi-lover. In this production both, music performance and HiFi-factor are very high, that’s impossible not to love it. Of course, there are half a dozen really oustanding recordings of this work, but I would take this one for the famous lonely island.

Leave a Reply