Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Stravinsky/Borodin – The Firebird – Ouverture and Polovetsian Dances from “Prince Igor” (Shaw)

The eternal question: Why does a digital recording sound much better, when played from vinyl, compared to the CD? Indeed, this is fact on almost all recordings. But in this case, Telarc used the full benefits of the master tapes (“only” 16 bit & 50 kHz its time), that were played in the full range, not beeing reduced to 44.1 kHz for the CD-norm. The HiFi-sound becomes a Hi-End-sound and you remain speechless and want to hear it again and again. Enjoy!

You are warned: take care of your amp and (more) of your speakers. Don’t play it too loud, until you know, how loud you can get it. Telarc’s timpani and bass drum are terrific!

Composer: Igor Stravinsky
, Alexander Borodin
Orchestra: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Conductor: Robert Shaw
Vinyl 1978
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
Label: Telarc

DR-Analysis: DR 15
1.62 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

In “The Firebird”, Stravinsky proves that in the hands of a master composer – even a reluctant one as Stravinsky was in accepting this commission (the composer procrastinated before finally getting down to business) – less (in terms of length) is indeed more. Utilizing three fairly short themes, Stravinsky conjures imagery that glistens, shimmers and burns like a bonfire.

The orchestration is perfect and the exposition is tight as a drum, underscoring the composer’s precise, almost engineering-like approach to composition. And watch out for the shocker nearly nine minutes into the piece – it will knock you off your chair. This is programmatic music nicely explained in the accompanying notes, but you don’t have to know the story to thoroughly appreciate the music.

If you really want to get the adrenalin pumping, continue on to the Polovetsian Dances from “Prince Igor”. Listeners of popular music know the initial theme as “Take My Hand, I’m a Stranger in Paradise” (as performed by numerous mainstream singers). The seminal version is sung lovingly by the chorus – and then the dances take off, going into overdrive as if both orchestra and chorus are being driven by a bullwhip. This is stirring music, boldly performed by great musicians.

Highly recommended!

Analyzed Folder: /192k Stravinsky – The Firebird – Shaw_dr.txt
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR17 -0.12 dB -23.66 dB A Stravinsky – The Firebird.flac
DR15 -0.25 dB -20.19 dB B1 Borodin – Ouverture To ‘Prince Igor’.flac
DR14 -0.13 dB -19.84 dB B2 Borodin – Polovetsian Dances From ‘Prince Igor’.flac

Number of Files: 3
Official DR Value: DR15



  • Chorus – Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus (tracks: B2)
  • Composed By – Alexander Borodin (tracks: B1, B2), Igor Stravinsky (tracks: A)
  • Conductor – Robert Shaw
  • Coordinator [Project Coordinator In Atlanta] – Dr. John Cooledge
  • Edited By [Digital Editing] – Robert Ingebretsen
  • Engineer [Digital Recording Engineer] – Bruce Rothaar, Thomas Stockham
  • Engineer [Sound Engineer] – Jack Renner
  • Liner Notes – Harold A. Rodgers, Michael Murray , Robert C. Lower
  • Orchestra – The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Producer – Robert Woods
  • Technician [Technical Consultant], Engineer [Mastering Engineer] – Stan Ricker

Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


11 thoughts on “Brutal Hi-End HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Telarc) Stravinsky/Borodin – The Firebird – Ouverture and Polovetsian Dances from “Prince Igor” (Shaw)

Leave a Reply