HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 1 (Michelangeli/Giulini)

Magisterial ! Michelangeli redefines Beethoven

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
# Orchestra: Vienna Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Carlo Maria Giulini
# Vinyl (1980)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# Size: 808 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

From the moment he apeared on the scene after WW II, through periods of great acclaim, retirement, re-emergence, notorious cancellations, and final deification, Michelangeli created an aura around himself. He was so aloof, patrician, and unapproachable that audiences felt privileged if he even showed up–and then there was his demand for strict silence and a darkened hall before he would play the first note. Remembering all that is easy thanks to these magisterial readings of the Beethoven First Concerto.

Late in his career, Michelangeli found a soul mate in Giulini, both committed to old-fashioned, intense, personal musicmaking. The First concerto starts off broadly, and one imagines this will be an exercise in patience, but the minute Michelangeli enters, you can’t help but be riveted. It’s not that he employs fireworks a la Horowitz–if anything, the playing is fairly relaxed. It’s all in the pianist’s total command of each note, thanks to his legendary touch. The simplest scale is completely captivating. (It was a regular habit of Michelangeli’s to choose ‘simple’ music like this concerto, which even a good student can manage, just to hypnotize the audience with his artistry).

Michelangeli’s sound and dynamic control are magisterial. There are plenty of moments to cherish throughout; and any reviewer would have a hard time deciding which points to highlight. Nevertheless, the first movement’s cadenza, the phrasing of the entire second movement, and the lilt and gaiety of the third–especially the bounce of the theme of the rondo, which most pianists play slovenly, disregarding Beethoven’s careful phrasing markings, which confer a characteristic ‘bounce’ to the theme–cannot but remain engraved in any listener’s minds. Under Giulini’s baton, the orchestra is perfectly paced and is both thrilling and immensely expressive.

Enjoy Michelangeli on Youtube ! Beethoven’s 1st Piano Concerto


  Konzert Für Klavier Und Orchester Nr. 1 C-dur Op. 15
A   Allegro Con Brio 18:23  
B1   Largo 10:37  
B2   Rondo. Allegro Scherzando 8:51  

Analyzed folder: /96kLvB_PC1_MicGiu/96k LvB – Piano Concerto No. 1 – Michelangeli-Giulini
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.32 dB     -19.00 dB     A Allegro Con Brio.wav
DR15        -4.85 dB     -25.23 dB     B1 Largo.wav
DR14        -0.68 dB     -18.65 dB     B2 Rondo. Allegro Scherzando.wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR14


  • Art Direction – Peter Schuppe
  • Composed By – Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Carlo Maria Giulini,
  • Edited By – Joachim Niss
  • Engineer – Klaus Hiemann
  • Liner Notes – Denis Matthews, Volker Scherliess
  • Liner Notes [Translation] – Daniel Henry, Gabriele Cervone
  • Orchestra – Wiener Symphoniker
  • Photography By – Siegfried Lauterwasser
  • Piano – Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
  • Producer – Karl Faust
  • Recording Supervisor – Cord Garben

Recorded live 21st September 1979

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
2 archives
PW: LaWally

21 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 1 (Michelangeli/Giulini)

  1. All that and more, specially the awe when the music ends – well, at least for me, the music seems to linger for a while above the silence and quietness.

    thank you Rachmaninov
    be well

  2. What an incredibely elegant and noble performance (a bit “serious” maybe) !
    Really extraordinary. Sound is excellent and, like usual, beats the CD. The orchestra lacks a bit of dynamics but the recording is live and was made this way. Thank you again !

    • I’m seriously thinking, he was really THE greatest of all….of course, not you oneself, but also other fathers have wonderful daughters…but I’m rediscovering ABM once more in a new way. I must admit, it’s almost 20y or more, that I didn’t heard ABM…so now with my new wonder engines 😀 I can really appreciate his magnificence.

      • Definitely one of the greatest. Spirit literally flows through his fingers. And I think his unbelievable control is just a way to achieve it, not a goal in itself. Do you have by any chance his recording of Brahms’s Ballades op. 10 ? I think it’s a miracle of a recording.
        PS : Giulini is fabulous too. Always had an immense admiration for his art.

  3. Hello Alf, thank yo for the BM post. He was a fanatic practiser and a difficult personalty. By the way I tell you a little story . In Febr. 1990 he was in Bremen with the NDR S.O. to record 2 Mozart Concertos. In the morning about 8 clock of the day of recording it was organized a rehearsal with the orchestra. When I and my brother in law, in this time the Concert Master of the Orchestra,entered the Glocke Concert Hall, BM was sleeping on a plank bed on the stage. He had practise the whole night and had no time to go in his hotel. But he was absolutely fit and made a well known recording.
    I have a copy of the mastertape of the two Mozart recordings. ( KV 466 & KV 503). That was my remembrance on this great Pianist. Trottar

  4. Hi Rachmaninov, Trottar, Onkle, and all music lovers and sharers!
    Thank you for the Michelangeli record, one of my favorite pianists!
    Cheers, love and peace to you all.

  5. Magisterial is a good term for this performance. And his technique is audacious. It is evident this man lived with this piece until he was in it and it was in him. You are correct to my way of thinking, Rach, about him reinventing Sir Ludwig. Spell binding, how he and Giulini and Orchestra meld into one piece of music. It grips me!
    An appreciative Bob

Leave a Reply