Great HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Columbia) Paganini/Saint-Saens – Violin Concertos (Francescatti)

# Composer: Niccoló Paganini, Camille Saint-Saens
# Performer: Zino Francescatti
# Orchestra: New York Philarmonic Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra
# Conductor: Dimitri Mitropoulos, Eugene Ormandy
# Vinyl (1964)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: Columbia
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
# ASIN: B000026G8O
# Size: 1.02 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Francescatti is often forgotten in the US because of his frequent stays in his native France and his Italian heritage, but surely ranks among Milstein, Stern, Kreisler, Elamn and others in terms of the great violin interperters of the last century. While Heifetz brught the level of violin playing to a new, unforgiving level, Francescatti proved that one could have flair and unending warmth without sacrificing technique.

I shall not go into details of these works as they are well known and collectors will have various performances already. If you are a newcomer to music an want to hear classic violin playing of the old school then this is a superb example. Francescatti was French despite his Italian name but played in that broad, European style with a generosity of tone and sustained sound that was a characteristic of the Russian, Jewish school; Milstein, Heifetz, Stern and Oistrach and might I suggest Kogan all displayed these qualities. Coupled with superb technique, they never played to show off and while modern violinists may equal their technical prowess they never sound as convincing. Why? I don’t really know except when I hear one of these older generation of violinists I can always tell because of the style, character and individuality of their musicianship. Kyung Wha Chung said 20 years ago that modern violinists were bland and lacked character, whereas she could hear an older performance and know who was playing.
These are great performances, Mitropoulos and Ormandy are marvellous supporters and the New York Phil and Philadelphia Phil wonderful instruments.



Track Listing


  Niccoló Paganini – Concerto Pour Violon Et Orchestre N°1 En Ré, Op. 6
A1   Allegro Maestoso    
A2   Adagio Espressivo    
A3   Rondo. Allegro Spirituoso    
  Camille Saint-Saens – Concerto Pour Violon Et Orchestre N°3 En Si Mineur, Op. 61
B1   Allegro Non Troppo    
B2   Andantino Quasi Allegretto    
B3   Molto Moderato E Maestoso – Allegro Non Troppo    


Analyzed folder: /96k Paganini-SaintSaens – Violin Concertos – Francescatti
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -1.22 dB     -19.71 dB     A1 Paganini – Concerto No.1 In D Major, Op. 6 – Allegro Mestoso .wav
DR13        -1.42 dB     -19.97 dB     A2 Paganini – Concerto No.1 In D Major, Op. 6 – Adagio Espressivo.wav
DR14        -1.09 dB     -20.65 dB     A3 Paganini – Concerto No.1 In D Major, Op. 6 – Rondo (Allegro Spiritoso).wav
DR12        -5.75 dB     -22.56 dB     B2 Saint Saens – Concerto No. 3 In B Minor, Op. 61 – Andantino Quasi Allegretto.wav
DR12        -4.08 dB     -21.06 dB     B1 Saint Saens – Concerto No. 3 In B Minor, Op. 61 – Allegro Non Troppo.wav
DR13        -1.37 dB     -19.08 dB     B3 Saint Saens – Concerto No. 3 In B Minor, Op. 61 – Molto Moderato E Maestoso-Allegro Non Troppo.wav
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR13




  • Composer – Niccoló Paganini, Camille Saint-Saens
  • Conductor – Dimitri Mitropoulos (tracks: B), Eugene Ormandy (tracks: A)
  • Orchestra – New York Philharmonic* (tracks: B), Orchestre De Philadelphie* (tracks: A)
  • Violin – Zino Francescatti


Ripping Infos


  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Limited Edition Denon DL 103 SA
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz


  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.


  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !


Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally


17 thoughts on “Great HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Columbia) Paganini/Saint-Saens – Violin Concertos (Francescatti)

  1. Thanks.
    I don’t think re-channeled mono will be a problem.
    I’ve heard a lot of stereo LPs sounding much better than “surround recording”.

Leave a Reply