Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/96 (EMI Columbia) Camille Saint-Saëns – ‘Organ’ Symphony No. 3 (Louis Fremaux)

Without a doubt, one of the best performances of SS’ 3rd Symphony
Fremaux’s performance of the “Organ” Symphony is the only version I have ever felt was worthy of mentioning in the same breath as Charles Munch’s famous 1959 RCA recording with the Boston Symphony. What’s more, the Fremaux performance deserves its multiple releases. The interpretation displays energy, zest, excitement, and grace aplenty, with a second-movement Adagio that flows over the listener in soft, warm waves.

# Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
# Organist: Christopher Robinson
# Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Louis Fremaux
# Vinyl (1973)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: EMI Columbia
# ASIN: B000025XYH
# Size: 710 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory


I feel I must offer my enthusiastic recommendation of Fremaux superb performance of the great Saint-Saens organ symphony. This is a vibrant, beautifully played, thoroughly French approach which no less an authority than Gramophone magazine considers one of the best recordings of this seminal work of this greatly gifted but occassionally superfluous composer (his piano concerti, for example, are extraordinarily variable.) No such qualifications, however, for the 3rd symphony. Fremaux, who preceded Simon Rattle at Bournemouth, exercises complete control over this very good British band which was, for years, obliged to languish in the shadow of the plethora of more celebrated London orchestras. In any case, this is simply a grand performance.

Analyzed folder: /Volumes/HDMUSIC/   Work on HiResMusic/96kSaSa_Sy3_Fre/96k Saint-Saens – (Organ)Symphony No. 3 – Fremaux
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -1.75 dB     -21.19 dB     A1 1st Movement Part 1 – Adagio-Allegro Moderato-Poco Adagio .wav
DR11        -2.34 dB     -20.15 dB     A2 1st Movement Part 2.wav
DR15        -2.00 dB     -22.11 dB     B1 2nd Movement Part 1 –  Allegro Moderato-Maestoso-Allegro.wav
DR12        -0.04 dB     -16.52 dB     B2 2nd Movement Part 2.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR13

  • Composed By – Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Conductor – Louis Frémaux
  • Orchestra – City Of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
  • Organ – Christopher Robinson

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Limited Edition Denon DL 103 SA
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

2 archives
PW: LaWally


10 thoughts on “Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/96 (EMI Columbia) Camille Saint-Saëns – ‘Organ’ Symphony No. 3 (Louis Fremaux)

Leave a Reply