Harnoncourt: Concentus Musicus, Wien – Muffat / Biber: Suites & Sonatas (180g pressing, from the 5LP box set)

# Composers: Georg Muffat, Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber
# Orchestra: Concentus Musicus, Wien
# Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
# Vinyl (1966 / 2013)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# DR Analysis: DR 11
# Label: Archiv Producktion
# Size: 1.11B (24/96) + 323MB (16/44.1)
# Recovery: 5%
# Scan: yes
# Server: File Factory / File Post

The third album in the Archiv Produktion 5LP box set.

Thanks to all who donated toward the purchase of this box set!

Box Set Overview:

This unique limited-edition LP set features five outstanding Archiv releases recorded between 1956 and 1982, with iconic artists Helmut Walcha, Karl Richter, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Reinhard Goebel and Trevor Pinnock, in pristine quality recordings from the early days of stereo to the early digital era. Newly presented in luxury 180-gram vinyl pressings, the LPs come in their original sleeves, with a 16-page accompanying leaflet that contains an article on Archiv, and the original LP notes.

Archiv Produktion has established itself as a landmark label for early music, documenting since 1947 the rediscovery an innovative interpretation of early music by the great performers of the day. Archiv Produktion offers a wide palette of recordings in which today’s great artists focus on the areas of their greatest expertise.

The list of artists who have recorded for Archiv is truly astounding. And the music they recorded represents some of the best, both in terms of repertoire and listening experience, that there has ever been.

Track Listing:

Side One
Suite VIII: Indissolubilis amicitia in E major
01 – I. Ouverture
02 – II. Les Courtisans
03 – III. Rondeau
04 – IV. Les Gendarmes
05 – V. Les Bossus
06 – VI. Gavotte
07 – VII. Sarabande pour le Génie de l’Amitié
08 – VIII. Gigue
09 – IX. Menuet

Concerto I: Bona nova in D minor
10 – I. Sonata: Grave-Allegro
11 – II. Ballo: Allegro
12 – III. Grave
13 – IV. Aria
14 – V. Giga

Side Two
Sonata a 6 – “die Pauern Kirchfahrt genandt”
15 – Sonata (Adagio-Presto)
16 – Die Pauern Kirchfahrt
17 – Aria

Sonata a 4
18 – I. (Allegro non troppo)
19 – II. (Poco allegro)
20 – III. (Adagio)
21 – IV. (Allegro)
22 – V. (Adagio)
23 – VI. (Poco allegro)
24 – VII. (Adagio)
25 – VIII. (Allegro)
26 – IX. (Allegro)

Sonata VIII in B flat major
27 – I. Allegro
28 – II. (Presto)
29 – III. Presto-Adagio

Battalia a 10
30 – Sonata
31 – Die liderliche Gesellschaft von allerley Humor
32 – Presto
33 – Der Mars
34 – Presto
35 – Aria
36 – Die Schlacht
37 – Lamento der Verwundten Musquetirer (Adagio)


Nikolaus Harnoncourt – conductor

Recorded March 22-26, 1965 at Palais Schöenburg in Vienna, Switzerland
Executive Producer: Rainer Brock
Recording Producer: Klaus Scheibe
First released in 1966

Ripping Info:

All vinyl is cleaned on a VPI 16.5

Technics SL1200-MK5 (modified)
– Rega RB300 arm with RB700 wiring
– Michell Tecnoweight
– SoundSupports armboard
– Trans-Fi Audio Reso-Mat
Shure V15VxMR (with Jico stylus)
SimAudio Moon 110LP preamp
Native Instruments Audio4DJ USB interface

Processing: Sound Forge 10, ClickRepair (manual mode only)


All of the files are here



Password is SteveMTNO.

Do you like my rips?

If you enjoy my rips, please consider making a donation. All donations will go toward new music and/or equipment. Requests are always accepted. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “Harnoncourt: Concentus Musicus, Wien – Muffat / Biber: Suites & Sonatas (180g pressing, from the 5LP box set)

Leave a Reply