HD-Vinyl 192/24 (Philips) Brahms/Beethoven – Double Concerto – The Violin Romances (Szeryng/Starker/Haitink)

Again, many thanks to our Onkle for this beauty

# Composer: Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Henryk Szeryng, Janos Starker
# Orchestra: Concertogebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Conductor: Bernard Haitink

# Vinyl (1971)

# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac (tracks)
# Label: Philips
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
# ASIN: B000024TLZ
# Size: 1.76 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Another rare gem in Chamber Music and another evidence that Szeryng and Starker were among the greatest of their time.

Audiophile alert: very high !

Track Listing

  Brahms: Double Concerto for Violine and Violoncello in A-minor, op. 102
A1   Allegro    
A2   Andante    
B1   Vivace Non Troppo – Poco Meno Allegro    
    Beethoven: Two Violin Romances    
B2 Violin Romance No. 1 in G, op. 40
B3   Violin Romance No. 2 in F, op. 50    


 Analyzed folder: /192kJoBrLvB_DoCon_Sze_Sta/192kJoBr – Double Concerto – LvB – Violin Romances – Szeryng-Starker
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR13        -0.83 dB     -18.82 dB     A1 LvB – Double Concerto for Violine and Violoncello in A-minor, op. 102 – 1, Allegro.wav
 DR12        -8.26 dB     -25.40 dB     A2 LvB – Double Concerto for Violine and Violoncello in A-minor, op. 102 – 2, Andante.wav
 DR13        -0.47 dB     -18.14 dB     B1 LvB – Double Concerto for Violine and Violoncello in A-minor, op. 102 – 3, Vivace Non Troppo – Poco Meno Allegro.wav
 DR15        -0.89 dB     -22.14 dB     B2 Violin Romance No. 1 in G, op. 40.wav
 DR13        -3.45 dB     -20.94 dB     B3 Violin Romance No. 2 in F, op. 50.wav
 Number of files:    5
 Official DR value:    DR13

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

5 archives
PW: LaWally

Leave a comment ?


  1. Of course, many great interpreters have played this extraordinary music : Fournier/Francescatti ; Fournier/Oistrakh (my favorite. If Someone has 600 € for the original vinyl, he’s more than welcome 😉 ) ; Ferras/Tortelier ; Starker/Schneiderhan ; Stern/Rose ; Suk/Navarra ; Heifetz/Piatigorsky, etc. But this one is quite special. Superlative orchestra and instrumental mastery and a lot of poetry too (listen the series of “questions and answers” between the violin and the cello in the middle of the 2nd mvt. A true Jewel.
    Thanks Alf.

  2. Oh, I forgot : the sound quality of this recording is among the very best you can find, even in CD.

  3. …didn’t even know about this one! Thanks Onkle

  4. Probably the most beautiful Andante I ever heard.
    Thank you very much for sharing this beauty with us.

  5. Unlike the Oistrakh/Fournier version, the CD of this one was quite good. But like the Oistrakh/Fournier version, the vinyl is a hundred time better. Wow !

  6. A word about the two Romances : is there any other need to prove how a great violinist Szeryng was ?

  7. RACH:

    More amazing Szeryng @ 24/192 please. Astounding.

  8. Looking forward to listen to this gem! Thanks To you Rach & to Onkle!

  9. Thank You very much. Amazing.

  10. Thanks To you Rach & to Onkle!

  11. Lovely performances…..many thanks

  12. Just listened to this and I was blown away. Slower than the versions I have heard before, but oh so beautiful! Such a lovely gift, thank you.

  13. Very nice, thank you.

  14. Great, thanks!

Leave a Comment