HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Archiv) Johann Sebastian Bach – Organ Works: Toccatas & Fugues (Koopman)

(An angry review from amazon – not my words (at least, not all this guy says is wrong)
After years of listening to almost plodding unimaginative endlessly legato French and American styles of ruining Bach’s organ music – music barely able to breathe, it’s refreshing to hear someone who can use staccato, marcato and ornamentation and play with panache and passion, and give this grand music the grand sound and life it deserves. So what about odd trills and a dropped pedal…..

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Performer: Ton Koopman

Vinyl 1984
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Archiv
DR-Analysis: DR 13
Size: 1.81 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

….. So what about odd trills and a dropped pedal. Go back to Karl Richter, Marie Claire Alain or E. Power Biggs if you want to hear some flubs, and even Peter Hurford on occasion – a far more imaginative player than most but still far short of Koopman – misses a few. Buy this disk, and give any other performance of these pieces a comparison with any other celebrated organist and you’ll hear what I mean. Compare only Koopman’s elegantly ornamented interpretation of the Adagio from the Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue, and you’ll immediately hear it. 

Highly recommended to all lovers of organ music and JSB.

My son, years ago, he was 10 or 11, said during an organ concerto in the cathedral of our town, (works by Vierne, Widor, Bach, Mozart and some other well known composers): “beautiful, thrilling, exciting… but, daddy, when Bach enters the music stage, oh my oh my oh my, even not Mozart can hope to win the comparisons. Is an unequal fight… Bach is simply fantastic and he’s the true King of the organ”. (Rach)

And now, after DL, rise the volume knob up…a little more than you usually do and let the magnificence of JSB come over you
(I hope, you have a very good equipment)


Ton Koopman plays the organ (Garrels 1732) at the Grote Kerk in Maassluis, Netherland.
Click here for more!



A1 Toccata Und Fuge D-Moll BWV 565 8:00
A2 Toccata, Adagio Und Fuge C-Dur BWV 564 13:38
B1 Toccata Und Fuge F-Dur BWV 540 12:40
B2 Toccata Und Fuge »Dorisch« BWV 538 11:47


Analyzed Folder: /192k JSB – Toccatas – Ton Koopman_dr.txt
DR Peak RMS Filename
DR12 -0.45 dB -18.18 dB A1 Toccata Und Fuge D-Moll BWV 565.flac
DR14 -1.17 dB -20.03 dB A2 Toccata, Adagio Und Fuge C-Dur BWV 564.flac
DR12 -0.27 dB -16.88 dB B1 Toccata Und Fuge F-Dur BWV 540.flac
DR13 -0.29 dB -16.56 dB B2 Toccata Und Fuge ‘Dorisch’ BWV 538.flac
Number of Files: 4
Official DR Value: DR13



  • Art Direction – Hartmut Pfeiffer
  • Composed By – Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Design – Elke Neuß-Burghoff
  • Liner Notes [Text Editor] – Roswita Cervone
  • Organ – Ton Koopman
  • Photography By [Cover] – Wolter, Strindberg
  • Producer – Dr. Andreas Holschneider
  • Recording Supervisor, Recorded By – Heinz Wildhagen
Recorded in Maassluis, Grote Kerk, 1983.
Organ built 1730-1732 by Rudolf Garrels.


Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


9 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Archiv) Johann Sebastian Bach – Organ Works: Toccatas & Fugues (Koopman)

Leave a Reply