HD-Vinyl 24/192 (CBS) Gustav Mahler – Songs Of A Wayfarer, Rückertlieder, Two Songs From Des Knaben Wunderhorn (von Stade)

Many thanks to Eddie for this classic!

Frederica Von Stade’s performance of the ‘Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen’ with the fine collaboration of Andrew Davis and the London Philharmonic Orchestra is a true gem. It is a matter of taste as to whether the mezzo or the baritone version is preferred, but with this illuminating interpretation by Von Stade the scales tip toward the mezzo soprano sound. Hers is a rich, glowing tone with impeccable enunciation of text. Both of these performances rank among the finest available on recordings. Highly Recommended.

Composer: Gustav Mahler
Performer: Frederica von Stade
Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor: Andrew Davis
Vinyl 1979
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: CBS
DR-Analysis: DR 11
Size: 1.59 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF


  Songs Of A Wayfarer  
A1 Wenn Mein Schatz Hochzeit Macht 3:42
A2 Ging Hut’ Morgens Übers Feld 4:18
A3 Ich Hab’ Ein Glühend Messer 3:20
A4 Die Zwei Blauen Augen 5:27
  Des Knaben Wunderhorn (Two Songs)  
A5 Rheinlegendchen 2:58
A6 Wer Hat Dies Liedlein Erdacht? 2:02
  Songs of Friedrich Johann Michael Rückert
B1 Ich Atmet’ Einen Linden Duft 2:15
B2 Liebst Du Um Schönheit 2:26
B3 Um Mitternacht 6:05
B4 Blicke Mir Nicht In Die Lieder! 1:35
B5 Ich Bin Der Welt Abhanden Gekommen 6:12


Analyzed folder: /192k Mahler – Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen – von Stade
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR11 -3.02 dB -18.98 dB A1 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen – Wenn Mein Schatz Hochzeit Macht.aif
DR11 -2.26 dB -17.32 dB A2 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen – Ging Hut’ Morgens Uebers Feld.aif
DR12 -3.59 dB -20.43 dB A3 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen – Die Zwei Blauen Augen.aif
DR10 -1.68 dB -16.74 dB A3 Lieder Eines Fahrenden Gesellen – Ich Hab’ Ein Gluehend Messer.aif
DR11 -2.74 dB -17.66 dB A5 Des Knaben Wunderhorn – Rheinlegendchen.aif
DR12 -0.96 dB -17.16 dB A6 Des Knaben Wunderhorn – Wer Hat Dies Liedlein Erdacht.aif
DR10 -2.87 dB -18.78 dB B1 Rueckert-Lieder – Ich Atmet’ Einen Linden Duft.aif
DR11 -2.09 dB -16.92 dB B2 Rueckert-Lieder – Liebst Du Um Schoenheit.aif
DR12 -0.34 dB -19.26 dB B3 Rueckert-Lieder – Um Mitternacht.aif
DR12 -3.37 dB -19.43 dB B4 Rueckert-Lieder – Blicke Mir Nicht In Die Lieder.aif
DR12 -1.65 dB -19.73 dB B5 Rueckert-Lieder – Ich Bin Der Welt Abhanden Gekommen.aif

Number of files: 11
Official DR value: DR11




  • Composed By – Gustav Mahler
  • Conductor – Andrew Davis
  • Design [Cover Design] – Allen Weinberg
  • Engineer – Mike Ross-Trevor, Robert Gooch
  • Liner Notes – Lionel Salter
  • Mezzo-soprano Vocals – Frederica von Stade
  • Orchestra – London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Photography By [Cover Photo] – Valerie Clement
  • Producer – Paul Myers

Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


12 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/192 (CBS) Gustav Mahler – Songs Of A Wayfarer, Rückertlieder, Two Songs From Des Knaben Wunderhorn (von Stade)”

  1. Hi Rach – looking forward to this one.
    I’ve regretted not downloading your notes for the many excellent recordings. I find your recommendations and comments to be far superior to commercially available market driven write-ups – do you have them in a database form or similar so we can grab your insights?

    1. All reviews/recommendations etc… are not all my words. When I search and find some interesting reviews, that could be my words for 70-80% then I use them.
      I only add some few own considerations.

Leave a Reply