HD-Vinyl 24/192 (DGG) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – “Haffner” Serenade (Kubelik)

Many thanks to Jean-Luc for this great 1st pressing
The serenade for orchestra in D major, K. 250 (248b), popularly known as the Haffner Serenade, is a serenade by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart named for the Haffner family. Mozart’s friend and contemporary Sigmund Haffner the Younger commissioned the serenade to be used in the course of the festivities before the wedding of his sister Marie Elisabeth Haffner and her intended, Franz Xaver Spaeth. The Serenade was first played on 21 July 1776, on the eve of the wedding. It is in eight movements.
The second, third and fourth movements feature prominent violin solos. Indeed, the rondeau (the fourth movement) has been arranged for solo violin and used as a popular virtuoso piece. It is assumed that the Marcia K. 249 was intended as entrance and exit music together with this Serenade.

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Orchestra: Sinfonie-Orchester Des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Conductor: Rafael Kubelik
Vinyl 1963
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
Label: DGG
DR-Analysis: DR 13

Size: 1,99 GB

Scan: yes
Server: FF


  Serenade Nr.7 D-Dur K V 250 >>Haffner<<  
A1 Allegro Maestoso – Allegro Molto  
A2 Andante  
A3 Menuetto  
A4 Rondo – Allegro  
B1 Menuetto Galante  
B2 Andante  
B3 Menuetto  
B4 Adagio – Allegro Assai  



Analyzed Folder: /192k WAM – Haffner-Serenade – Kubelik_dr.txt

DR Peak RMS Filename
DR13 -0.50 dB -16.98 dB A1 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Allegro Maestoso – Allegro Molto.flac

DR12 -4.06 dB -21.87 dB A2 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Andante.flac

DR13 -3.29 dB -20.40 dB A3 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Menuetto.flac

DR15 -1.73 dB -21.97 dB A4 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Rondo- Allegro.flac

DR14 -1.08 dB -20.76 dB B1 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Menuetto galante.flac

DR14 -3.59 dB -22.28 dB B2 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Andante.flac

DR13 -1.95 dB -19.25 dB B3 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Menuetto.flac

DR13 -0.56 dB -18.42 dB B4 Serenade No.7 D-Major K V 250 ‘Haffner’ – Adagio – Allegro assai.flac
Number of Files: 8
Official DR Value: DR13



  • Cadenza – Rudolf Koeckert (tracks: A2, A4)
  • Composed By – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Conductor – Rafael Kubelik
  • Engineer – Klaus Scheibe
  • Orchestra – Sinfonie-Orchester Des Bayerischen Rundfunks
  • Soloist, Violin – Rudolf Koeckert


Ripping Info

  1. RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  2. TT: Vintage (1982) Yamaha PX-3
  3. Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  4. Cartridge: ZYX 50R Bloom
  5. Phono amp: Audio Research SP15 own tube phono section.
  6. ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC


  1. Pre Amp: Audio Research SP15
  2. Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  3. Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  4. Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz

A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


3 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/192 (DGG) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – “Haffner” Serenade (Kubelik)

  1. “I do not make rips for headphones!”

    Ha Ha,
    Many, many years ago a radio station here had the slogan:
    “Because Your Ears Have Brains!”

Leave a Reply