HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Archiv) Johann Sebastian Bach – Cantatas BWV 56 & 82 (Richter)

All thanks for this masterwork go to Jean-Luc

Richter was considered to be somewhat of an old-school romantic by the auntentic instrumentation crowd back in the 70s and 80s. I thought similarly at the time, and even felt a little guilty for liking these recordings as much as I did. Now older (and presumably a little wiser), I’ve decided that Richter was, in many respects, ahead of his time.
Some of his performances have never been bettered. The greatest cantata and the greatest performance is BWV 56 with Fischer-Dieskau. Earlier Fi-Di’s recordings of BWV 56 are excellent too, but this 1969 version with Richter excels by the gloomy and solemn final chorale.

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: Münchener Bach-Chor,
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
Orchestra: Münchener Bach-Orchester
Conductor: Karl Richter
Vinyl 1968-69
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Archiv
DR 14
Size: 917 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF


  Ich Will Den Kreuzstab Gerne Tragen, BWV 56 21:38
A1 Aria ‘Ich Will Den Kreuzstab Gerne Tragen’ 8:34
A2 Recitativo ‘Mein Wandel Auf Der Welt’ 2:09
A3 Aria ‘Endlich Wird Mein Joch Wieder Von Mir Weichen Muessen’ 6:40
A4 Recitativo Und Arioso ‘Ich Stehe Fertig Und Bereit’ 1:58
A5 Choral ‘Komm, O Tod Du Schlafes Bruder’ 2:07
  Ich Habe Genug, BWV 82 24:25
B1 Aria ‘Ich Habe Genug’ 8:07
B2 Recitativo ‘Ich Habe Genug’ 1:42
B3 Aria ‘Schlummert Ein, Ihr Matten Augen’ 9:41
B4 Recitativo ‘Mein Gott’ 1:10
B5 Aria ‘Ich Freue Mich Auf Meinen Tod’ 3:45

Analyzed folder: /96k JSB – Cantatas BWV 56, BWV 82 – Richter
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -1.89 dB     -20.92 dB     A1 Aria ‘Ich Will Den Kreuzstab Gerne Tragen’.aif
DR13        -3.59 dB     -22.68 dB     A2 Recitativo ‘Mein Wandel Auf Der Welt’.aif
DR18        -0.73 dB     -21.96 dB     A3 Aria ‘Endlich Wird Mein Joch Wieder Von Mir Weichen Muessen’.aif
DR15        -3.53 dB     -25.16 dB     A4 Recitativo Und Arioso ‘Ich Stehe Fertig Und Bereit’.aif
DR12        -4.24 dB     -22.27 dB     A5 Choral ‘Komm, O Tod Du Schlafes Bruder’.aif
DR14        -5.22 dB     -23.30 dB     B1 Aria ‘Ich Habe Genug’.aif
DR14        -2.51 dB     -23.50 dB     B2 Recitativo ‘Ich Habe Genug’.aif
DR14        -2.11 dB     -20.27 dB     B3 Aria ‘Schlummert Ein, Ihr Matten Augen’.aif
DR13        -7.85 dB     -27.34 dB     B4 Recitativo ‘Mein Gott’.aif
DR14        -0.58 dB     -18.13 dB     B5 Aria ‘Ich Freue Mich Auf Meinen Tod’.aif
Number of files:    10
Official DR value:    DR14



  • Baritone Vocals [Bariton] – Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
  • Bassoon [Fagott] – Detlef Kühl (tracks: B1 to B5), Karl Kolbinger (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Cello [Violoncello] – Fritz Kiskalt (tracks: B1 to B5), Walter Nothas (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Choir – Münchener Bach-Chor (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Composed By – Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Conductor [Dirigent] – Karl Richter
  • Contrabass [Kontrabaß] – Franz Ortner (tracks: A1 to A5), Herbert Duft (tracks: B1 to B5)
  • Liner Notes – Werner Neumann
  • Lyrics By [Text Des Schlußchorals] – Johann Franck
  • Oboe – Manfred Clement (tracks: B1 to B5)
  • Oboe [Solo-Oboe] – Manfred Clement (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Orchestra – Münchener Bach-Orchester
  • Organ [Orgel] – Elmar Schloter (tracks: A1 to A5), Hedwig Bilgram (tracks: B1 to B5)
  • Producer [Herausgeber/Publisher] – Wilhelm Rust
  • Producer [Produktionsleitung] – Hansjoachim Reiser (tracks: A1 to A5), Rainer Brock (tracks: B1 to B5)
  • Recording Supervisor [Aufnahmeleitung/Technical Supervisor] – Harald Baudis
Aufnahme (Recording): München, Herkulessaal, July 1st to 3rd, 1969 (BWV 56) and July 31st, 1968 (BWV 82).

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

14 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Archiv) Johann Sebastian Bach – Cantatas BWV 56 & 82 (Richter)

  1. Hi Alf,
    I have the complete Bach Cantatas with Harnoncourt on 15 CDs.
    They are quite good, but nothing like Richter & Rach Hi Def.
    This one is beautiful on all counts: orchestra, soloists and chor.
    I was surprised that band 1 was Wachet auf, and later on appears Ein festeburg.

    Some one asked me what were some others of my favorites a day or so ago.
    To be candid: in the early 1950’s in College I took a course in Music Theory for two years. The Second year was dedicated to a study of Bach chorales which I thoroughly enjoyed. The problem is: that was right at 60 years ago, and my memory is a bit rusty.
    But I’m a happy lark anyway.

  2. I was for too long put off listening to Richter’s JSB by all the negative criticism mentioned. Richter’s love of the composer shows through constantly and is a delight to listen in such fine sound.

    Muchias gracias!!

Leave a Reply