HD-Vinyl 24/96 (CBS) Franz Schubert – Trout-Quintet (Serkin, Laredo a.o.)

This gem of a recording by Serkin and friends captures the essence of Schubert’s composition. The balance achieved by Serkin’s piano efforts and the rest of the quintet is masterful, with beautiful violin contributions by Laredo. The tempo is superb, and the finale is high spirited!

Composer: Franz Schubert
Performer: Julius Levine, Leslie Parnas, Rudolf Serkin, Philipp Naegele, Jaime Laredo
Vinyl (1968)
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: CBS
DR 14
Size: 798 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

Rudolf Serkin’s 1967 recording of Schubert’s “Trout” quintet from Marlboro has enjoyed since it appeared the status of an all-time classic – and it is easy to understand why: it is a muscular and lively approach, rather broad in the opening allegro vivace, rather brisk in the ensuing “Andante”, but always alive to the numerous accents written by Schubert and all the minute details of phrasing and articulation of the score. Serkin’s dry tone, clarity of articulation, sparse pedalling and willingness to strike chords as whiplashes rather than as thunderclaps are true to score and particularly effective, and his partners are on the same wavelength. Jaime Laredo, Philip Naegele and Leslie Parnas’ gorgeous violin, viola and cello tone produces a profound lyricism in the first movement’s violin and cello exchange at 1:50 as well as in the viola and cello cantilena at 1:24 in the second movement. The scherzo (3rd movement) has plenty of bounce and the musicians maintain a commendable unity of tempo in the trio section, imparting it a merry atmosphere. The Finale is the crowning achievement of this recording, with its irresistible, forward-going boisterousness.


  Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (“Trout”)  
A1 I — Allegro Vivace 13:33
A2 II — Andante 7:07
B1 III — Scherzo 4:02
B2 IV — Theme And Variations 8:20
B3 V — Finale 6:23


Analyzed folder: /96k Schubert – Troute-Quintet – Serkin
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.78 dB     -19.11 dB     A1 Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (‘Trout’) 1, Allegro Vivace.aif
DR14        -3.97 dB     -21.61 dB     A2 Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (‘Trout’) 2, Andante.aif
DR14        -1.28 dB     -19.85 dB     B1 Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (‘Trout’) 3, Scherzo.aif
DR14        -2.22 dB     -21.09 dB     B2 Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (‘Trout’) 4, Theme And Variations.aif
DR13        -1.18 dB     -19.52 dB     B3 Quintet In A Major For Piano And Strings, Op. 114 (‘Trout’) 5, Finale.aif
Number of files:    5
Official DR value:    DR14



  • Bass – Julius Levine
  • Cello – Leslie Parnas
  • Composed By – Schubert*
  • Engineer – Edward T. Graham, John Guerriere
  • Music Director [Artistic Director] – Rudolf Serkin
  • Photography By [Cover Photo] – Ivan Masser*
  • Piano – Rudolf Serkin
  • Producer – Thomas Frost
  • Viola – Philipp Naegele
  • Violin – Jaime Laredo
Live recording of concert given at Marlboro Music Festival on July 30, 1967.

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

10 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (CBS) Franz Schubert – Trout-Quintet (Serkin, Laredo a.o.)

Leave a Reply