HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Aram Khachaturian – Spartacus/Gayaneh Suites

This is one of those vinyls – especially one of those SXL-Deccas – that’s a “must be” in every vinyl collection; the legendary SXL 6000. The maestro conducts himself.
Complete new rip – with the new phono-amp and the new cart

# Composer: Aram Khachaturian
# Orchestra: Vienna Philarmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Aram Khachaturian

# Vinyl (1962)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: Decca
# DR-Analysis: DR 11
# ASIN CD: B00004C8TA

# Size: 930 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Khachaturian’s popular ballet scores benefit from his vigorous leadership and the surprisingly idiomatic playing of the Vienna Philharmonic. All the favorite crowd-pleasers are here, including the Sabre Dance. This pairing of ballet suites was a demonstration disc back in LP days and the engineering is still impressive.

The serene and exotic lyricism of this notable work has never been exhibited with so eloquence and majesty ever before. This adagio of Spartacus and Phygia’s passionate performance is imbued of profane exoticism, radiant sensuality and suggested eroticism. As you know the string and winds section of the Vienna were in that decade one of the most remarkable around the world. The variation of Aegina and Bacchanalia is loaded with admirable acrobatic fierceness. Scene and dance with crotaria is simply outstanding. Kachaturian as director maintained the rigorous balance, and the muscle never shatters the expression musical. The last section Dance of Gaditane and Spartacus’ victory is extremely interesting, the bass clarinet makes a rapture filigree work, anticipating the tragic ending. The whole orchestra will emerge creating a real homage to Dionysisus and surrounding the hall with that Balkan wildness.The Gayaneh suite begins with the super known Sabre Dance, an admirable exercise of portentous sound and exhibition of high caliber pyrotechnic. The tragic and premonitory omen waltz is almost a perpetuum mobile that strikes the main melody in Aysheh’s awakening and dance. In Lezghinka we have to admit the superior histamine doses given by Tekjnavorian . It’ s worthy but it is not even closer to incandescence and febrile spirit demanded: I found it weak, lack of the required emotion. In the case of Gayaneh’s adagio so well known for the great audiences since Kubrick ‘s 2001 Odyssey we have to recognize it’ s simply great, serene, persuasive, intimate with admirable fond. Hopak is excellent too, reflecting the joy of living so characteristic of this slave country.
Analyzed folder: /96kKha_SpaGa/96k Khatchaturian – Spartacus-Gayaneh
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR11        -1.67 dB     -18.14 dB     A1 Spartacus – Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia.wav
DR10        -1.63 dB     -14.17 dB     A2 Spartacus – Variation of Aegina – Bacchanalia.wav
DR11        -0.82 dB     -15.40 dB     A3 Spartacus – Scene And Dance with Crotalums.wav
DR10        -0.84 dB     -15.15 dB     A4 Spartacus – Scene of the Gaditanae Maidens – Victory of Spartacus.wav
DR10        -1.11 dB     -12.86 dB     B1 Gayaneh – Sabre Dance.wav
DR11        -2.41 dB     -18.01 dB     B2 Gayaneh – Ayesha’s Dance.wav
DR9        -1.11 dB     -12.25 dB     B3 Gayaneh – Lezghinka.wav
DR14        -6.04 dB     -25.06 dB     B4 Gayaneh – Gayaneh’s Adagio.wav
DR10        -1.45 dB     -14.57 dB     B5 Gayaneh – Gopak.wav
Number of files:    9
Official DR value:    DR11
Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • NEW! Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

3 archives
PW: LaWally


25 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Aram Khachaturian – Spartacus/Gayaneh Suites

  1. Thank you for this sultry and sensuous music, and especially of this collective cover of impeccable gaudiness!
    Concerning the Hotfile host you are using, and given the situation with Whatever, have you considered offering your posts in one more host (namely Filesonic or the newcomer Uploadstation)?
    Many of us with Hotfile premium accounts will (or have already) discontinue our membership there.

  2. Brings back memories of by-gone days when I first heard this.

    Rach you are redoing so many vinyls I used to have. Thanks, man.


    • Hi Bob…the reason, why i redo so many vinyls you used to have is simple: you had the good records because they were good and because you had/have a really good taste…like myself!
      That’s all… 😉

  3. thank you, thats really interesting! i never heard khachaturian conducting before and his spartacus is one of my favorites of “east” classical music,
    i love it,

    its not always easy to conduct your own pieces, as you can see at the old stravinsky, his early recordings are great but its getting weaker.
    so, composers are not always their best interpreters, but here i like it 🙂

    thank you very much

  4. and a short question: is “FileFactory” your favorite provider? actually I’m using filepost and uploaded, but if you say you will use only FileFactory in the future I would think to change my accounts 😉

    • Hi Kölner ;)…I use FileFactory, Whatever uses Filepost for his CDs – so if you want them both, vinyls and CDs, keep both providers. I, for my part, don’t have plans to change in next future, unless some “earthquakes” like early 2012 happen again…

  5. Many years ago, I had this record copied on a reel tape and listened to it with great pleasure. My tape recorder has gone long time ago and now this – what a delight! Khachaturian is a great composer and Spartacus is his great piece and I am very, very impatient to listen to it. Thank you so much Mr. Rachmaninov for all your fantastic posts and for this particularly!

Leave a Reply