Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Decca) Gustav Holst – The Planets (Sir Georg Solti)

Complete new rip (Nov. 2015) from the audiophile MFSL record and in 24/192
Thank you very much to our friend Mats for this precious gift
I have spent many years trying to find a version of “The Planets” by Holst that really sounds the way that I think it should. Solti has been my favorie conductor for many years and I knew that he would come thogugh. The first march brought out all the feeling of pride that it should and sipley served to show once again what a brilliant master Sir Georg Solti truly was.
A grate recording and a tribute to a truly grate man.

# Composer: Gustav Holst
# Orchestra: London Philarmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Sir Georg Solti
# Vinyl (1979)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# DR Analysis: DR 14
# Label: MFSL
# Size: 1.86 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF


Mars may be too fast for some tastes, but there’s no arguing that this performance of the Planets exhibits consistently stunning orchestral execution, gorgeously analogue sound (easily rivalling most DDD recordings) and wonderfully varied atmosphere throughout the travelogue. I don’t look to this piece too much for instrospection or profundity. Solti brings the perfect amount of warmth to Venus, agility to Mercury, and mystery to Neptune, but his shining moments are in Mars, Jupiter, Saturn and Uranus. I’ve never heard Saturn done with such inexorable momentum – a performance that imbues the inexorable coming of age and ticking of time better than any other. The climax here is harrowing. If you’re familiar with Solti’s recordings with the Chicago Symphony or colorful repertoire, you’ll know what to expect here. The London Philharmonic matches the agility and gutsiness of their American counterparts.



A1 I. Mars, The Bringer Of War 6:37
A2 II. Venus, The Bringer Of Peace 8:16
A3 III. Mercury, The Winged Messenger 3:47
A4 IV. Jupiter, The Bringer Of Jollity 7:12
B1 V. Saturn, The Bringer Of Old Age 9:47
B2 VI. Uranus, The Magician 5:32
B3 VII. Neptune, The Mystic 7:46


Analyzed folder: /192k(MFSL) Holst – Planets – Solti
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -1.07 dB     -18.30 dB     A1 I. Mars, The Bringer Of War.aif
DR16        -6.47 dB     -28.84 dB     A2 II. Venus, The Bringer Of Peace.aif
DR15        -1.06 dB     -23.36 dB     A3 III. Mercury, The Winged Messenger.aif
DR14        -0.58 dB     -18.86 dB     A4 IV. Jupiter, The Bringer Of Jollity.aif
DR16        -0.94 dB     -24.18 dB     B1 V. Saturn, The Bringer Of Old Age.aif
DR14        -0.53 dB     -20.15 dB     B2 VI. Uranus, The Magician.aif
DR11        -19.76 dB     -36.36 dB     B3 VII. Neptune, The Mystic.aif
Number of files:    7
Official DR value:    DR14


  • Composed By – Gustav Holst
  • Conductor – Sir Georg Solti
  • Engineer – Andrew Pinder, Kenneth Wilkinson
  • Orchestra – London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Producer – James Mallinson

On Track B3: Choir – Ladies Of The London Philharmonic Choir. Chorus Master – John Alldis
Recorded in The Kingsway Hall, London in February 1978


Ripping Info


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
I tend more and more, in the last time, to de-click with an automatic setting between 0.7 and 1.2 so you can say, my rips are like half rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Very light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
4 archives
PW: LaWally

36 thoughts on “Audiophile HD-Vinyl 24/192 (Decca) Gustav Holst – The Planets (Sir Georg Solti)

  1. Dear Rachma ,

    Neptune represents for me the ideal image of death, extending to infinity and peace …
    Thank you, once again, for the Solti recording.
    It means a lot to me

    • Hi mara…..not all maestros are able to catch the sensible poetry of the music of Holst – in my opinion a great but underrated composer – and can wear it in elegant way like Solti did.

  2. Ha! Ha! Ha! (laughter)
    In USA we speak of “biting the hand that feeds you.”
    “Why Hotfile?”
    I’ve had 6 or 7 Premium downloaders. Hotfile is the most consistent, fastest, free or premium. I love it!
    Oh, by the way, this re-do is inexplicably expansive and gorgeous to a neophyte in sonics.
    Rach, you are a wonder and a friend to exquisite music!

    • Thank you BOB, you’re a fine guy…i wish the “other” Bob could think about the fact, that’s not fine to write “Why HF” instead of a thank you….
      sometime i feel like a servent apprentice…

  3. Dear Rach,

    Thank you for the heart to re-ripped, and re-load this gorgeous recording. The new rip is definitely better in any Hi-Fi terms. A big thank you for letting RME to run (I mean everythink!!).

    • Hi Tony, thank you…i’m busy with work and making ready for holiday (next week) so i hope to get some free minutes to write to you, concerning the settings for the RME

  4. first you must reduce hd files into wave and then into 16bit/44.1 kHz – there are several programs that can do this. choose a good program. I always suggest Audition CS5, Twisted Wave

  5. hello, is there a password needed to open the files? i’ve downloaded, but there is a code needed to decrypt it… would appreciate help on this alot, thank you!

  6. I’m using the correct password and getting an error that the password is incorrect. The files extract side A of the album and only Saturn from side B.

  7. I am re-downloading each file and will try again. That is the PW I have been trying…same UNRAR program I use on all of the incredible music I have downloaded from your site. THANKS for all of your effort!!

  8. thank you for the opportunity to listen to this recording in Lp Quality. Somehow, Solti’s Orchestra sounds less agressive than on Cd transfer. A good way to enjoy his energy in this work. There’s something more here than a mere spectacular show.
    Thanks again !

  9. Gracias Sr. Rachmaninov, todos, o casi todos los días visito este sitio y lo disfruto mucho.
    Thank you Mr. Rachmaninov, all, or nearly every day I visit this site and I really enjoy.

Leave a Reply