HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Georg F. Händel – Highlights from “Julius Caesar” (Sutherland/Horne/Bonynge)

Many thanks to our friend Lemarquis for a beautiful angel
Sutherland, Bonynge and Co. (What a Co.!) recorded only the highlights for Julius Caesar. It was one of their earliest Decca collaborations.
Almost 6 years after Joan has passed away, it hurts more than ever to know, she will never sing again, but from her records.

Composer: Georg F. Händel
Performer: Joan Sutherland, Marilyn Horne, Margareta Elkins, Monica Sinclair, Richard Conrad
Orchestra: New Symphony Orchestra London
Conductor: Richard Bonynge
Vinyl (1964)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Decca
DR-Analysis: 13
Size: 1.0 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory

Recorded a year after the Alcina, these excerpts only hint at the beauties of this great score. Sutherland claims the lion’s share with six arias. The embellishments in “Da tempesta” are invigorating and the pathos of “Piangerò” is heart rending. Margreta Elkins as Cesare has two arias and she handles them with great aplomb. Monica Sinclair shows how much she relishes these great Handel arias. Marilyn Horne was at the start of a great career and displays great control in Cornelia’s great aria. The New Symphony of London led by Richard Bonynge is very supportive and special mention should be made of the horn playing.


A1 Da Tempesta Il Legno Infranto 5:30
A2 Aure, Deh, Per Pieta’ 3:39
A3 Tu La Mia Stella Sei 5:06
A4 Si, Spietata, Il Tuo Rigore 3:30
A5 V’Adoro, Pupille 4:39
B1 Piangero’ La Sorte Mia 6:15
B2 Va Tacito E Nascosto 2:29
B3 Venere Bella 2:29
B4 Sperai Ne’ M’ Ingannai 4:44
B5 Se Pieta’ Di Me Non Senti 4:48
B6 Priva Son D’Ogni Conforto 4:53


  • Composed By – Georg Friedrich Händel
  • Conductor – Richard Bonynge
  • Engineer [Uncredited] – James Brown
  • Harpsichord [Continuo] – Hubert Dawkes
  • Libretto By – Haym
  • Liner Notes [English Translations Of Libretto] – Peggie Cochrane
  • Mastered By – L
  • Orchestra – New Symphony Orchestra Of London
  • Producer [Uncredited] – Christopher Raeburn, Ray Minshull
  • Sleeve Notes – Winton Dean
  • Vocals [Cleopatra] – Joan Sutherland
  • Vocals [Cornelia] – Marilyn Horne
  • Vocals [Julius Caesar] – Margreta Elkins
  • Vocals [Ptolemy] – Monica Sinclair
  • Vocals [Sextus] – Richard Conrad

Analyzed folder: /96k Haendel – Highlights from ‘Julius Caesar’ – Sutherland, Horne, Bonynge
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -1.62 dB     -18.69 dB     A1 Da Tempesta Il Legno Infranto.aif
DR12        -3.47 dB     -22.36 dB     A2 Aure, Deh, Per Pieta’.aif
DR13        -2.88 dB     -19.72 dB     A3 Tu La Mia Stella Sei.aif
DR15        -0.72 dB     -19.83 dB     A4 Si, Spietata, Il Tuo Rigore.aif
DR13        -2.65 dB     -20.61 dB     A5 V’Adoro, Pupille.aif
DR14        -0.51 dB     -19.48 dB     B1 Piangero’ La Sorte Mia.aif
DR11        -3.52 dB     -19.53 dB     B2 Va Tacito E Nascosto.aif
DR12        -4.15 dB     -19.97 dB     B3 Venere Bella.aif
DR13        -2.49 dB     -19.22 dB     B4 Sperai Ne’ M’ Ingannai.aif
DR12        -3.22 dB     -19.42 dB     B5 Se Pieta’ Di Me Non Senti.aif
DR12        -4.90 dB     -19.20 dB     B6 Priva Son D’Ogni Conforto.aif
Number of files:    11
Official DR value:    DR13



Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory
PW: LaWally

8 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Decca) Georg F. Händel – Highlights from “Julius Caesar” (Sutherland/Horne/Bonynge)

  1. This is a great showcase for La Stupenda and the Decca recordings are superb as usual. I’m glad I found a 2nd copy of this to keep for myself 😀
    Thanks Alf! 🙂

Leave a Reply