HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Schneiderhan)

Dedicated to Monsieurs F. Senior & Junior (from P.)
My friends, you’ll never believe it – found this record (without cover) some years ago in our waste bin, with other 4-5 records…when I saw the label (DG, Tulip edition – YEAH), the composer (LvB – WOW), the artist (Schneiderhan – WOWOW) I knew: people, I found a gem of inestimable value. Pardon me, if there are some light noises, here & there… the record was (you guess it) in terrible condition, but I did my very best.
Sorry for the poor artworks, found them on internet.
Reposted, now with FF links.

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Wolfgang Schneiderhan
# Orchestra: Berlin Philarmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Eugen Jochum

# Vinyl (1962)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft

# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# Size: 944 MB
# Scan: yes, Low Quality

# Server: FileFactory

This disc is one of the highlights of DG’s Originals series, and indeed of the entire classical catalog. This is one of the finest recording ever of Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. Jochum’s elegant, beautifully phrased introduction sets a high standard, but there is no deviation from it throughout the performance. Schneiderhan’s tone is gorgeous throughout his register, but particularly in the highest reaches, where he produces a wonderfully pure, silvery tone. One of his greatest strengths is his legato in the highest reaches of his range, which is especially important in this concerto. Beethoven wrote it with a violinist in mind, Franz Clement, who had many of the same strengths as Schneiderhan. Schneiderhan’s phrasing and singing line in the first movement is glorious, and the expressive, elegant atmosphere he and Jochum create is amazing. Schneiderhan uses his own adaptation of the cadenzas from Beethoven’s arrangement of this concerto for piano. This is a controversial choice, but I think it works fine. The slow movement’s stillness and lyricism have never been so clearly and compellingly conveyed as they are under Jochum and Schneiderhan. The phrasing of the themes is, again, particularly wonderful: passionate, expressive and simply gorgeous. The finale’s playfulness, good humor and rhythmic drive set it apart from all other performances. Just to pick one highlight of it: Schneiderhan phrases and plays the gorgeous subsidiary theme at 4:18 with extraordinary beauty and passion. An indispensable performance.

Analyzed folder: /96kLvB_ViCo_Schn/96k LvB – Violin Concerto – Schneiderhan
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -0.62 dB     -21.43 dB     A LvB – Violin Concerto In D, Op.61 – 1. Allegro ma non troppo.wav
DR16        -1.89 dB     -24.67 dB     B1 LvB – Violin Concerto In D, Op.61 – 1. Larghetto.wav
DR13        -0.50 dB     -19.55 dB     B2 LvB – Violin Concerto In D, Op.61 – 1. Rondo. Allegro.wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR15

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Limited Edition Denon DL 103 SA
  • Phono Amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download fro
m FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

27 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Schneiderhan)

  1. Dear Mr. Rachmaninov, we both share a deepest love for vintage vynil records. Your equipment is great and your effort in digitalising these magnificent recordings with this 96-24 technology is simply amazing. Thanks a lot in the name of music 🙂

    • Indeed, my friend, if you ever listened to the recordings of the “golden age” (mostly by the 4 musketeers Decca, EMI, RCA, Mercury) – for the non-knowing people: mid-end 50ies/end 60ies – there can nevernevernever be another medium but vinyl, that rules your daily musical life.
      Thank you for your nice words….

  2. HOLY CRAP! I just listened to this, and I am totally amazed.

    I’ve been listening to the CD version of this recording for a while, and it’s one of my favorite pieces/recordings in classical music.

    I was skeptical about liking your vinyl rip better. At best, I figured the improvements would only be noticeable to an audiophile with golden ears. At worst, I expected a subjective difference of taste that I wouldn’t like (a warmer, “softer” sound).

    Instead, what I heard was worlds apart from the CD version. The instruments sound so much sharper and better separated, and the CD version sounds muffled in comparison. I’m wearing IEM’s, and they often have a tendency to make the soundstage small, as if the music is coming from inside of my head. With your vinyl rip, I almost feel as though I’m listening to the performance live. Listening to the two side-by-side is an unbelievable eye-opener.

    Wow, wow, wow. Awesome job, Rachmaninov!

  3. Many thanks for re-uploading this for me. I have never heard this LP before but once held it in my hands and was considering a purchase but the cover put me off and I bought something else. Those were the days when I was young & foolish. Thanks for ripping & sharing Rachmaninov.

  4. I just finished listening this beautiful record.
    For soem reason Beethovens viloin concerto has never been a favourite for me, and this record is not going to change that.
    But it IS a great performance, and very enjoyable.

    I would say: keep checking the trash.

  5. Sto ascoltando questa esecuzione, decisamente master class. Schneiderhan fu un grande violinista in questo lavoro, che è uno dei miei preferiti, e forse un grande violinista tout court . Ho anch’io il cd, dal suono non comparabile con il vinile e pazienza se ci sono un po’ di clic e pop… meglio così che ascoltare qualcosa di diverso dalla registrazione originale. Sempre un grazie di cuore!

  6. Thank you for this music. This is a great performance, although I have a preference for Schneiderhan’s 1953 recording with the BPO under van Kempen – possibly because he uses Beethoven’s cadenzas – but my vinyl recording of that was lost many years ago.

  7. Incredible – this sound laying dormant in a waste bin?
    You are a miracle worker where sound is concerned.

    I’m listening just this moment, and it is ultra high art on all parts.
    Thanks, and thanks and ever thanks!

Leave a Reply