HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’ (Michelangeli/Giulini)

This is one of the greatest recordings of the Emperor-Concerto
…and almost a sensation to find it on vinyl

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli
# Orchestra: Vienna Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Carlo Maria Giulini
# Vinyl (1982)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# Size: 843 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Here three Titians: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, Carlo Maria Giulini and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra unite in one of the greatest performances of Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto available. Michelangeli’s unparalleled precision aided by Giulini and the Vienna forces lush support particularly in the outer movements is particularly astounding. Deutsche Grammophon’s sound slightly favors the soloist though otherwise fully captures this extraordinary event famously.

Among the reduced list of the piano’s interpreters, the figure of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli remarks a special status. He added his performances a magic scent hovered by a pristine lyricism without affectation or sentimentality. Mostly of the great audiences have not considered this personal conviction was perceived by Giulini , who in many ways, possessed a close approach respect the music.

That’s why these performances shine with such peculiar intensity. Beethoven ‘s genius must be played under this lenses, due he spiritually was far beyond the fashion’s spirit. The genius is unlabeled, and the true Beethovenian dissonances are rough and bitter and even spiced with a touch of wilderness and epic feature.

This version of Beethoven’s No. 5 piano concerto could well be the most elegant and majestic sounding version ever recorded.
We have had (and are still having) many wonderful new versions down the road, but Giulini and Michelangeli here gave a version that is primarily ‘regal’.
The Vienna Phiharmonic Orchestra under Giulini played so beautifully and elegantly, as if in anticipation of Napoleon’s coronation. And it is not a cool and arrogant elegance. Rather, it is well nuanced, perfectly balanced in metric and dynamics, so well-proportioned and majestic that it’s at once awe-inspiring and fabulous.
Michelangeli’s tempi are wonderfully controlled and mapped out. No hurrying or banging, yet fiery enough and sonorous enough to convey the sheer grandness in the passages. Even the last arpeggiatted chord is rythmically delivered. The players all know exactly where they are heading, and off they head in wonderfully coherent accord, just like an invincible emperor holding the reigns of a mightly army.
This is a truly marvellous version that should not be missed.

Enjoy Michelangeli on Youtube !
Beethoven’s 5th Piano Concerto


  Konzert Für Klavier Und Orchester No. 5 Es-Dur, Op. 73
A1   Allegro 20:25  
B1   Adagio Un Poco Mosso – Attacca 8:38  
B2   Rondo. Allegro 10:52  

 Analyzed folder: /96kLvB_PC5_MicGiu/96k LvB – Piano Concerto No. 5 – Michelangeli-Giulini
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR14        -0.37 dB     -19.26 dB     A LvB – Piano Concerto No. 5 Op. 73 ‘Emperor’  1, Allegro.wav
 DR16        -8.11 dB     -28.55 dB     B1 LvB – Piano Concerto No. 5 Op. 73 ‘Emperor’  2, Adagio un poco mosso.wav
 DR14        -0.51 dB     -18.89 dB     B2 LvB – Piano Concerto No. 5 Op. 73 ‘Emperor’  3, Rondo-Allegro.wav
 Number of files:    3
 Official DR value:    DR15


  • Composed By – Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Carlo Maria Giulini
  • Orchestra – Wiener Symphoniker
  • Piano – Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli

Recorded live February 1979

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

32 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’ (Michelangeli/Giulini)”

  1. Majestic and charming. Thank you very much for sharing this record with us. Useless to talk about the sound. The BB is flying with high accuracy, majestic and charm like ABM.
    Please, do not forget: another PC5 version with ABM and Celibidache is on the way. Even I’m not a fan of art ranking, I’m really curios to see how they compares.
    Note: Even I generally agree with the review you posted, talking about tempi, I just feel the need for more speed. Probably is my mood today?

  2. Wonderful recording and great sound, Alf. However, I’m sorry to be “celui par qui le scandale arrive” but is there anything to do about this nasty noise appearing cyclically in the 2nd mvt, approximatively between 3:00 and 3:25 or is it an unfixable damage of the vinyl itself ?
    Many thanks.

    1. unfortunately it is on the vinyl…you can see like a thiny ring of 2 mm…I thought it was dirty, but after washing twice it is still there…sorry. Looking for a better copy

            1. I thought about repairing the 2nd mov. with the one re-press from the boxset, but I just found another copy for only 9 EUR, so I replace the whole 2nd mov. next week.

Leave a Reply