HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Zuckerman)

Many thanks to my friend Dr. G. for letting me this wonderful performance

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Performer:
Pinchas Zuckerman
# Orchestra: Chicago Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Daniel Barenboim
# Vinyl (1977)
# Format: Flac (tracks)
# Label: Deutshe Grammophon
# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# ASIN: B000001GFP
# Size: 804 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF

Zukerman’s playing here is absolutely beautiful. Every note he plays seems perfectly, beautifully articulated. The tempos here are taken somewhat slower than customary, but I feel that this is the only way it could have been done: any faster, and Zukerman’s supremely elegant, deeply expressive playing would have seemed rushed. It seems to me that most people think that the concerto is a virtuoso piece, which is the way it is normally performed, but here is revealed something profoundly deeper than the somewhat trivial flashiness that most are used to.

Ludwig van Beethoven wrote only one violin concerto, and yet, the one he wrote definined the history of this intrument for all time. There is no other concerto that I am aware of that achieves the same level of vibration or transmission between composer, performer and listener. Mozart, Mendelssohn, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Bruch, Sibelius; all wonderful concertos in their own rights, but nothing like it compared to the Beethoven one. Here, the violin is not just making music or follwing a melody; it speaks, it talks, it resonates: It lives! Only here the instrument has a true language, a communication, a feeling of its own, and sometimes I think, especially in the adagio, it tells us a story, a story like the blues sometimes does, yes, I would almost say ths concerto has the blues! With Zukermann, Barenboim and the CSO as formidable interpreters, this concerto paints a picture of romantic music like nothing else before or since.

Analyzed folder: /96k LvB – Violin Concerto – Zuckerman CSO Barenboim
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.56 dB     -21.26 dB     A LvB – Violin Concerto In D Opus 61 – 1 Allegro Ma Non Troppo.wav
DR16        -5.28 dB     -28.64 dB     B1 LvB – Violin Concerto In D Opus 61 – Larghetto.wav
DR14        -0.67 dB     -20.37 dB     B2 LvB – Violin Concerto In D Opus 61 – Rondo (Allegro).wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR15

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download fro
m FileFactory

3 archives
PW: LaWally

27 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Zuckerman)

  1. Please be assured that your shares and hard work are very much appreciated by many, including myself.
    Thank you for making so many people’s lives more beautiful through the wonder of music.


  2. I think that Zuckermann is a serious musician. This recording is good, but really I prefer others ( Menuhim/Furtwaengler, Faust/Abbado)

  3. Hi Rach. It would be sad if this blog disappears, and I really appreciate the work the both of you do. My reason for not downloading FF files is that I find the Filepost system much easier to handle and I like when one record (cd) is one file instead of splitting up in three or more parts. Plus that I am more in for the music than the technical aspect of it. Excuse my ignorance. It is not a money issue, more a matter of convenience. Filepost is easy and always working.

  4. Thank you very much for your hard work. Please do not leave this beautiful blog and this beautiful music. Yo gave us a great pleasure, even though many do not express thanks. I know is a lot of time consuming to record and upload music from vinyl. Many many thanks from Guatemala, Central America and for those who love music all over the world.

  5. True classics, there is hard to say anything. Just perfect. Hope CSO will overcome the crisis and will produce such jewels again. Thank You.

    This blog is something special for me, to visit it is kind of… hmmm… celebration. Makes my life better.

  6. Great presentation of old recordings!
    Not so old, judging by the quality.
    Zuckerman is real jewel.
    Although Campoli became my favourite since I’ve heard his works, mainly through vinyl rips.

  7. Thanks! We all have our favorites (mine is the second Menuhin/Furtwangler); really looking forward to hearing this, as it is new to me.

  8. This is a revelation. I never knew it existed. It made me fall in love with this work all over again. Marvelous share – many many thanks!

  9. wonderful performance, but there are many clicks in this vinyl, maybe the declick erased some information, and it sound a little discontinues, the same thing happened in the Kubelic’s Schubert ‘The Great’, if you have the original wav files, try to post a version without declicking, thank you again.

  10. Just listening to this great recording on my transporter from slim devices, who can handle the 24bit/96kHz signal natively. What stands out – apart from the rich overtones of the violin – is the correct “timing” of the music. Thanks again for uploading this!

  11. Who cares about the clicks and pops…This music is sooooooooo ALIVE!!!! ヽ(^Д^)ノ

    Thank you so much, for yet another gem!!!

    All the best!

    Mario \(^o^)/

  12. we just love your work and the exquisite quality that you deliver to us………..

    (I am sure that I am saying this on behalf of your lovers all over the world)

  13. Thank you for this one! My absolute favorite interpretation of the Violin Concerto in D major
    is the one by Wolfgang Schneiderhan
    with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Eugen Jochum on DG. Nice to listen to the extremely talented Zuckerman here (and as always, a breathtaking sound quality from Dr. Rach!)

Leave a Reply