HD-Vinyl 24/96 (EMI) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Perlman/Giulini)

Although it is a digital production from the early 80s, in 16bit/44.1kHz, it still sound by far much much better than from the CD…don’t ask me why – just trust to your ears. (I know, why 😉 )

# Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
# Orchestra: Philarmonia Orchestra
# Conductor: Carlo Maria Giulini
# Vinyl (1981)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: EMI
# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# Size: 870 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory


Itzhak Perlman’s artistry is unmatched and he’s one of the greatest artists of all time. I had a long long time a VHS cassette of this recording, somewhen I transferred it to a Video-CD and it must be there, somewhere in my living room. When I find it I will post it as a supplementary gift to you. You must see the mimics of Perlman when he’s playing: he’s with heart and soul into the music…you see him, but hesn’t there anymore – he is into Beethoven and the Concerto.

The legend tells, he and Giulini recorded this Concerto for vinyl and for Video without rehearsal or “Prova Generale” in just one attempt.


  Konzert Für Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61
A   Allegro Ma Non Troppo (Kadenz Kreisler) 24:19  
B1   Larghetto 9:25  
B2   Rondo (Allegro) (Kadenz Kreisler) 10:11  

Analyzed folder: /96kLvB_ViCo_PerGiu/96k LvB – Violin Concerto – Perlman, Giulini
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -0.34 dB     -21.80 dB     A LvB – Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 Allegro Ma Non Troppo (Kadenz Kreisler).wav
DR15        -3.34 dB     -25.31 dB     B1 LvB – Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 Larghetto.wav
DR14        -0.41 dB     -20.73 dB     B2 LvB – Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 Rondo (Allegro) (Kadenz Kreisler).wav
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR15



  • Composer – Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Carlo Maria Giulini
  • Cover – Christian Steiner
  • Engineer – Michael Gray
  • Executive Producer – Suvi Raj Grubb
  • Orchestra – Philharmonia Orchestra
  • Violin – Itzhak Perlman



Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

20 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (EMI) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto (Perlman/Giulini)

  1. I have this CD so look forward to comparing – I have no doubt which will be the best 🙂
    Many thanx for ripping & sharing Rach.

  2. Indeed, it sounds digitally good. But it plays into another league if compared with the same concerto recorded by Alfredo Campoli in the 60s …another beautiful rip signed by Rachmaninov.Thank you for this one too.

  3. Ever since the first time I saw this genius om TV I have been drawn to his work.

    This a great New Years gift. I will luxuriate in his sound and Rach’s oh-so clear technology.

    Again, Bravo maestro, and ever thanks!


Leave a Reply