HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Nonesuch) Igor Stravinsky – Music For Piano (Noel Lee)

Many thanks to Trottar for this rarity
Noël Lee (December 25, 1924 – July 15, 2013) was an American classical pianist and composer.
Born in 1924 in Nanjing, China, Lee studied music in Lafayette, Indiana, then attended Harvard University, studying with Walter Piston, Irving Fine, and Tillman Merritt and was also a student at the Longy School of Music in the early 1940s. Following World War II, he traveled to Paris where he studied music with Nadia Boulanger and was a friend of Douglas Allanbrook. He composed orchestral, chamber, piano, vocal, and film music. In addition, he completed several unfinished piano works by Franz Schubert, and composed cadenzas for piano concertos by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. He was also well known for his piano accompaniment.

Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Performer: Noel Lee
Vinyl (1968)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Nonesuch
DR-Analysis: DR 14
Size: 805 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory


Lee was a visiting professor at Brandeis University, Cornell University, and Dartmouth College. He received numerous awards throughout his career, an award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for his creative work in 1959, and from France, twice laureate of the Fondation de France, in 1998, the grade of Commandeur of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and, in 1999, from the city of Paris, the Grand Prix de la Musique.

Lee’s first recordings were for the Valois label of Michel Bernstein. He recorded, together with French pianist Christian Ivaldi, the complete works for four hands by Schubert for the label Arion. He was the pianist for the American violinist Paul Makanowitzki (1920-1998), the Dutch baritone Bernard Kruysen (1933-2000) and the French soprano Anne-Marie Rodde. As a pianist, he toured on six continents and recorded 198 LPs and CDs since 1955, particularly of Schubert (including the complete sonatas), Debussy, Ravel, Charles Ives, Bartók, Stravinsky, Aaron Copland and Elliott Carter. Thirteen of these have received a Grand Prix du Disque.



  Sonata (10:09)
A1 ♩= 112  
A2 Adagietto  
A3 ♩= 112  
  Four Etudes, Op. 7 (8:19)
A4 Con Moto  
A5 Allegro Brillante  
A6 Andantino  
A7 Vivo  
A8 Ragtime 4:41
  Serenade In A (11:36)
B1 Hymne  
B2 Romanza  
B3 Rondoletto  
B4 Cadenza Finale  
B5 Piano-Rag-Music 3:05
B6 Tango 3:09
B7 Circus Polka 3:37


Analyzed folder: /96k Stravinsky – Music For Piano – Lee
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -1.44 dB     -22.30 dB     A1 Sonata.aif
DR14        -0.37 dB     -18.99 dB     A2 Four Etudes, Op. 7.aif
DR14        -1.88 dB     -20.85 dB     A3 Ragtime.aif
DR15        -3.81 dB     -24.41 dB     B1 Serenade In A.aif
DR14        -0.72 dB     -18.35 dB     B2 Piano-Rag-Music.aif
DR14        -1.95 dB     -20.88 dB     B3 Tango.aif
DR13        -1.43 dB     -18.91 dB     B4 Circus Polka.aif
Number of files:    7
Official DR value:    DR14



  • Art Direction [Art Director] – William S. Harvey
  • Artwork [Cover Art] – Bill Hoffman (3)
  • Composed By – Igor Stravinsky
  • Coordinator [Coordination] – Teresa Stone
  • Engineer [Engineering] – Peter Willemoës
  • Liner Notes – Eric Salzman
  • Piano – Noël Lee

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
2 archives
PW: LaWally


6 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Nonesuch) Igor Stravinsky – Music For Piano (Noel Lee)

Leave a Reply