HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Hector Berlioz – L’Enfance Du Christ (Davis)

This is another fine pearl in this chain called “Davis-Berlioz-Cycle”.
Colin Davis, currently the grand old man of Berlioz conductors, has recorded the French romantic’s L’Enfance du Christ an amazing three times: first on L’oiseau-Lyre LPs (not issued on CD), then this one on Philips (frequently issued on LP and CD), and later on LSO Live (issued on CD with super audio surround sound capabilities). While not perhaps the most emotional Berlioz conducer in history, Davis’ more measured approach suits the more meditative L’Enfance. All three of his recordings are quite fine, but the sound quality gets slightly better with each newer edition. This sounds just splendid.

Composer: Hector Berlioz
Performer: Janet Baker, Eric Tappy, Raimund Herincx, Philip Langridge, Thomas Allen, Joseph Rouleau, Jules Bastin, John Alldis Choir
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Colin Davis
Vinyl 1977
Number of discs: 2
Format: Flac
Label: Philips
DR 17
Size: 1.88 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF



A I. Teil: Le Songe D’Hérode 27:53
B1 I. Teil: Le Songe D’Hérode (Schluss) 12:50
B2 II. Teil: La Fuite En Egypte 10:57
C1 II. Teil: La Fuite En Egypte (Schluss) 6:31
C2 III. Teil: L’Arrivée En Saïs 16:20
D III. Teil: L’Arrivée En Saïs (Schluss) 21:22


Analyzed folder: /96k Berlioz – L’Enfance Du Christ – Davis
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR17        -0.48 dB     -23.73 dB     A I. Teil- Le Songe D’Herode.aif
DR16        -3.66 dB     -26.54 dB     B1 I. Teil- Le Songe D’Herode (Schluss).aif
DR18        -0.87 dB     -25.51 dB     B2 II. Teil- La Fuite En Egypte.aif
DR15        -8.22 dB     -29.82 dB     C1 II. Teil- La Fuite En Egypte (Schluss).aif
DR16        -0.83 dB     -23.04 dB     C2 III. Teil- L’Arrivee En Sais.aif
DR17        -0.88 dB     -25.01 dB     D III. Teil- L’Arrivee En Sais (Schluss).aif
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR17



  • Chorus Master – John Alldis
  • Composed By – Hector Berlioz
  • Conductor – Colin Davis
  • Flute – Francis Nolan, Richard Taylor
  • Harp – Renata Scheffel-Stein
  • Orchestra – London Symphony Orchestra
  • Vocals [Baritone: Joseph] – Thomas Allen
  • Vocals [Bas: Père De Famille] – Joseph Rouleau
  • Vocals [Bass: Hérode] – Jules Bastin
  • Vocals [Bass: Polydorus] – Raimund Herincx
  • Vocals [Mezzosoprano: Marie] – Janet Baker
  • Vocals [Tenor: Centurion] – Philip Langridge
  • Vocals [Tenor: Récitant] – Eric Tappy

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

14 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Hector Berlioz – L’Enfance Du Christ (Davis)”

    1. Oh…da hast du Recht. Ich dachte, ich hätte den schon gepostet, aber ist nur gerippt. Muss es noch reinigen und die Bilder fertig machen. 😀

  1. Beauty and Wonder!! Thanks for posting the piece. Your rip is the first time that I’ve heard this. The end of the first part gave me goosebumps!

Leave a Reply