HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Hector Berlioz – Te Deum (Davis)

Thank you Trottar for the last pearl of the Berlioz cycle
Colin Davis’s Berlioz cycle for Philips was a highly acclaimed, if not ambitious achievement forty years ago and many of his performances- including the Te Deum here- remain the reference to which all others have since aspired. His soloists are all remarkably good (especially tenor Franco Tagliavini in the Te Deum) and the Wandsworth School Boys Choir simply sing their hearts out. Davis tends to downplay the usual theatrics most conductors pepper their readings with though his restraint pays off famously with one of the most highly dramatic, emotionally charged interpretations ever recorded.

Composer: Hector Berlioz
Performer: Franco Tagliavini, Wandsworth School Boys’ Choir, London Symphony Chorus
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Colin Davis
Vinyl 1969
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Philips
DR 12
Size: 1.07 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF



  Te Deum, Op. 22
A1 Te Deum 8:09
A2 Tibi Onmes 9:56
A3 Dignare 8:50
B1 Christe Rex Gloriae 5:18
B2 Te Ergo Quaesumus 7:35
B3 Judex Crederis 12:19

Analyzed folder: /96k Berlioz – L’Enfance Du Christ – Davis
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR17        -0.48 dB     -23.73 dB     A I. Teil- Le Songe D’Herode.aif
DR16        -3.66 dB     -26.54 dB     B1 I. Teil- Le Songe D’Herode (Schluss).aif
DR18        -0.87 dB     -25.51 dB     B2 II. Teil- La Fuite En Egypte.aif
DR15        -8.22 dB     -29.82 dB     C1 II. Teil- La Fuite En Egypte (Schluss).aif
DR16        -0.83 dB     -23.04 dB     C2 III. Teil- L’Arrivee En Sais.aif
DR17        -0.88 dB     -25.01 dB     D III. Teil- L’Arrivee En Sais (Schluss).aif
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR17



  • Choir – Wandsworth School Boys’ Choir
  • Chorus – London Symphony Chorus
  • Chorus Master – John Alldis, Russell Burgess
  • Composed By – Berlioz*
  • Conductor – Colin Davis*
  • Orchestra – London Symphony Orchestra*
  • Organ – Nicolas Kynaston
  • Tenor Vocals – Franco Tagliavini
Recorded London, 1/1969

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

9 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Hector Berlioz – Te Deum (Davis)

  1. Alf, many thanks, I am very happy now to have this LP in 24 bit 96 kHz version.
    Der Berlioz Cycle mit Chor und Vokal Musik und Opern ist aber immer noch nicht ganz vollständig: Es fehlen die Oper Beatrice et Benedict und die Sinfonie mit Gesang Romeo und Julia. Ich hatte beide Aufnahmen einmall, sie sind mir aber irgendwie abhanden gekommen. Ich versuche beide Aufnahmen zu beschaffen. Hoffentlich glückt es. Gruß. Trottar

  2. Alf, sorry, Romeo und Julia hattest Du schon früher geposted.Dafür fehlen noch die Kantate Lelio und Les nuits dèté sowie Le Mort de Cléopatre . Gruß Trottar

  3. Thanks for this excellent sounding version of Davis’ finely wrought interpretation of this wonderful work. The organ and percussion especially sound superb!

Leave a Reply