HD-Vinyl 24/96 (RCA) Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 1 (Leinsdorf)

Reposted, now with FF links

# Composer: Johannes Brahms
# Orchestra: Boston Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Erich Leinsdorf
# Vinyl (1964)

# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: RCA
# DR-Analysis: DR 12
# ASIN: not found

# Size: 887 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Leinsdorf was born to a Jewish family in Vienna, and was studying music at a local school by the age of 5. He played the cello and studied composition. In his teens, Leinsdorf worked as a piano accompanist for singers. He studied conducting at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, and later at the University of Vienna and the Vienna Academy of Music. From 1934 to 1937 he worked as an assistant to the noted conductors Bruno Walter and Arturo Toscanini at the Salzburg Festival.

In November 1937, Leinsdorf travelled to the United States to take up a position as assistant conductor at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. As it turned out, his departure from Austria came a few short months ahead of the Anschluss of March 1938, when the country was taken over by Nazi Germany. With the assistance of freshman Representative from Texas Lyndon B. Johnson,[3] he was able to stay in the United States, and became a naturalized American citizen in 1942.

At the Met Leinsdorf was particularly noted for his Wagner performances; after the sudden death of Artur Bodanzky in 1939, he was named the Met’s “head of German repertoire”. From 1943 he had a brief three-year post as Music Director of the Cleveland Orchestra, but was absent for much of this tenure because he was drafted into the United States Armed Forces for World War II; the orchestra did not renew Leinsdorf’s contract. Many years later, in the transition in Cleveland from Lorin Maazel to Christoph von Dohnányi between 1982 and 1984, Leinsdorf returned to lead several concerts; Leinsdorf described his role as “the bridge between the regimes”.

Leinsdorf was the principal conductor of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra from 1947 to 1955. He came to despair of what he saw as Rochester’s insular musical culture, famously remarking that “Rochester is the best disguised dead end in the world!” Subsequently he was briefly head of the New York City Opera, before resuming his association with the Met. In 1962 he was named music director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. His time in Boston would produce many recordings for RCA, but was also marked by controversy, as he occasionally clashed with musicians and administrators.

On November 22, 1963, during a Boston Symphony concert, Leinsdorf had to announce the reports of President John F. Kennedy’s assassination in Dallas, Texas to a shocked audience. He and the orchestra followed the news with a performance of the Funeral March from Beethoven’s third symphony. In 1969 Leinsdorf left the Boston post. He would continue to guest-conduct operas and orchestras around the world for the next two decades, being particularly associated with the Metropolitan Opera and the New York Philharmonic. He also served from 1978 to 1980 as principal conductor of the (West) Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra. He died of cancer in Zürich, Switzerland, at the age of 81.

His notable students include John Ferritto. Leinsdorf is also known for his arrangement of a suite from Claude Debussy’s opera Pelléas et Mélisande.

Leinsdorf made numerous recordings throughout his career, including some 78-rpm discs for Columbia Records with the Cleveland Orchestra. He made a number of recordings with the Los Angeles Philharmonic for Capitol. In the 1950s, he was conductor for a series of complete stereophonic opera recordings made in Rome, beginning with Puccini’s Tosca with Zinka Milanov, Jussi Björling, and Leonard Warren for RCA Victor. He continued to record for RCA as music director of the Boston Symphony. Later he again made additional operatic recordings, including the first complete stereo recording of Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Die tote Stadt, with Carol Neblett and René Kollo. Leinsdorf conducted the BSO with pianist Arthur Rubinstein in pianist’s second complete recording of Beethoven’s piano concertos, Brahms’ First Piano Concerto, and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.



  Symphony No. 1 In C Minor, Op. 68
A1 I. Un Poco Sostenuto; Allegro 12:22
A2 II. Andante Sostenuto 9:13
B1 III. Un Poco Allegretto E Grazioso 4:57
B2 IV. Adagio; Allegro Non Troppo, Ma Con Brio 16:34

Analyzed folder: /96k Brahms – Symphony 1 – Leinsdorf
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR11        -0.90 dB     -16.52 dB     A1 Symphony No. 1 C-Minor, Op. 68 – 1. Un Poco Sosenuto-Allegro.wav
DR12        -4.91 dB     -22.20 dB     A2 Symphony No. 1 C-Minor, Op. 68 – 2. Andante Sostenuto.wav
DR11        -2.66 dB     -19.27 dB     B1 Symphony No. 1 C-Minor, Op. 68 – 3. Un Poco Allegretto E Grazioso.wav
DR11        -0.23 dB     -15.80 dB     B2 Symphony No. 1 C-Minor, Op. 68 – 4. Adagio-Piu’ Andante-Allegro Non Troppo.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR12


  • Composed By – Brahms
  • Conductor – Erich Leinsdorf
  • Engineer [Recording] – Lewis Layton
  • Liner Notes – Jay S. Harrison
  • Orchestra – Boston Symphony Orchestra
  • Producer – Richard Mohr


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II + Special Edition Denon DL 103 -> Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5 -> Wave 32 bit/96 kHz
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

You hear some clicks and pops here and there?
Who cares?
I better let some light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • Converting Wave 32bit/96kHz -> Flac 24bit/96kHz: Twisted Wave
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.
Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives

PW: LaWally

9 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (RCA) Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 1 (Leinsdorf)

Leave a Reply