HD-Vinyl 24/96 (RCA) Sergej Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 2 (Brailowsky)

Thank you very much TROTTAR for this fine record

# Composer: Sergej Rachmaninov, Carl Maria von Weber, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
# Performer: Alexander Braylowsky
# Orchestra: San Francisco Symphony Orchestra
# Conductor: Enrique Jorda
# Vinyl (1963)

# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: RCA Victrola
# DR-Analysis: DR 12
# ASIN SACD: B000003F1X

# Size: 1.05 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory


Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 2 In C Minor, OP. 18
A1 First Movement: Moderato
A2 Second Movement: Adagio Sostenuto
Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 2 In C Minor, OP. 18
B1 Third Movement: Allegro Scherzando
B2 Weber Invitation To The Dance, Op. 65
B3 Mendelssohn: Spinning Song
B4 Mendelssohn: Scherzo
B5 Mendelssohn: Andante And Rondo Capriccioso



 Analyzed folder: /96k Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 2 – Brailowsky
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR12        -1.08 dB     -17.44 dB     A1 Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 In C Minor, OP. 18 – 1 Moderato.wav
 DR13        -1.20 dB     -18.71 dB     A2 Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 In C Minor, OP. 18 – 2 Adagio Sostenuto.wav
 DR11        -2.49 dB     -18.22 dB     B2 Weber – Invitation To The Dance, Op. 65.wav
 DR12        -5.17 dB     -20.68 dB     B3 Mendelssohn – Spinning Song.wav
 DR12        -2.08 dB     -17.91 dB     B1 Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 In C Minor, OP. 18 – 3 Allegro Scherzando.wav
 DR12        -3.31 dB     -19.65 dB     B4 Mendelssohn – Scherzo.wav
 DR11        -1.73 dB     -17.01 dB     B5 Mendelssohn – Andante And Rondo Capriccioso.wav
 Number of files:    7
 Official DR value:    DR12

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Denon DL103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally


22 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (RCA) Sergej Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 2 (Brailowsky)

      • I was surprised, for Rachmaninov isn’t really Sir Brendel’s cup of tea… 😉
        You might also like these two famous performances : Richter/Wislocki and Janis/Dorati.

        • Certainly do – prefer Janis/Dorati, and would be audacious enough to say Richter plays a bum note in the opening bars (just before the “big” chord). To really put the cat amongst the pigeons I think he also needs his piano tuning!
          I think it’s the balance of the horns and the tempi that I enjoy most in Ashkenazy.
          My versions are only CD and “muddy” – would love to hear it in its full glory – anyone for vinyl?

        • …of course, Richter über alle Pianisten ! Byron is really great too…but the best Rachmaninov interpreter is…ME ! 😉
          Of course, I mean Sergej. Once I had the opportunity to hear some concerto played by the best piano player of all times, but I remember the sound was horrible.
          I’m sure, only the composer himself offers the best performance, do you agree?

        • Mon ami…have you tried Vasary or Wild? (both complete concertos, here at boxset)
          I mean…all are really good, at last wins the one that you “love” more than another…
          Another user wrote some minutes ago of Ashkenazy….

        • …and, a propos great pianists…in a few hour arrives a requested repost of JSB/Well Tempered Clavier with Glenn Gould

          • All great interpreters. I never heard Rachmaninov playing Rachmaninov but what I’ve heard of him was indeed astonishing.
            Regarding Richter, it’s true his performance is not always perfect in every aspects. But really, I don’t care too much about wrong notes. What counts more in my opinion is the truth of musical intention that make you forget about technical imperfections.
            There is a famous story about Edwin Fischer, who was well known for playing a lots of wrong notes. He was sat on a train between Vienna and somewhere else (I can’t remember where) and just in his back were sat two young ladies discussing about music and mostly piano music. At a certain point, conversation started on Fischer himself :
            – Mr. Fischer is such a great pianist !
            – He certainly is but he plays so many wrong notes. How can this be possible when so talented ?

            Mr. fischer, although he had heard everything, did not show up. Finally the train arrived to its destination. While everybody was getting up, then the two ladies consumed themselves with shame when they realized Edwin Fischer himself was sat just behind them during the whole journey. The great pianist acted as if he hadn’t heard anything about the conversation and only asked for help to carry his suitcase. it was only when one of the two ladies was carrying the suitcase that Edwin Fischer said laconically :

            – Yes I know, it is very heavy. You know, I never travel without all my wrong notes !

  1. Thank you Rachmaninov.

    Congratulations for the new visual. It´s clean, easy to perceive.
    And keep those natural and simple motifs: they are the poetic touch – something many sites overlook.

  2. Its difficult to compare all these hundreds of recording of Rachmaninov 2. Concerto, because the Pianos has changed, the sound ingeneers have a different approach,
    the recording level, the taste and and and.. so there is not really the best recording,
    it depends on our subjective hearing of today. Brailowsky is only a sample of playing
    in the forties and fifties . Trottar

Leave a Reply