HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Supraphon) Béla Bartók – Sonatas For Violin, Piano, Clarinet (Andersen/Etlík/Gertler)

All thanks for this masterwork go to Jean-Luc
Much like Brahms kept close company with Joseph Joachim, one of the greatest violinists of his day, so too did Bartók keep ties with luminaries of his time, including Szigeti, Menuhin, and André Gertler. Although Gertler did not have the distinction of having any of Bartók’s numerous works for violin dedicated to or written for him, he did have the honor of premiering several of Bartók’s compositions in Europe. Gertler was also the first violinist to undertake the massive task of recording the complete violin works in the 1960s. The sound quality throughout is generally quite good, a testament to the technicians who remastered the recordings. Given their professional ties, it would stand to reason that Gertler would have a deep understanding of Bartók’s music, and indeed his interpretations throughout capture every bit of the Hungarian flair.

Composer: Béla Bartók
Performer: Diane Andersen,
Milan Etlík, André Gertler
Vinyl 1965
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Supraphon
DR 13
Size: 920 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF


  Sonata For Violin And Piano
A1 I. Allegro Molto 8:57
A2 II. Andante 10:06
B1 III. Vivace 7:53
  “Contrasts” For Violin, Clarinet And Piano
B2 I. Recruiting Dance
B3 II. Relaxation 4:51
B4 III. Fast Dance

Analyzed folder: /96k Bartok – Sonatas – Andersen, Etlik, Gertler
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -0.51 dB     -18.25 dB     A1 Sonata For Violin And Piano – I. Allegro Molto.aif
DR13        -2.31 dB     -21.10 dB     A2 Sonata For Violin And Piano – II. Andante.aif
DR12        -1.71 dB     -17.97 dB     B1 Sonata For Violin And Piano – III. Vivace.aif
DR14        -1.96 dB     -21.65 dB     B2 ‘Contrasts’ For Violin, Clarinet And Piano – I. Recruiting Dance.aif
DR14        -4.54 dB     -25.29 dB     B3 ‘Contrasts’ For Violin, Clarinet And Piano – II. Relaxation.aif
DR13        -0.86 dB     -18.52 dB     B4 ‘Contrasts’ For Violin, Clarinet And Piano – III. Fast Dance.aif
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR13



  • Clarinet – Milan Etlík (tracks: B2 to B4)
  • Composed By – Béla Bartók
  • Cover – Josef Kalousek
  • Engineer – Ing. Platz
  • Piano – Diane Andersen
  • Producer – Miloslav Kuba
  • Sleeve Notes – Dr. Kamil Šlapák
  • Violin – André Gertler

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

11 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Supraphon) Béla Bartók – Sonatas For Violin, Piano, Clarinet (Andersen/Etlík/Gertler)”

  1. I’ve borrowed this from a commercial disc website because it was so informative for me. It supplements Alf’s good note.

    “André Gertler (1907–1998), a Hungarian violinist who immigrated to Belgium in 1928, ranks among the remarkable artistic personalities of the 20th century. He was renowned chiefly for his interpretation of the violin works of Béla Bartók, many of which he premiered. Gertler also performed in concert together with Bartók in the years 1925–1938, establishing his well-deserved reputation as a Bartók specialist. In 1952 he started to be a frequent guest artist at the Prague Spring festival, and in the mid-1960’s he recorded Bartók’s complete works for violin and piano and for violin and orchestra. This set, which Gertler recorded for Supraphon, met with lavish praise immediately following its initial release, winning the 1966 Grand Prix du Disque de l’Academie Charles Cros in Paris. This sensitively remastered edition makes these artistically and technically brilliant recordings available to the public once again.”


Leave a Reply