HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Supraphon) Honegger/Shostakovich – Cello Concerti (Sadlo/Ancerl/Neumann)

Many thanks to Jean-Luc for this rarity
Ancerl and Sádlo recorded Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto in June 1968, just before the Russian invasion of Prague, in response to which the conductor took the painful decision to leave his homeland. The performance begins slightly heavily, with a deliberate tempo; the recording, warm to the point of slight boxiness, increases the feeling. Of course, one of the joys of hearing the Czech Phil either on disc or live is their wonderfully woody tone. Though here they seem unable to put a sharper edge on their playing, this is in keeping with Sádlo, who doesn’t see the first movement as very anguished. His (sadly uncredited) horn counterpart reinforces the impression by skipping along quite lightly.
Due to an unexpected digital error on track B2, please DL the fixed B2 and replace the old one.

Composer: Arthur Honegger, Dmitri Shostakovich

Performer: Miloš Sádlo

Orchestra: Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Karel Ančerl, Václav Neumann

Vinyl 1969 (1981)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
Label: Supraphon

DR-Analysis: DR 12
Size: 904 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF

Literature available on Honegger’s Cello C oncerto suggests this concerto is often considered as a composition that resonates with Les Six traditions. While reflecting currents of Les Six, the Cello Concerto also features departures from Erik Satie’s and Jean Cocteau’s ideal for French composers to return to simplicity. Both characteristics of and departures from Les Six examined in this concerto include metric organization, thematic and rhythmic development, melodic wedge shapes, contrapuntal techniques, simplicity in orchestration, diatonicism, the use of humor, jazz influences, and other unique performance techniques.
(Continue reading here)

Analyzed Folder: /96k Honegger, Shostakovich – Cello Concerti_dr.txt
DR Peak RMS Filename
DR12 -0.56 dB -16.18 dB A Honegger – Concerto For Violoncello And Orchestra (In One Movement).flac
DR12 -0.29 dB -17.42 dB B1 Shostakovich – Concerto No. 1 In E Flat Major For Violoncello And Orchestra, Op. 107 – Allegretto.flac
DR12 -0.67 dB -19.59 dB B2 Shostakovich – Concerto No. 1 In E Flat Major For Violoncello And Orchestra, Op. 107 – Moderato.flac
DR11 -1.58 dB -18.68 dB B3 Shostakovich – Concerto No. 1 In E Flat Major For Violoncello And Orchestra, Op. 107 – Cadenza.flac
DR12 -0.54 dB -16.30 dB B4 Shostakovich – Concerto No. 1 In E Flat Major For Violoncello And Orchestra, Op. 107 – Allegro Con Moto.flac
Number of Files: 5
Official DR Value: DR12



  • Cello [Violoncello] – Miloš Sádlo
  • Composed By – Arthur Honegger (tracks: A), Dmitri Shostakovich (tracks: B1 to B4)
  • Conductor – Karel Ančerl (tracks: B1 to B4), Václav Neumann (tracks: A)
  • Cover – Miloslav Žáček
  • Engineer [Sound And Cut] – František Burda, Miloslav Kulhan
    Orchestra – Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Recording Supervisor [Recording Director] – Dr. Eduard Herzog, Zdeněk Zahradník
  • Sleeve Notes – Dr. Kamil Šlapák


Ripping Info


A few words about the way i’ve been cleaning vinyl records and post-processing rips, since summer 2017: After washing and recording the vinyl, I use a kind of mixed cleaning of the rip, which consists of mostly manual rather than automatic de-clicking, (the latter only on unimportant passages, such as end of the groove, beginning and end of the songs, applause, speaking). I often leave the rips almost rough, de-clicking only the silences between the tracks. Never de-noising or/and EQ, as unfortunately some do. I prefer to hear a bit of quiet noises of the clean groove, that contain something of the music, rather than generate clinically clean files that may, eventually, sound a bit dead. If you do not agree, do not download my rips and buy instead digital files or CDs.
When I listen to music I “don’t hear” any noise: I enjoy the music 😀
I do not make rips for headphones!

  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96 & 24/192: Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


3 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Supraphon) Honegger/Shostakovich – Cello Concerti (Sadlo/Ancerl/Neumann)”

Leave a Reply