HD-Vinyl 24/96 (World Record Club) Joseph Haydn – The Salomon (aka London) Symphonies, Nos. 3 & 4 – No. 95 In C Major – No. 96 In D Major (Beecham)

Many thanks to our friend Lemarquis for the Sir
Haydn’s earlier “Salomon” (aka London) Symphonies are every bit as fine in every way, thereby making it practically perfect in every way. The playing of the Royal Philharmonic is colorful and immediately responsive to Beecham. Beecham himself is at the peak of his form: stylish, larger-than-life, deeply human, and wonderfully witty. Lawrence Collingswood captures their performances in warm, clear, and vividly colorful sound. And, of course, Haydn’s earlier “Salomon” (aka London) Symphonies are the absolute height of the Viennese High Classical Style: graceful, elegant, tasteful, tuneful, colorful, profoundly musical, and as good and deep and true as the greatest music ever written by anyone anywhere at anytime.

Composer: Joseph Haydn
Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Sir Thomas Beecham
Vinyl (1959)
Number of discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: World Record Club
DR 13
Size: 833 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF


  Symphony No. 95 In C Minor  
A1 Allegro Moderato 5:23
A2 Andante Cantabile 5:29
A3 Minuet & Trio 5:08
A4 Finale (Vivace) 3:32
  Symphony No. 96 In D Major (“Miracle”)  
B1 Adagio – Allegro 5:28
B2 Andante 6:58
B3 Minuet (Allegretto) 5:14
B4 Finale (Vivace Assai) 3:01

Analyzed folder: 96k Haydn – Symphonies 95, 96 – Beecham
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR12        -2.96 dB     -18.60 dB     A1 Symphony No. 95 In C Minor – Allegro Moderato.aif
DR15        -5.48 dB     -25.80 dB     A2 Symphony No. 95 In C Minor – Andante Cantabile.aif
DR13        -2.70 dB     -19.63 dB     A3 Symphony No. 95 In C Minor – Minuet And Trio.aif
DR12        -0.67 dB     -16.65 dB     A4 Symphony No. 95 In C Minor – Finale (Vivace).aif
DR11        -1.38 dB     -16.72 dB     B1 Symphony No. 96 In D Major (Miracle) – Adagio – Allegro.aif
DR13        -3.57 dB     -21.78 dB     B2 Symphony No. 96 In D Major (Miracle) – Andante.aif
DR13        -0.98 dB     -18.39 dB     B3 Symphony No. 96 In D Major (Miracle) – Minuet (Allegretto).aif
DR12        -1.53 dB     -17.81 dB     B4 Symphony No. 96 In D Major (Miracle) – Finale (Vivace Assai).aif
Number of files:    8
Official DR value:    DR13


Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciated.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

DL from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

12 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (World Record Club) Joseph Haydn – The Salomon (aka London) Symphonies, Nos. 3 & 4 – No. 95 In C Major – No. 96 In D Major (Beecham)”

  1. Ho Alf,
    A stunningly beautiful recording of Haydn Syms.
    Love it, man! The sound is like sitting in the very front before the Orch., and so clean and fresh. Beecham was great at this kind of work.

  2. Thanks for this….haven’t heard yet, but I’m curious about the stereo label. The first 6 of Beecham’s London Symphony cycle are MONO originals, so that’s what this should be. I remember having a later boxed set issue of these on HMV in the SLS series where indeed, the first 6 were fake stereo, and not very good. Arabesque issued them in the US in real mono. in the 1970s, and I think Capitol issued them in a box as well. Never heard original pressings though, and I’m sure they go for a pretty good lot of cash.

    1. What I know is that for almost 6-8 years, back in the age of beginning stereo era, many labels continued to release their productions in mono, but they had also the stereo version recorded and safe…Only after years, in fact in the early 60s, almost all labels changed their “official” state from mono into stereo and post-released all stereo productions they had stored all the time.

      1. That’s certainly true for RCA and Decca, among others, and these stockpiled stereo versions first started to appear on open reel tape issues, and then on LPs. Not everything was re-released on LP, and sometimes there are US LP stereo issues but no UK issues, etc

        . EMI was less consistent in recording in stereo during this transitional time. There are no stereo tapes of these first 6 of the 12 symphonies Beecham did. All Beecham discographies (Mike Gray’s, Beecham society) confirm this. And now that I’m listening to this LP, yes, this is definitely the fake stereo version, which you can tell easily because there is no directionality to the stereo image (1st violins on left, etc.).

  3. Sounds lively, thank you! I listen to the classicals about twice as often as the romantics, although I don’t know what that says about me. 🙂

  4. Thanks Alf. I’m glad the recording sounds so good. As you know, I was a little concerned as sometimes the quality of these transfers licensed for other markets can be hit and miss. It will be a delight to have this great Beecham performance 😀

Leave a Reply