HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Antonin Dvorak – Cello Concerto (Rostropovich/Karajan)

Many thanks to my friend Dr. A. G. for providing this wonderful vinyl

# Composer: Antonin Dvorak
# Performer: Mstislav Rostropovich
# Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Herbert von Karajan

# Vinyl (1969)
# Format: Flac
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# ASIN CD: B000001GQ8

# Size: 1.06 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

This is a supreme classic of the gramophone catalogue. It is a glorious disc, representing Rostropovich at his peak. The Berlin Philharmonic and Karajan are on top form as well. From the rapt opening of the Dvorak concerto, Karajan and his band create the most wonderful atmosphere for the soloist to play in. Dvorak’s Cello concerto is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, work for the cello in the concerto repertoire. Rostropvich’s magnificently full tone is perfect for this work. There is hardly anything you could criticise about the disc. The Dvorak is full of passion, fire, lyricism you could wish for, but Rostropvich doesn’t pull out all the stops. He keeps certain degrees of fire in reserve for the really big moments. The dialog between the soloist and orchstra are unmatched in its chamber-like quality. It’s a give-and-take performance, and what a performance! This particular recording of the Rococo Variations is unsurpassed. It has so much wit, panache, elegance, and the addition of Karajan being a master Tchaikovskian helps enormously. The playing matches the beauty and elegance and the Rustic charm of this piece fully with the soloist. This piece is pretty difficult to play, as there are many technical difficulties which surround the soloist, but Rostropovich, with his rich palette of tone colours, make the piece sound easy, very easy. My favourite in the Variations has to be the Finale, where Rostropovich finally pulls out all his powers and lets rip. The way he ‘talks’ with the orchestra is unmatched in its imaginativeness. All the parties involved really give the impression that they are really having fun, which in turn gives the listener the same impression. A most joyful way to end a glorious recording. I realise that I have been pretty indulgent with my use of superlatives, but I am lost for words, really. It really is a great recording, whose reputation is for once not exaggerated. If you don’t have this right now, you should get a copy immediately.

Analyzed folder: /Volumes/HDMUSIC/ Work on HiResMusic/  DR. G./96k Dvorak – Cello Concerto – Rostropovich-Karajan
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.96 dB     -19.98 dB     A1 Dvorak – Cello concerto b-minor – Allegro.wav
DR15        -2.10 dB     -23.72 dB     A2 Dvorak – Cello concerto b-minor – Adagio ma non troppo.wav
DR14        -0.21 dB     -21.25 dB     B1 Dvorak – Cello concerto b-minor – Allegro moderato.wav
DR17        -0.67 dB     -23.73 dB     B2 Tchaikowsky – Rokoko-Variations Op. 33.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR15


  • Cello – Mstislaw Rostropowitsch
  • Composed By – Anton Dvořák* (tracks: A1 to B1), Peter Tschaikowsky (tracks: B2)
  • Conductor – Herbert von Karajan
  • Engineer – Günter Hermanns
  • Liner Notes [German] – Günter Kleinen
  • Orchestra – Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Photography – Werner Neumeister
  • Producer – Otto Gerdes
  • Recording Supervisor – Hans Weber

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

13 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Antonin Dvorak – Cello Concerto (Rostropovich/Karajan)

  1. Hey,

    I think there is a slight mistake in the description of this record. The label is Deutsche Grammophon, not Angel (EMI). Take care, dude.
    Thank you for the post, anyway.

    Let’s keep in touch!

    • Hi J. 😉 of course the DGG…..I use to make new posts on the basis of an old one, replacing titles, text, pics…and so on. This was based on the post of Dvorak/Saint-Saens by Rostropovich/Giulini

  2. Not a big fan of Rostro’ but I’ll give him one more chance 😉
    By the way, I had experienced that there is huge sound deferences between different editions of a same recording. Most of the time (there are some exceptions), first pressings do sound far more superior than reissues and it has been very interesting to me to learn a bit more about that. One of the main reason is that the first pressings are made out of the master tape and in small series. It means direct sound from the source and pressing moulds in good condition because not excessively worn by a large number of copies. For instance, the post you made of Dvorak Cello Concerto by Fournier and Szell is to my ears far more superior to the CD than, for instance, the Brahms Violin Concerto by Ferras and Karajan, which is still better than the CD edition but not as much. In my opinion, the reason is that the Dvorak record, despite of the fact that it’s not a first pressing, is an early edition (the first pressing was made in 1962 under label known as Deutsche Grammophon “red stereo” – because the background behind the “stereo” mark on the front cover was red before it turns to yellow around 1965). You can see it because the blue rim around the vinyl label is not perfectly rounded but made out little blue tulips – It is called “tulip label” and was used by DG earlier than the rounded blue rim. On the label of this record, at 1 o’clock position, you can read the “made in Germany” mention that also gives an indication about the date it was made. If it would have been written “Alle Hersteller” in place of “Made in Germany”, it would even be a bit older. On the contrary, the Brahms record has the rounded blue rim in place of the tulips. It means it’s a late reissue, probably not made out of the master tape and in a much larger scale. To my ears, the difference is obvious.
    I hope I’m not getting annoying, nor pedant. I’m sure you know all that better than I do. If not, you can believe me when I say it does count in terms of sound proprieties. You might like to have a look to this page. Its author made a huge work about main classical music labels :


    Talk to you soon.
    Thank you again for your wonderful rips.

  3. Rachmaninov,

    Thanks for allowing me into your home…

    I just finished listening to the Variations on a Rococo Theme…and it was thrilling, a pleasure. Rostropovich rocks. Thanks for this…

  4. Thank you for this gem. I remember that I enjoyed listening to this record a couple of times … but now I haven’t heard it for decades. Very curious.
    btw … einige Neuigkeiten zu hrm per pm

  5. This sounds absolutely fantastic. Have the original LP myself but it’s getting a bit worn from overplay. Great to have this as a backup. You’ve preserved the full dynamics of the vinyl, sounds very natural. Thanks for your hard work.

Leave a Reply