HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Franz Schubert – Symphonies 5 & 8 (Böhm)

Many thanks to my friend Dr. G for this gem

# Composer: Franz Schubert
# Orchestra: Berlin Philarmonic Orchestra
# Conductor: Karl Böhm
# Vinyl (1966)
# Format: Flac
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
# Size: 920 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF

This set is wonderful! and the Berlin Philharmonic outdoes itself!

The 8th is incredible, not only in how dreamy and romantic the performance is (although not relying on cheap interpretive tricks), but the superhuman demands that Bohm puts on the orchestra, which is clearly met in a breath-taking way. Time stands still in a very cool way, but keep track of the beat, and you’ll be very surprised. What a master!

(This review – from Amazon – was for the 4-CD-Set of all symphonies by Schubert)
Böhm’s Schubert cycle has outlasted many of its rivals on record–and deservedly so. Böhm’s approach to this repertoire is admirably direct, unpretentious, and vigorous (despite tempos that might strike some listeners as slower than ideal).

In the early symphonies (1-4), Böhm does not aim as much to charm the listener as to convey a salutary toughness that reveals the youthful Schubert’s debt to Beethoven. Those who prize Beecham’s inimitable brio and elegance, or Abbado’s quicksilver lightness and intimacy, might find Böhm a bit too serious by comparison; on the other hand, listeners who have found early Schubert insubstantial will welcome Böhm’s classicist priorities–including his decision to take minuets at a stately tempo rather than converting them into one-in-a-bar scherzi.

Böhm brings added warmth and spontaneity to the two transitional works (5 & 6), without any slackening of discipline. The B-flat symphony glows with a radiance similar to Bruno Walter’s cherishable recording. Beecham brings an infectious sparkle to this symphony, and to the C-major, that no other conductor has ever quire matched (at least in my experience), but Böhm is not far behind. In fact, I find Böhm’s choice of tempi in no. 6 far more congenial than Beecham’s, particularly in the finale (which Beecham, for all his charms, tends to drag). Indeed, Böhm’s is the only recorded version of the stylistically inconsistent “Little C-Major” that I find fully convincing.

The two mature masterpieces (8 & 9) flourish under Böhm’s direction. The “Unfinished” combines dramatic tension and tenderness in just the right proportions. Neither the famous secondary theme in the first movement, nor the yearning theme which dominates the second is allowed to languish; Böhm lets the expression emerge effortlessly and naturally from an unbroken and unselfconsciously lyrical line. Perhaps others have conveyed a greater sense of mystery or moment in the first movement’s opening gambit, but once again Böhm convinces by keeping everything in proportion. Classical virtues predominate in his outstanding realization of the “Great” C-major as well. In all four movements Böhm conveys the sense of a great occasion, even majesty, without undermining the crucial sense of forward movement. Few conductors on record have gotten this balance right. Only Furtwängler surpasses Böhm/BPO in this work (I haven’t heard Böhm’s later version of this symphony with the Dresden Stadtskapelle which some critics have found superior).

Throughout the cycle, the BPO plays with outstanding virtuosity, character and involvement, as we would have expected. The recording is beautifully balanced–clear, solid and natural (like the interpretations). Given the bargain price advantage, this set could be a first choice for novice collectors. It certainly should be in the collection of anyone who values the best of “old-world” interpretive traditions. In this sense, Böhm’s is and remains the classic Schubert cycle. Avid Schubertians will also want to own the (also fine) Marriner/St. Martin’s set on Phillips, if only to hear Brian Newbould’s stunning “realizations” of Schubert’s fragmentary sketches for several symphonic works (including the forward-looking “Symphony no. 10” which clearly anticipates both Bruckner and Mahler).

Track Listing

  Symphonie Nr. 5 B-dur D.485
A1   1. Satz: Allegro    
A2   2. Satz: Andante Con Moto    
A3   3. Satz: Menuetto: Allegro Molto    
A4   4. Satz: Allegro Vivace    
  Symphonie Nr. 8 h-moll D.759 Op. Posth. (Unvollendete)
B1   1. Satz: Allegro Moderato    
B2   2. Satz: Andante Con Moto

Analyzed folder: /Users/alfredo/Desktop/ HiResMusic/96kSch_S5+8_Boe/96k Schubert – Symphonies 5 and 8 – Boehm
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -0.76 dB     -19.05 dB     A1 Schubert – Symphony No.5 in B flat D.485 – 1. Allegro.wav
DR12        -3.86 dB     -21.95 dB     A2 Schubert – Symphony No.5 in B flat D.485 – 2. Andante con moto.wav
DR13        -2.89 dB     -20.69 dB     A3 Schubert – Symphony No.5 in B flat D.485 – 3. Menuetto (Allegro molto).wav
DR12        -1.05 dB     -19.17 dB     A4 Schubert – Symphony No.5 in B flat D.485 – 4. Allegro vivace.wav
DR13        -0.25 dB     -18.92 dB     B1 Schubert – Symphony No.8 in B minor, D.759 – ‘Unfinished’ – 1. Allegro moderato.wav
DR13        -1.05 dB     -20.58 dB     B2 Schubert – Symphony No.8 in B minor, D.759 – ‘Unfinished’ – 2. Andante con moto.wav
Number of files:    6
Official DR value:    DR13


  • Artwork By [Illustration] – Jutta Pedone-Eberle
  • Composed By – Franz Schubert
  • Conductor – Karl Böhm
  • Engineer [Recording] – Hans-Peter Schweigmann
  • Orchestra – Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Supervised By [Artistic Supervision] – Wolfgang Lohse


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5 -> Wave 32 bit/96 kHz
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave 32bit/96kHz -> Flac 24bit/96kHz: Twisted Wave
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download fro
m File
3 archives

PW: LaWally


12 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Franz Schubert – Symphonies 5 & 8 (Böhm)

  1. Merry Christmas and happy new year my friend, sincerily I wish you all the best, thanks for all this wonderful music that you share with us, thanks to the music we could survive another year more. The almightly bless you.

  2. Many thanks for all these musical treasures that you made available to us. Your taste is unmistakeable and the quality is great in any way. Merry Christmas and a happy new year to you and all the music lovers. Thank you, Rach!

  3. Rach,
    I sure enjoyed your rendition of Bohm and the Berlin P.O. on Schubert’s 5th and 8th.

    My computer is repaied and the sound is as clear as a bell..
    Thanks for your fine work!

Leave a Reply