HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Peter Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto (Ferras/Karajan)

# Composer: Peter Tchaikowsky
# Performer: Christian Ferras
# Orchestra: Berlin Philarmonic Orchestra

# Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
# Vinyl (1967)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# Size: 969 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF

Another great performance by one of the greatest violinists of the 20th century, who’s gone too early, beaten by a cruel enemy: alcohol. His genius was immense, his recordings, only a few, will survive this new millenium.

Analyzed folder: /Users/alfredo/Desktop/ HiResMusic/96k Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto – Ferras
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.80 dB     -20.73 dB     A1 Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto in D Op.35 – 1. Allegro moderato.wav
DR13        -14.15 dB     -30.99 dB     A2 Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto in D Op.35 – 2. Canzonetta (Andante).wav
DR15        -0.08 dB     -21.41 dB     B1 Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto in D Op.35 – 3. Finale (Allegro vivacissimo).wav
DR14        -0.45 dB     -19.86 dB     B2 Tchaikowsky – Capriccio italien Op.45 – Andante un poco rubato.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR14

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

12 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 96/24 (DGG) Peter Tchaikowsky – Violin Concerto (Ferras/Karajan)

    • Oh, Monsieur J…i love violin music, and of course all greatest maestri like Ferras, Menhuin, Accardo, Heifetz, Perlman, Stern (my absolute favourite), Oistrakh, Campoli. Of course, many of the younger generation – i saw Mutter some years ago and fell in love with her – i saw Kennedy, Garrett, Carmignola, they all are ultra-great…..but the genius of the old masters is in my eyes unreached.

      PS: have you checked all other Ferras, that i posted?

  1. I totally agree with what you say about the genius of old masters. They each have an absolutely unique sound and character. There is definitely no chance to take one for an other and not be able to distinguish Heifetz from Menuhin, Oistrakh from Kogan, Stern from Szeryng, etc. etc. With all the respect, I’m not sure we can say the same with the modern violinists…
    Being a Parisian resident, as you know, I had the chance to talk a few times with Master Etienne Vatelot who was as you certainly know the personal luthier of half of these mentioned great artists. He told me how he found the second Strad’ for Ferras and many other anecdotes. Ferras is really unique, I can’t listen to him playing the Sibelius Violin Concerto without crying. I have of course downloaded all your post concerning Ferras and I think I must have almost every of his existing recordings. I didn’t listen yet to your rip of the Tchaikovsky Concerto. Can’t wait…

  2. There is only one phrase: this is your BEST RIP. The sound is rich and clear, orchestra’s playing detailed, and Ferras’s violin really singing. Every day I listen to one of these four concertos of Ferras, Karajan and BPO: Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Sibelius. That is the indicator of GREATNESS for me. These DG masterpieces are superior in terms of performance and sound! Thank you, Mr. Alfredo, for sharing these treasures with us! You are my primary music supplier. Long live and best wishes!

  3. By the way, Mr. Rach, how do yo manage to create such detailed, perfect, glossy, colorful and vivid artworks. You are, among other positive features, THE great Photoshop genius! It is not a compliment, just the fact. Very few releasers make covers attached to their rips so perfectly. That also points to the attitude towards music and vinyls (sure, first of all we listen to the music itself, and only secondly look at the artwork), and it sets out the difference between amateurs and professionals, as well. You are the professional vinyl-ripper, Mr. Alfredo!

    • Thank you, dear friend…as you wrote, I’m a professional, not ripper but Photoshop specialist and, when I have the time and love and dedication, I love to “restaurate” (retouche) some worn covers, because simply I love to work with PSP 😉

Leave a Reply