HD-Vinyls 24/192 (Mercury) Joseph Haydn – Symphony No. 100 In G – Symphony No. 101 In D Major (Dorati)

front-small-boxset Many thanks to our friend Jean-Luc for this
Antal Dorati’s legendary traversal of the Haydn symphonies was for many years the only complete set (by one conductor and orchestra) of the symphonies. Today, although there are some other complete sets as well as many great period performances, Dorati’s cycle still reigns supreme. Dorati manages to make these works still sound fresh and vibrate after two hundred years. There is a level of spontaneity, as well as an ever obvious sense of joy that make the Dorati traversal the best. It may seem like hyperbole, but Dorati is as close as you will get to “perfect” when it comes to Haydn.

Composer: Joseph Haydn
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Antal Dorati
Vinyl (196?)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Mercury
DR-Analysis: DR 13
Size: 1.19 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory



  Symphony No. 101 In D Major (“The Clock”)  
A1 Adagio – Presto  
A2 Andante  
A3 Menuetto Allegretto  
A4 Finale: Vivace  
  Symphony No. 100 In G Major (“Military”)  
B1 Adagio – Allegro  
B2 Allegretto  
B3 Menuetto  
B4 Finale: Presto  


Analyzed folder: /192k Haydn – Symphonies 100 and 101 – Dorati
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -2.64 dB     -19.69 dB     A1 Symphony in D, H.I No.101 – ‘The Clock’ – 1. Adagio – Presto.aif
DR12        -0.44 dB     -19.17 dB     A2 Symphony in D, H.I No.101 – ‘The Clock’ – 2. Andante.aif
DR13        -1.98 dB     -18.15 dB     A3 Symphony in D, H.I No.101 – ‘The Clock’ – 3. Menuet (Allegretto) – Trio.aif
DR13        -1.15 dB     -18.13 dB     A4 Symphony in D, H.I No.101 – ‘The Clock’ – 4. Finale (Vivace).aif
DR12        -1.29 dB     -18.16 dB     B1 Symphony in G, H.I No.100 – ‘Military’ – 1. Adagio – Allegro.aif
DR14        -3.42 dB     -22.70 dB     B2 Symphony in G, H.I No.100 – ‘Military’ – 2. Allegretto.aif
DR13        -0.87 dB     -17.73 dB     B3 Symphony in G, H.I No.100 – ‘Military’ – 3. Menuet (Moderato).aif
DR13        -0.66 dB     -18.44 dB     B4 Symphony in G, H.I No.100 – ‘Military’ – 4. Finale ( Presto).aif
Number of files:    8
Official DR value:    DR13


Ripping Info


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
My rips are almost rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
4 archives
PW: LaWally


38 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/192 (Mercury) Joseph Haydn – Symphony No. 100 In G – Symphony No. 101 In D Major (Dorati)

  1. Grazie 1000000 Alf & Jean-Luc 🙂
    Dorati diresse e incise l’integrale delle sinfonie con la Philharmonia Hungarica, edizione da me amatissima e a suo tempo ascoltatissima. Non vedo l’ora di poter ascoltare questa versione di due importanti sinfonie con la London Symphony Orchestra. Purtroppo la mia connessione internet è lenta … ma ce la farò. Non senza fatica si giunge al fine 🙂

  2. Vielen, vielen Dank lieber Alf! Die Militär-Sinfonie habe ich erst vor zwei Wochen live in Erfurt gesehen. Nun kann ich auch zuhause nochmal nachhören, perfekt!

  3. Alf, as you know I’m not multilingual so I’ll just say this much.
    These 2 Syms, 100, 101 play and sound beautifully.

    I was not able to get the other due to downloading I Lombardi Video took forever, and still doesn’t work.
    I know this sharing music gets more and more heavy work,
    BUT I applaud your work, Maestro!

    • Bob, my friend…this is one of the best sounding recordings I had in the last months…these Philips/Mercury works are so amazing and this one in particular…

  4. Thank you very much Mr. for this beautiful and precious gifts, I must appreciate for your greatest and supreme work to make it become the best of my collection. When I was listening to these beautiful Haydn’s works, I feel a little confused, the 1st movement of these two symphonies (A1 – B1) may be in adverse order, that is A1 should be replaced with B1 and Vise versa. May be my sense is wrong due to insufficient knowledge about classical music, I apologized if it is just my missed interpretation. Thank you so much.

  5. Thank You for this Rare Masterpiece – SUPERB RIP & Gorgeous Sound,
    Also thanks to Jean-Luc for his big heart to make ours
    souls enjoying this rare soul food.

  6. This is a superb recording. I too was unfamiliar with Dorati’s Mercury outing, having been practically raised on his Decca cycle.
    I have compared both, and this Mercury recording truly lives up to its ‘Living Presence’ label. The orchestra really does seem to be there in front of you and individual sections of the orchestra are clearly defined (even in the very ‘busy’ parts).

    For information, according to http://mercury.lacyway.com the dates of this recording are:
    Date Recorded:7/7-10/57
    Date Released:3/60 – 7/60

    Thanks to Jean-Luc for finding this gem, and to Rachmaninov for yet another beautiful audiophile transfer from vinyl!
    I read that these were also re-issued on 180gm pressings. That would be a great find! 🙂

Leave a Reply