Audiophile HD-Vinyls 24/192 (Telarc) Peter Tchaikovsky – The Nutcracker (Mackerras)

Excellent vinyl of the Nutcracker by the London Symphony Orchestra. 180 gram remastered recording. Two records. Timeless art by Maurice Sendak of “Where the wild things are” fame. Highly recommend if you want to relive the Nutcracker or just have a nice fancy diner with the music in the background. Sir Charles Mackerras has done the world of classical music a big, big favor. I have another, fantastic complete version of this ballet, but I can recommend this one, based on what hear on this terrific recording. Right from the start, Mackerras shows not only that he cares, but that he gets it. This work calls for light, rapid, and sonorous playing from all instrumental groups to capture the Christmassy, miniature feel of the work. The listener is even treated to a rifle shot and cannon blasts during “The Battle Between the Nutcracker and the Mouse King.” You can’t go wrong with picking this one up instead of another recording.

Composer: Peter Tchaikovsky
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Sir Charles Mackerras
Vinyl 1986/2016

Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC
Label: Telarc
DR-Analysis: DR 13
Size: 3.16 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF



A1 Overture 3:07
A2 Act I, Scene 1: The Christmas Tree 3:57
A3 Act I, Scene 2: March 2:31
A4 Act I, Scene 3: Children’s Galop and Arrival Of The Guests 2:20
A5 Act I, Scene 4: Dance Scene and Arrival Of Drosselmeyer 5:49
A6 Act I, Scene 5: Scene and Grandfather’s Dance 6:25
B1 Act I, Scene 6: The Magic Spell Begins 6:21
B2 Act I, Scene 7: The Battle Between The Nutcracker and The Mouse King 3:21
B3 Act I, Scene 8: Scene In The Pine Forest (Journey Through The Snow) 4:05
B4 Act I, Scene 9: Waltz Of The Snowflakes 6:09
C1 Act II, Scene 10: The Magic Castle 3:56
C2 Act II, Scene 11: Clara and The Prince 4:35
C3 Act II, Scene 12: Chocolate: Spanish Dance 1:12
C4 Act II, Scene 12: Coffee: Arabian Dance 2:57
C5 Act II, Scene 12: Tea: Chinese Dance 1:02
C6 Trepak (Russian Dance) 1:08
C7 Act II, Scene 12: Dance Of The Mirlitons 2:08
C8 Act II, Scene 12: Mother Gigogne and The Clowns 2:36
D1 Act II, Scene 13: Waltz Of The Flowers 6:37
D2 Act II, Scene 14: Pas De deux: Dance Of The Prince and the Sugar-Plum Fairy 5:04
D3 Act II, Scene 14: Variation I: Tarantella 0:45
D4 Act II, Scene 14: Variation II: Dance Of The Sugar-Plum Fairy 2:19
D5 Act II, Scene 14: Coda 1:23
D6 Act II, Scene 15: Final Waltz and Apotheosis 5:05
D7 Duet Of Daphnis and Chloe From The Queen Of Spades (La Pique Dame) 2:36


Analyzed folder: /192k(Telarc) Tchaikowsky – The Nutcracker – Mackerras
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR14 -8.30 dB -27.96 dB A1 Overture.aif
DR15 -2.90 dB -24.33 dB A2 Act I, Scene 1- The Christmas Tree.aif
DR14 -1.84 dB -21.29 dB A3 Act I, Scene 2- March.aif
DR12 -1.69 dB -18.86 dB A4 Act I, Scene 3- Children’s Galop and Arrival Of The Guests.aif
DR16 -1.22 dB -23.21 dB A5 Act I, Scene 4- Dance Scene and Arrival Of Drosselmeyer.aif
DR12 -3.21 dB -21.47 dB A6 Act I, Scene 5- Scene and Grandfather’s Dance.aif
DR13 -0.84 dB -20.51 dB B1 Act I, Scene 6- The Magic Spell Begins.aif
DR14 -1.32 dB -21.19 dB B2 Act I, Scene 7- The Battle Between The Nutcracker and The Mouse King.aif
DR11 -2.93 dB -19.36 dB B3 Act I, Scene 8- Scene In The Pine Forest (Journey Through The Snow).aif
DR14 -2.26 dB -21.99 dB B4 Act I, Scene 9- Waltz Of The Snowflakes.aif
DR13 -4.18 dB -23.08 dB C1 Act II, Scene 10- The Magic Castle.aif
DR13 -1.29 dB -19.45 dB C2 Act II, Scene 11- Clara and The Prince.aif
DR12 -2.64 dB -21.70 dB C3 Act II, Scene 12- Chocolate- Spanish Dance.aif
DR12 -17.40 dB -35.40 dB C4 Act II, Scene 12- Coffee- Arabian Dance.aif
DR12 -12.88 dB -27.57 dB C5 Act II, Scene 12- Tea- Chinese Dance.aif
DR12 -1.07 dB -17.00 dB C6 Trepak (Russian Dance).aif
DR14 -8.53 dB -28.75 dB C7 Act II, Scene 12- Dance Of The Mirlitons.aif
DR12 -1.65 dB -18.40 dB C8 Act II, Scene 12- Mother Gigogne and The Clowns.aif
DR14 -1.78 dB -21.50 dB D1 Act II, Scene 13- Waltz Of The Flowers.aif
DR13 -1.71 dB -19.16 dB D2 Act II, Scene 14- Pas De deux- Dance Of The Prince and the Sugar-Plum Fairy.aif
DR11 -6.08 dB -28.18 dB D3 Act II, Scene 14- Variation I- Tarantella.aif
DR15 -15.09 dB -35.08 dB D4 Act II, Scene 14- Variation II- Dance Of The Sugar-Plum Fairy.aif
DR14 -2.45 dB -21.26 dB D5 Act II, Scene 14- Coda.aif
DR13 -0.64 dB -19.29 dB D6 Act II, Scene 15- Final Waltz and Apotheosis.aif
DR13 -12.37 dB -30.12 dB D7 Duet Of Daphnis and Chloe From The Queen Of Spades (La Pique Dame).aif

Number of files: 25
Official DR value: DR13




  • Art Direction – Ray Kirschensteiner
  • Edited By – Elaine Martone, Rosalind Ilett
  • Engineer – Jack Renner
  • Illustration – Maurice Sendak
  • Liner Notes – Richard E. Rodda
  • Producer – Robert Woods (2)
  • Remastered By – Paul Blakemore (3)
Recorded in Watford Town Hall, London on May 13, 14 & 16, 1986


Ripping Info

  1. RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  2. TT: Vintage (1982) Yamaha PX-3
  3. Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  4. Cartridge: ZYX 50R Bloom
  5. Phono amp: Audio Research SP15 own tube phono section.
  6. ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC


  1. Pre Amp: Audio Research SP15
  2. Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  3. Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  4. Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96(24/192): Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5


11 thoughts on “Audiophile HD-Vinyls 24/192 (Telarc) Peter Tchaikovsky – The Nutcracker (Mackerras)”

Leave a Reply