HD-Vinyls 24/96 (CBS) Franz Schubert – Impromptus Opp. 90 & 142 (Perahia)

front-small-boxsetWonderful ! Many thanks Trottar for this gift.
Murray Perahia is one of the most lyrical pianists of our time. In his hands, the “Schubert Impromptus” album is quite possibly the definitive interpretation of these equally lyrical piano works by Franz Schubert. His delicate playing of the shifting minor and major keys and modulations makes the listener pause to absorb every nuance and phrasing.

Composer: Franz Schubert
Performer: Murray Perahia
Vinyl (1983)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: CBS
DR-Analysis: DR 14
Size: 1.15 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory

Murray Perahia is a world-class keyboard super-virtuoso whose renditions enchant generations of music-lovers in live performances and recordings as well. Now he is approaching 70 and his skills – in musical and pianistic terms – have strengthened themselves by passing the years and experiencing many performing moments of grace, so that his interpretations have continually got new nuances till they reached that special mellow craftsmanship and refinement of simplicity that single out the genuine musician. That’s why Perahia’s concerts are sold out no matter where on the globe, no matter what program he offers.

This record testifies young Perahia’s schubertian insight. Made in his thirties, the recording comprises the two sets of Impromptus (D 899 and D 935) by the Viennese composer, scores that attracted many pianists of all times, from Wilhelm Kempff and Artur Schnabel, to Alfred Brendel, Radu Lupu, Krystian Zimerman, Andras Schiff, Mitsuko Uchida (and the list can be consistently enlarged with names from the new generations). Though Lupu’s unmatched serenity or Brendel’s limpid simplicity are for me the ideal approaches to this repertory, Murray Perahia explores his own way to Schubert. No less charming. No less convincing.

The playfulness of this pure romantic music, along with the melodic beauty and harmonic sweetness, found an inspired advocate in Murray Perahia. His gifts seem much appropriate to these Schubert’s sparkling confessions.



  Impromptus, D.899, Op. 90
A1 Impromptu No. 1 – C Minor 10:12
A2 Impromptu No. 2 – E-Flat Major 4:38
A3 Impromptu No. 3 – G-Flat Major 6:03
A4 Impromptu No. 4 – A-Flat Major 7:28
  Impromptus, D. 935, Op. 142
B1 Impromptu No. 1 – F-Minor 9:41
B2 Impromptu No. 2 – A-Flat Major 6:48
B3 Impromptu No. 3 – B-Flat Major 10:55
B4 Impromptu No. 4 – F-Minor 6:31


Analyzed folder: /96k Schubert – Impromptus Op. 90 + 142 – Murray Perahia
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR16        -0.96 dB     -23.48 dB     A1 Impromptu D.899, Op. 90 No. 1 – C Minor.aif
DR14        -1.98 dB     -20.72 dB     A2 Impromptu D.899, Op. 90 No. 2 – E-Flat Major.aif
DR15        -9.16 dB     -29.34 dB     A3 Impromptu D.899, Op. 90 No. 3 – G-Flat Major.aif
DR13        -3.75 dB     -23.08 dB     A4 Impromptu D.899, Op. 90 No. 4 – A-Flat Major.aif
DR14        -0.90 dB     -21.70 dB     B1 Impromptu D. 935, Op. 142 No. 1 – F-Minor.aif
DR15        -3.94 dB     -24.63 dB     B2 Impromptu D. 935, Op. 142 No. 2 – A-Flat Major.aif
DR15        -2.26 dB     -22.45 dB     B3 Impromptu D. 935, Op. 142 No. 3 – B-Flat Major.aif
DR14        -4.01 dB     -22.99 dB     B4 Impromptu D. 935, Op. 142 No. 4 – F-Minor.aif
Number of files:    8
Official DR value:    DR14

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally


11 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (CBS) Franz Schubert – Impromptus Opp. 90 & 142 (Perahia)

  1. Such beautiful music. Glad you made me discover it.
    Unfortunately there is a faint buzzing sound. It’s not the usual imperfections one is accustomed to from analog recordings.
    It seems like something you would expect from equipment that hasn’t been well grounded. It’s quite noticeable at the beginning of the 3rd impromptu op. 90. Since I have listened to other rips from your new equipment I would sadly have to deduce its coming from the original recording of the work…

    • The buzzing sound could be a mobile phone too close to the mac. Can you tell me exactly where it is? Minutes/seconds

      BTW: my equipment is well grounded, trust in me. I have here +800 rips and on another blog + 2,000…. and I never had a complaint about not-well-grounded components.

  2. You never gave us a reason to complain from such a problem 🙂
    I had to listen to it closely to be sure I wasn’t imagining it.
    Like I mentioned earlier, its more noticeable at the start of the 3rd impromptu from OP 90. But if you listen very well you can here it at the start of the first impromptu OP 90 and around 2:04 to 2:20. Actually, in most of the quiet moments you can here that sound. Try listening at the start of the 2nd impromptu OP 90. You will also here it.
    And I trust you implicitly, btw 🙂

Leave a Reply