HD-Vinyls 24/96 (CBS) Joseph Haydn – Piano Sonatas Hob. XVI 20, 44, 46 (Rosen)

Many thanks to our friend Trottar for this wonderful record
When we discuss Haydn and Mozart and late Beethoven it would be better if we dropped the idea of sonata form as a certain shape into which the music was poured, and thought instead of the ideals that are involved. Haydn and Mozart both wanted a piece that started from a point of stability and became increasingly dramatic with a climax three-quarters of the way through when the music reached a moment of greatest tension…

# Composer: Joseph Haydn
# Performer: Charles Rosen
# Vinyl (1969)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: Flac
# Label: CBS
# DR-Analysis: DR 13
# Size: 887 MB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory



 …continue reading HERE



  Sonata In C Minor, H.20
A1 Allegro Moderato  
A2 Andante Con Moto  
A3 Allegro  
  Sonata In A-Flat Major, H.46
A4 Allegro Moderato  
B1 Adagio  
B2 Presto  
  Sonata In G Minor, H.44
B3 Moderato  
B4 Allegretto


Analyzed folder: /96k Haydn – Piano Sonatas 20,44,46 – Rosen
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -1.59 dB     -20.27 dB     A1 Sonata In C Minor, H.20 – 1, Allegro Moderato.wav
DR12        -8.12 dB     -23.88 dB     A2 Sonata In C Minor, H.20 – 2, Andante Con Moto.wav
DR13        -0.24 dB     -18.85 dB     A3 Sonata In C Minor, H.20 – 1, Allegro.wav
DR13        -6.51 dB     -23.80 dB     A4 Sonata In C Minor, H.46 – 1, Allegro Moderato.wav
DR13        -4.37 dB     -23.42 dB     B1 Sonata In C Minor, H.46 – 2, Adagio.wav
DR12        -1.39 dB     -16.56 dB     B2 Sonata In C Minor, H.46 – 3, Presto.wav
DR14        -2.53 dB     -22.33 dB     B3 Sonata In C Minor, H.44 – 1, Moderato.wav
DR14        -2.47 dB     -21.62 dB     B4 Sonata In C Minor, H.44 – 2, Allegretto.wav
Number of files:    8
Official DR value:    DR13


  • Composed By – Joseph Haydn
  • Engineer – Christopher Parker, Roy Emerson
  • Piano – Charles Rosen
  • Producer – Paul Myers


Ripping Infos


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
I tend more and more, in the last time, to de-click with an automatic setting between 0.7 and 1.2 so you can say, my rips are like half rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Very light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.

Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

6 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (CBS) Joseph Haydn – Piano Sonatas Hob. XVI 20, 44, 46 (Rosen)

  1. Thank You Alf, Rosen was an highly decorated Professor and book author. His intelligent Piano playing has fascinated me since 1965. Rosen died 2012.
    Sony released all his CBS recordings in a box last year.
    Greetings Trottar

  2. I downloaded Weissenberg first, but all I said of his work on Haydn is bountifully applicable to Rosen’s artistry as well.

    Again, thanks to Trottar and Rach for displaying the wonderment for us all to enjoy; and for your brief comment on Rosen as well.

  3. This is a fine selection of sonatas, and Rosen plays them beautifully. I had not previously been familiar with his work, so thank you both for bringing this disc to life again.

    Another fine transfer from vinyl. The sound is impeccable, as usual 🙂

Leave a Reply