HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Decca) Franz Liszt – A Faust Symphony (Ansermet)

front_small_boxset Liszt’s Eine Faust-Symphonie, based on the Faust legend, is an hour-long work for tenor, choir and orchestra, based on the Faust legend. The Suisse Romande Orchestra take to this complex score, one with which they could hardly have been familiar, with clear enthusiasm and imbue the performance with alertness and vivacity. The woodwind playing of the orchestra (not always enjoyed by critics) in the Gretchen movement is especially sensitive. Ansermet is direct, honest and conveys emotional intensity without resorting to sentimentality or the vulgarity to which conductors of this music are sometimes prone.

# Composer: Franz Liszt
# Performer: Werner Krenn
# Orchestra: Orchestre De La Suisse Romande
# Conductor: Ernest Ansermet
# Vinyl (1968)
# Number of Discs: 2
# Format: Flac
# DR-Analysis: DR 15
# Label: Decca
# Size: 1.81 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server:



The recording is vivid and full of presence. So too for the pair of Scenes from Lenau’s Faust – the familiar Mephisto Waltz No. 1 (this time with the alternative quiet ending) coupled with the beautifully atmospheric `Nocturnal Procession’. Magnard, sometimes described as the `French Bruckner’ was clearly part of a group of French composers influenced by the Austro-German school. Yet, his third symphony shows a Classical discipline and poise. This work was recorded by Ansermet very late in his career, at a time when musical byways were far less likely to be explored than today. For many years, it was virtually the only recording of any work by Magnard and it demonstrates how Ansermet’s keen musical curiosity remained undimmed by his advancing years. The Suisse Romande perform the work with poise and clarity.

Liszt is best known for his piano music and symphonic poems, but he also composed two symphonies – this one and a Dante symphony. The symphonies are perhaps even more accessible on first hearing than the symphonic poems because there are more recognizable melodies. The Faust symphony is in three movements that respectively represent Faust, Gretchen or Margarita and Mephistopheles. When Liszt composed the work in 1854 he was at the height of his powers as composer. It is an orchestral work throughout until the final section of the finale which is scored for choir and tenor solo – here the Pro Arte Choir of Lausanne and the tenor Werner Krenn.

Several composers of the Romantic period composed ballets, operas, symphonies or, like Robert Schumann, scenes based on the Faust legend, usually as related by Goethe. Like his son-in-law, Richard Wagner, Liszt in this work uses the idea of musical motifs to represent characters or their emotions. This was not originally a digital recording, but with digital reprocessing I have no problem at all with the quality of the sound reproduction in this Decca Eloquence double CD. The orchestra is L’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande conducted by its founding conductor, Ernest Ansermet. Ansermet conducted the orchestra from 1918 to 1968.

Track List

A   1. ‘Faust’ 28:16
B   2. ‘Gretchen’ 15:36
C   3. ‘Mesphistopheles” – Finale 7:29
    Two Episodes From Lenau’s Faust
D1   The Nocturnal Procession 22:25
D2   The Dance In The Village Inn (1st Mephisto Waltz)  

Analyzed folder: /96kFrLi_FauSy_Ans/96k Liszt – Faust Symphony – Ansermet
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR14        -0.54 dB     -20.24 dB     A 1. ‘Faust’.wav
DR16        -7.92 dB     -28.69 dB     B 2. ‘Gretchen’.wav
DR14        -0.00 dB     -19.77 dB     C 3. ‘Mesphistopheles” – Finale.wav
DR18        -0.63 dB     -24.54 dB     D1 Two Episodes From Lenau’s Faust – The Nocturnal Procession.wav
DR15        -1.06 dB     -22.49 dB     D2 Two Episodes From Lenau’s Faust – The Dance In The Village Inn (1st Mephisto Waltz).wav
Number of files:    5
Official DR value:    DR15


  • Choir – Le Chœur Pro Arte De Lausanne
  • Chorus Master – André Charlet
  • Composed By – Franz Liszt
  • Conductor – Ernest Ansermet
  • Orchestra – L’Orchestre De La Suisse Romande
  • Tenor Vocals – Werner Krenn


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki (L’art du son, Clearaudio’s Diamond Cleaner)
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

DONATION ! If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls. Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
5 archives

PW: LaWally

12 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Decca) Franz Liszt – A Faust Symphony (Ansermet)

  1. the first dodecaphonic theme in the world music ever…
    symphonic Liszt has never been among my favs, but this…
    till now i had never had satisfaction from any of the recorded renditions of the work.
    maybe this one…
    i should give it a chance…

  2. Thanks Rach, sounds very interesting.
    I can hear that you did another great ripping job, the sound is clear and absolutely superb!!! This record is candy to my ears.

Leave a Reply