HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Decca) Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 9 (Ansermet)

front-small-boxset Many thanks to Jean-Luc for this pearl
What is truly amazing to me is the fact that this version was originally recorded in 1959 (!!!). While the strings might seem a bit thin in places to some, the basses and woodwinds really shine in this recording. Ansermet’s crisp, up-tempo interpretation of the score is one of the best ever, in my estimation, and not to be missed. Ansermet delivers a lean, muscular performance of the ‘Ninth’ with a slow movement of cool beauty. The youthful choir adds real zest to the finale and aided by a quartet of star soloists (this was Joan Sutherland’s first recording for Decca) Ansermet gives the choral finale real nobility.

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Joan Sutherland, Norma Procter, Anton Dermota, Arnold van Mill
Orchestra: L’Orchestre De La Suisse Romande
Conductor: Ernest Ansermet

Vinyl (1961)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: Decca
DR-Analysis: DR 15
Size: 1.31 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory



  Symphony No. 9 In D Minor, Op. 125 (‘Choral’)  
A1 1st Mov. Allegro Ma Non Troppo, Un Poco Maestoso 16:20
A2 2nd Mov. Molto Vivace 11:15
A3-B1 3rd Mov. Adagio Molto E Cantabile – Andante Moderato – Andante – Adagio 15:15
B2 4th Mov. Presto – Allegro Ma Non Troppo – Allegro Assai 24:15


Analyzed folder: /96k LvB – Symphony No. 9 – Ansermet
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR15        -2.44 dB     -22.08 dB     A1 1st Mov. Allegro Ma Non Troppo, Un Poco Maestoso.aif
DR15        -1.28 dB     -22.54 dB     A2 2nd Mov. Molto Vivace.aif
DR17        -4.10 dB     -26.81 dB     A3-B1 3rd Mov. Adagio Molto E Cantabile – Andante Moderato – Andante – Adagio.aif
DR13        -1.03 dB     -19.38 dB     B2 4th Mov. Presto – Allegro Ma Non Troppo – Allegro Assai.aif
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR15


  • Bass Vocals – Arnold van Mill (tracks: B2)
  • Chorus – Chorale Du Brassus (tracks: B2), Choeur Des Jeunes De L’Eglise Nationale Vaudoise* (tracks: B2)
  • Composed By – Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Ernest Ansermet
  • Contralto Vocals – Norma Procter (tracks: B2)
  • Directed By [Choruses] – André Charlet (tracks: B2)
  • Engineer [Uncredited] – Roy Wallace
  • Mastered By – E (24)
  • Orchestra – L’Orchestre De La Suisse Romande
  • Photography By – Hans Wild (2)
  • Producer [Uncredited] – James Walker (5)
  • Soprano Vocals – Joan Sutherland (tracks: B2)
  • Tenor Vocals – Anton Dermota (tracks: B2)

Ripping Info


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
My rips are almost rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

11 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Decca) Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 9 (Ansermet)

  1. Glorious recording & Hi Def, too.
    This sym & Nos. 6, 8 and Fidelio are my favorite symphonic works. LvB wrote such powerful stuff.

    Thanks Jean Luc & Alf.

  2. Thanks Jean Luc & Alf … I was listening to the first movement … at 8.55 the lower strings have greatly excited me. Great Ernest … so nice, smart, cool

  3. Thanks Rach & Jean-Luc. Great symphony and it was nice to hear Sutherland in this early recording. I’ve become an Ansermet fan.

  4. Thanks and good to see you give credit to Ansermet. Many of his recordings of the symphonies are stellar and the 9th is in my top five.

Leave a Reply