HD-Vinyls 24/96 (DGG) Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 6 & 7 (Karajan)

Many thanks to Jean-Luc for these Sibelius pearls
These are wonderful performances which have always been highly regarded. Karajan captures the immense gloom and introspection of the crystal, northern beauty of the 6th. Tapiola is intensely dramatic and breathtaking in its sweep. The 7th performance given here is one of the most awe inspired interpretations ever put to record. No conductor can convey the emotion which Herbert von Karajan can in this piece…
…listen to the trombone solo at the end and your hair will rise on the back of the neck…truly wonderful. The strings in the opening are beutiful…an awe inspired 7th with a tremendous 6. Strange that Sibelius never wrote another note after this for over a 30 year period…
Thanks Herbie..

Composer: Jean Sibelius
Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
Vinyl 1968

Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
Label: DGG
DR-Analysis: DR 15
Size: 1.94 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FF




  Symphonie Nr. 6 D-Moll Op. 104  
A1 1. Satz: Allegro Molto Moderato  
A2 2. Satz: Allegretto Moderato  
A3 3. Satz: Poco Vivace  
A4 4. Satz: Allegro Molto  
B Symphonie Nr. 7 C-Dur Op. 105 (In Einem Satz)

Analyzed Folder: /192k Sibelius – Symphony No. 6 and 7 – Karajan
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR15 -0.81 dB -23.56 dB A1 Symphony No.6 In D Minor, Op.104 – 1. Allegro molto moderato.flac
DR15 -6.25 dB -28.49 dB A2 Symphony No.6 In D Minor, Op.104 – 2. Allegretto moderato.flac
DR14 -0.61 dB -22.66 dB A3 Symphony No.6 In D Minor, Op.104 – 3. Poco vivace.flac
DR14 -1.46 dB -21.91 dB A4 Symphony No.6 In D Minor, Op.104 – 4. Allegro molto.flac
DR15 -0.32 dB -21.21 dB B Symphony No. 7 C-Major, Op. 105 in one Movement.flac

Number of Files: 5
Official DR Value: DR15




  • Composed By – Jean Sibelius
  • Conductor – Herbert von Karajan
  • Engineer [Recording] – Günter Hermanns
  • Liner Notes – Carl-Heinz Mann
  • Orchestra – Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Producer – Otto Gerdes
  • Recording Supervisor – Hans Weber

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96(24/192): Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5



10 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (DGG) Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 6 & 7 (Karajan)”

  1. Thank you very much, Mssrs. Rach and Jean-Luc!
    You know, Alf, there still remain a dozen of touchstones of classical music (for me!), LPs of 60’s and 70s mainly, that you have not ripped yet. But with these two releases of Karajan’s Sibelius their number is reduced. Just another musthave. For me, these are one the three best recordings of Sibelius symphonies (the other two being the Maazel box on Decca and digital Bernstein on DG).

Leave a Reply