HD-Vinyls 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto Op. 61 (Mutter, Karajan)

 front-small-boxsetMany thanks to our friend Mats for this “six” at the lottery
(1) Take one of the greatest composers ever lived, (2) one of the most beautiful violin concertos, (3) a former wonder child at the violin, (4) one of the greatest orchestra directors, (5) one of the technically best recording of this work that I know and, at least, (6) trasfer this wonder to digital with the best possible equipment (SP15 and Black Bird) and… there you have the “six” 😀 Anne-Sophie is here 16 years old and simply wonderful phantastic !

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Anne-Sophie Mutter
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Herbert von Karajan
Vinyl (1980)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: DGG
DR-Analysis: DR 14
Size: 965 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory

You can’t quite hear in this Beethoven Violin Concerto, fresh and elegant as it is, why Mutter went on to become the highest-paid soloist in classical music. There’s not enough personal voice, as one learns by turning to her later reading, also on DG, with Kurt Masur. There, Mutter has glamoour and style to die for, perhaps too much for Beethoven’s lofty musical intentions. Her younger self was simpler and fresher, but both possess dead-on intonation and amazing technical polish.

Whatever Karajan saw in his teenage protegee, he certainly spotted a future star. Condcutor and orchestra supply a masterful accompaniment, the best I’ve heard since Furtwangler’s famous account with Menuhin in the post-war era. In keeping with his young soloist, Karajan keeps the accompaniment light, never overwhelming her.

I wouldn’t say that this is my favourite performance of the Beethoven. In fact I have about 10 different performances of this concerto, and if I could morph all 10 into 1 then that would be my ideal. Nevertheless, what I like about this performance is the spaciousness that Mutter gets. Someone once remarked that the first movement of this work is a work of “lofty architecture” and I tend to agree with that description. Mutter’s playing is very precise, and wonderful, especially in the high registers. Yes, perhaps there isn’t much of her personality in it, but that’s the Karjan way IMHO. Nevertheless, it’s quite stunning. I often come back to this one, on account of the first movement. It may be slow, but it’s quite captivating.

Absolutely recommended !



  Konzert Für Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61  
A 1. Satz: Allegro Ma Non Troppo 26:31
B1 2. Satz: Larghetto 11:24
B2 3. Satz: Rondo. Allegro 10:16


Analyzed folder: /96k LvB – Violin Concerto – Mutter, Karajan
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR13        -1.03 dB     -20.77 dB     A Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 – 1. Satz- Allegro Ma Non Troppo.aif
DR16        -2.89 dB     -26.76 dB     B1 Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 – 2. Satz- Larghetto.aif
DR12        -0.50 dB     -18.33 dB     B2 Konzert Fuer Violine Und Orchester D-dur Op. 61 – 3. Satz- Rondo. Allegro.aif
Number of files:    3
Official DR value:    DR14


  • Art Direction – Peter Schuppe
  • Composed By – Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Conductor – Herbert von Karajan
  • Engineer – Günter Hermanns
  • Liner Notes [English] – Richard Osborne
  • Liner Notes [German] – Ingo Harden
  • Orchestra – Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Photography By [Cover] – Susesch Bayat
  • Producer – Günther Breest
  • Recording Supervisor – Michel Glotz
  • Translated By [French] – Nicole Geeraert
  • Translated By [Italian] – Silvia Gaddini
  • Violin – Anne-Sophie Mutter

Ripping Info


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
My rips are almost rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
2 archives
PW: LaWally


19 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (DGG) Ludwig van Beethoven – Violin Concerto Op. 61 (Mutter, Karajan)

  1. Hello, Mr. Rach! You are still presenting us the gifts of fantastic value! One by one!
    Additional thanks to Mats, who has provided this wonderful vinyl.
    I have heard this concerto in this interpretation may times, but on CD. I think that Mutter’s rendition is at least equal to those great of Schneiderhan or Ferras, which I consider the best ones.
    Now, thanks to you both, we all have a chance to appreciate the original sound of this recording.

  2. The sound is a nice mix of mellifluous tones and moments of bombast in the orchestra. Miss Mutter was on top of her game beautifully. Beethoven’s violin concerto is one of my favorite pieces.

    I am extremely grateful for this platinum job.
    Thank you both.

Leave a Reply