HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Eterna) Fryderyk Chopin – Piano Concert No. 1 (Rubinstein/Skrowaczewski)

Rubinstein recorded the Chopin Concertos numerous times. This version of Chopin’s first Concerto is the most successful of Rubinstein’s several versions, partly thanks to the sensitive accompaniment of the New London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Stanislaw Skrowaczewski. Tempos are well-judged, phrasing is supple and natural, virtuosity is there, but not for its own sake. Since Rubinstein’s recordings are made so long ago, the recording quality certainly will not be as sophisticated as the present but if we can concentrate on his musicality, his beautiful tone color, performances that has virtuosity but the most important thing brought forward is making music, it is a joy and inspiring to listen to him being an artist and not simply a mechanic. There is no one “correct” way to interpret any piece of music, you just have to find the performance that you like the most but Rubinstein’s performances certainly rank right up there for many people. You don’t have to be musically educated to enjoy art, just listen, look, and react the way you feel. Enjoy!

Composer: Fryderyk Chopin
Performer: Artur Rubinstein
Orchestra: New Symphony Orchestra London
Conductor: Stanislaw Skrowaczewski
Vinyl 1961/1975

Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
DR-Analysis: DR 13
Size: 773 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FF




  Konzert Nr. 1 E-moll Op. 11 Für Klavier Und Orchester  
A1 Allegro Maestoso 19:36
B1 Romanze 10:42
B2 Rondo 10:02

Analyzed Folder: /96k Chopin – Piano Concerto No. 1 – Rubinstein
DR Peak RMS Filename

DR12 -0.46 dB -17.76 dB A Piano Concerto No. 1 E-Minor – Allegro Maestoso.flac
DR14 -2.87 dB -23.06 dB B1 Piano Concerto No. 1 E-Minor – Romance.flac
DR12 -0.84 dB -17.27 dB B2 Piano Concerto No. 1 E-Minor – Rondo.flac

Number of Files: 3
Official DR Value: DR13




  • Composed By – Fryderyk Chopin
  • Conductor – Stanislaw Skrowaczewski
  • Design [Gestaltung] – Axel Dehlsen
  • Orchestra – New Symphony Orchestra Of London
  • Photography By – RCA
  • Piano – Artur Rubinstein
  • Sleeve Notes – Eberhard Rebling

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 5 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Very careful de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removed, never de-noising
  • DR-Analisys
  • Wave 32/192(32/384) —> Flac 24/96(24/192): Twisted Wave 1.18
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5



11 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Eterna) Fryderyk Chopin – Piano Concert No. 1 (Rubinstein/Skrowaczewski)”

  1. Brother! What a performance. Next to the young Pollini, these are the only versions you need. The recording sounds very good too. I have a SACD rip of this which sounds very clear and ‘sparkling’ but really lacks the depth of the original vinyl.

    Great rip Alf 😀

Leave a Reply