HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Philips) K. Penderecki – Utrenja

Thank you Justin, for this precious gift 🙂 Reposted, now with FF links

# Composer: Krzysztof Penderecki
# Orchestra: Symphony Orchestra of the National Philarmonic Warsaw
# Conductor: Andrzej Markowski
# Vinyls (1972/73)
# Number of Discs: 2
# Format: Flac
# Label: Philips
# DR-Analysis: DR 10
# ASIN: not found (found only part 2)
# Size: 1.7 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FF

Performed by the Warsaw National Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir with various soloists, and composed in 1969-1970, Jutrznia I (Utrenya I: The Entombment of Christ) is a magnificent contemporary oratorio in five parts for two mixed choirs, five solo voices and symphony orchestra is a spine-tingling evocation of deep religious and otherworldly experience; the text is taken from Old Church Slavic writings concerning the Russian Orthodox liturgy of Great Saturday and Vespers of Good Friday. The elegant choral and orchestral material consists of tone clusters with major/minor chords embedded in them, wordless drones, chants in the rhythmically repeated chord style of the Russian Orthodox Church and ecstatic reaching for the highest notes in the soloists’ range. Whispered speaking, percussive and brass punctuations, random rushing sounds, steely bow cymbal sustains, and more, take us into an inter-dimensional world of boundless interior and exterior. The second part of the diptych (of which Utrenya I: The Entombment of Christ is the first part), Jutrznia II (Utrenya II: The Resurrection of Christ), composed during 1970-71, is for five vocal soloists, boys choir, two mixed choirs and symphony orchestra. In contrast to Utrenya I, this work is one of unrestrained joy and wonder, the spirit of a more earthy world of two thousand years ago projected onto a contemporary landscape of cosmic dimensions. A remarkable and moving set of works.
“Blue” Gene Tyranny, All Music Guide

Track Listing

  I. Złożenie Chrystusa Do Grobu / The Entombment Of Christ
A1   Troparion    
A2   Pieśni Pochwalne    
A3   Psalm 50    
B1   Kanon Wielkiej Soboty, Pieśń 5, 8, 9    
B2   Idiomelon    
  II. Zmartwychwstanie / The Resurrection Of Christ
C1   Ewangelia Wg Św. Mateusza XXVIII, 1-6    
C2   Stichira    
C3   Psalm Z Troparionem Paschalnym    
C4   Kanon Paschy, Pieśń 1, 3, 6, 9    
D1   Kanon Paschy, Pieśń 8    
D2   Kontakion – Oikos    
D3   Kanon Paschy, Pieśń 9    
D4   Fragmenty Poprzednich Pieśni Kanonu    

Analyzed folder: /Users/alfredo/Desktop/ HiResMusic/96kPen_Utr/96k Penderecki – Utrenja
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR10        -0.47 dB     -15.70 dB     sideA.wav
DR10        -0.52 dB     -16.29 dB     sideB.wav
DR9        -0.62 dB     -13.06 dB     sideC.wav
DR9        -0.55 dB     -14.69 dB     sideD.wav
Number of files:    4
Official DR value:    DR10


  • Bass Vocals – Bernard Ladysz* (tracks: C1 to D4), Wlodzimierz Denysenko (tracks: A1 to B2)
  • Bass Vocals [Basso Profondo] – Boris Carmeli (tracks: A1 to B2), Peter Lagger (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Choir – National Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra Choir, The
  • Chorus Master – Józef Bok, Wladyslaw Skoraczewski (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Composed By – Krzysztof Penderecki
  • Conductor – Andrzej Markowski
  • Mezzo-soprano Vocals – Krystyna Szczepańska
  • Orchestra – Warsaw National Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, The*
  • Soprano Vocals – Delfina Ambroziak (tracks: A1 to B2), Stefania Woytowicz (tracks: C1 to D4)
  • Tenor Vocals – Kazimierz Pustelak


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • System: Special Edition Denon DL 103
  • Phono stage: Pro-Ject Phono Box II
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with ClickRepair, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there,  Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download fro
m FileFactory
5 archives
PW: LaWally

15 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Philips) K. Penderecki – Utrenja

  1. Thanks for this wonderful music, Rachmaninov!! I hope that you can upload the booklet. For a better understanding of this marvelous work, the sung texts are neccesary. Thanks anyway!

        • absolutely sure, Justin….. on oct. 14th and 19th. It can not be that i wrote your address wrong, because was in reply to your “greetings” mail. Have you checked the spam folder? Anyway…i wrote you that i cannot do anything with the Beethoven records, because i cannot handle 78 RPM and shellac. What a pity, sorry my friend

  2. Thank you for incredible transfer!!!!!…lots of nuuances that cannot be perceived on the cd version….truly an invaluable collector’s pice…more penderecki and avantgarde composers please…God bless!!

  3. THANK YOU! I am not usually prone to hyperbole but Penderecki’s “Utrenja” is among the most incredible pieces I’ve ever heard. Stanley Kubrick used a key segment, from the beginning of the Resurrection, during the climax of “The Shining”, in an almost ironic subversion of the music’s original meaning. Not that it didn’t fit perfectly into the film, as all the other music by Bartok, Ligeti and the other six pieces by Penderecki fit perfectly. Utrenja, IS unsettling even frightening in its intensity and spirituality. It conveys a strange, haunting juxtaposition between the terror of the miraculous and a Byzantine calm. I can understand that this would not be to everyone’s tastes. There is a CD of this complete recording. The “Volume Two” refers to the second issue in a Penderecki series. Volume One included “Saint Luke’s Passion”. However, the vinyl blows the CD “out of the water” in its intensity and presence. Thanks again. I’ve been listening to this almost exclusively over the past week.

Leave a Reply