HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Dmitri Shostakovich – Cello Concertos 1 & 2 (Schiff/Maxim Shostakovich)

It must be one of the greatest and most beautiful experiences in life, to conduct an orchestra playing the works of your father
Don’t ask me, why…but this sounds that great, so I ripped it in 24/96 although it is a 16/44 digital production from the mid 80s

# Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
# Performer: Heinrich Schiff
# Orchestra: Symphony Orchestra of the Bavarian Radio
# Conductor: Maxim Shostakovich
# Vinyl (1985)
# Number of Discs: 1
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Philips
# DR-Analysis: DR 17
# Size: 1.14 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory


I’d forgotten what powerful, direct, unaffected performances these are. What’s remarkable about them is how they are not unusual in any way: they are measured, not over the top, studio recordings where every detail has been thought of, every step of the journey has been mapped ahead of time. Many times this leads to a sterile, well-played-but-dull recording. Not this one. Maxim’s support is on the devoted level and Schiff plays every phrase with maximum effect and calculation. The build in the second movement, for example, that starts at about 7:30 is remarkable for its slow, steady pace, a straight ascension that climaxes *just right.* There’s not a wasted effect on this album; everything works with no wasted motion. Yet the total effect is of two men who understand where they are in the pieces at all times, and know what the “temperature” is supposed to be at all times. Thus the effort and the technique melt away and we are carried by magic, carefully crafted magic. This album proved to me that sometimes at least, calculation and intellect can win out over spontaneity and discovery. This isn’t to compare one unfavorably with the other, but rather to show there’s more than one way to skin a rabbit. Or perform the Shostakovich Cello Concerti. (For the “other” way, read my review of Kliegel/Wit on Naxos, or hear, if you want to spring for the whole box, Rostropovich on EMI’s “The Russian Years.” Also thrilling, but very different.)

Schiff and Maxim are helped by transparent and balanced sound on these two works. This is a really impressive disc sonically. You’ll hear inner cello lines and passages where the violins plays against the violas better here than in most recordings, especially in the somewhat denser first concerto. One really appreciates the intricacy of the cello part in these concertos. Other performers attack the work more, but Schiff and Maxim dissect it. But again, though it sounds like this would make for a dull, cautious recording, it is anything but.

Highly recommended, in a very competitive field.

 Analyzed folder: /Volumes/96k (DL103) Shostakovic – Cello Concertos 1 and 2 – Schiff
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR15        -2.97 dB     -23.29 dB     A1 Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107 – I. Allegretto.wav
 DR17        -1.42 dB     -26.25 dB     A2 Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107 – II. Moderato.wav
 DR16        -0.52 dB     -23.98 dB     A3 Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107 – III. Cadenza-Allegro Con Moto.wav
 DR18        -0.32 dB     -24.66 dB     B1 Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 2, Op. 126 – I. Largo.wav
 DR18        -1.35 dB     -26.58 dB     B2 Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No. 2, Op. 126 – II. Allegretto-Allegretto.wav
 Number of files:    5
 Official DR value:    DR17



  • Cello – Heinrich Schiff
  • Co-producer – Bayerischer Rundfunk
  • Conductor – Maxim Shostakovich
  • Horn [Solo] – Johannes Ritzkowsky
  • Liner Notes – Robert Layton
  • Orchestra – Symphonie-Orchester Des Bayerischen Rundfunks


Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Kenwood KT 7010
  • Cartridge: Denon DL103
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotopes, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
3 archives
PW: LaWally

11 thoughts on “HD-Vinyl 24/96 (Philips) Dmitri Shostakovich – Cello Concertos 1 & 2 (Schiff/Maxim Shostakovich)

  1. Thanks Rach.

    Got to say Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto’s have been lucky on disc with this superb version and not forgetting the classic recording with Rostropovich and Ormandy of No. 1.

Leave a Reply