HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Telefunken) Maurice Ravel – Piano Works (Noel Lee)

front-small-boxsetThank you Trottar for these great vinyls
Noël Lee (December 25, 1924 – July 15, 2013) was an American classical pianist and composer living in Paris, France.
Born in 1924 in Nanjing, China, Lee studied music in Lafayette, Indiana, then attended Harvard University, studying with Walter Piston, Irving Fine, and Tillman Merritt and was also a student at the Longy School of Music in the early 1940s. Following World War II, he traveled to Paris where he studied music with Nadia Boulanger and was a friend of Douglas Allanbrook. He composed orchestral, chamber, piano, vocal, and film music. In addition, he completed several unfinished piano works by Franz Schubert, and composed cadenzas for piano concertos by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. He was also well known for his piano accompaniment.

Composer: Maurice Ravel
Performer: Noel Lee
Vinyl (1967)
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC
Label: Valois
DR-Analysis: DR 14
Size: 1.96 GB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory

Lee served as visiting professor at Brandeis University, Cornell University, and Dartmouth College.

He received numerous awards throughout his career, an Academy Award in Art from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for his creative work in 1959;[4] and from France, twice laureate of the Fondation de France, in 1998, the grade of Commandeur of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and, in 1999, from the city of Paris, the Grand Prix de la Musique.

Lee’s first recordings were for the Valois label of Michel Bernstein.

He famously recorded, together with French Pianist Christian Ivaldi, the complete works for four hands by Schubert for the label Arion.

He was the pianist for the American violinist Paul Makanowitzki (1920-1998), the Dutch baritone Bernard Kruysen (1933-2000) and the French soprano Anne-Marie Rodde.

As a pianist, he toured on six continents and recorded 198 LPs and CDs since 1955, particularly of Schubert (including the complete sonatas), Debussy, Ravel, Charles Ives, Bartók, Stravinsky, Aaron Copland and Elliott Carter. Thirteen of these have received a Grand Prix du Disque.


A1 Noctuelles 3:45
A2 Oiseaux Tristes 4:06
A3 Une Barque Sur L’océan 6:16
A4 Alborada Del Gracioso 6:15
A5 La Vallée des Cloches 5:02
B1 Valses Nobles Et Semintales 14:15
B2 Modéré 3:40
B3 Mouvement De Menuet 3:54
B4 Animé 3:34
   Gaspard De La Nuit  
C1 Ondine 6:04
C2 Le Gibet 6:03
C3 Scarbo 9:53
C4 Pavane Pour Une Infante Défunte 5:44
D1 Jeux D’Eau 4:56
  Le Tombeau De Couperin
D2 Prélude 2:40
D3 Fugue 3:10
D4 Forlane 4:38
D5 Rigaudon 3:11
D6 Menuet 4:57
D7 Toccata 3:41

 Analyzed folder: /96k Ravel – Piano Works – Noel Lee
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR12        -6.79 dB     -24.15 dB     A1 Miroirs – Noctuelles.aif
 DR17        -7.75 dB     -31.44 dB     A2 Miroirs – Oiseaux Tristes.aif
 DR13        -2.21 dB     -19.52 dB     A3 Miroirs – Une Barque Sur L’Ocean.aif
 DR13        -0.98 dB     -18.96 dB     A4 Miroirs – Alborada Del Gracioso.aif
 DR16        -10.47 dB     -31.35 dB     A5 Miroirs – La Vallee des Cloches.aif
 DR14        -2.46 dB     -22.74 dB     B1 Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales.aif
 DR13        -1.48 dB     -20.72 dB     B2 Sonatine – Modere.aif
 DR16        -5.28 dB     -27.69 dB     B3 Sonatine – Mouvement De Menuet.aif
 DR12        -1.04 dB     -17.58 dB     B4 Sonatine – Anime.aif
 DR12        -1.76 dB     -20.58 dB     C1 Gaspard De La Nuit – Ondine.aif
 DR17        -7.82 dB     -31.79 dB     C2 Gaspard De La Nuit – Le Gibet.aif
 DR12        -0.93 dB     -18.15 dB     C3 Gaspard De La Nuit – Scarbo.aif
 DR17        -2.51 dB     -24.77 dB     C4 Pavane Pour Une Infante Défunte.aif
 DR13        -3.66 dB     -21.26 dB     D1 Jeux D’Eau.aif
 DR11        -6.10 dB     -19.88 dB     D2 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Prelude.aif
 DR12        -7.58 dB     -24.62 dB     D3 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Fugue.aif
 DR13        -4.93 dB     -22.67 dB     D4 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Forlane.aif
 DR12        -1.33 dB     -17.13 dB     D5 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Rigaudon.aif
 DR16        -2.68 dB     -25.22 dB     D6 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Menuet.aif
 DR11        -0.49 dB     -15.30 dB     D7 Le Tombeau De Couperin – Toccata.aif
 Number of files:    20
 Official DR value:    DR14


Ripping Info


If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music.
Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.
My rips are almost rough rips.

  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
4 archives
PW: LaWally

9 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Telefunken) Maurice Ravel – Piano Works (Noel Lee)

  1. Hello Alf thank you for this post. It just came when my daughter
    sent me the ERATO recording from 1985 Noel Lee playing the seldom recorded 10 Paraphrases by Louis Moreau Gottschalk.
    Greetings Trottar

Leave a Reply