HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Valois) Claude Debussy – L’Oeuvre de Piano, Préludes, Book I + II (Noel Lee)

Thank you Trottar for these two great vinyls
Noël Lee (December 25, 1924 – July 15, 2013) was an American classical pianist and composer living in Paris, France.
Born in 1924 in Nanjing, China, Lee studied music in Lafayette, Indiana, then attended Harvard University, studying with Walter Piston, Irving Fine, and Tillman Merritt and was also a student at the Longy School of Music in the early 1940s. Following World War II, he traveled to Paris where he studied music with Nadia Boulanger and was a friend of Douglas Allanbrook. He composed orchestral, chamber, piano, vocal, and film music. In addition, he completed several unfinished piano works by Franz Schubert, and composed cadenzas for piano concertos by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven. He was also well known for his piano accompaniment.

# Composer: Claude Debussy
# Performer: Noel Lee
# Vinyl (1959-60)
# Number of Discs: 2
# Format: FLAC (Tracks)
# Label: Valois
# DR-Analysis: DR 14
# Size: 1.67 GB
# Scan: yes
# Server: FileFactory

Lee served as visiting professor at Brandeis University, Cornell University, and Dartmouth College.

He received numerous awards throughout his career, an Academy Award in Art from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for his creative work in 1959; and from France, twice laureate of the Fondation de France, in 1998, the grade of Commandeur of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and, in 1999, from the city of Paris, the Grand Prix de la Musique.

Lee’s first recordings were for the Valois label of Michel Bernstein.

He famously recorded, together with French Pianist Christian Ivaldi, the complete works for four hands by Schubert for the label Arion.

He was the pianist for the American violinist Paul Makanowitzki (1920-1998), the Dutch baritone Bernard Kruysen (1933-2000) and the French soprano Anne-Marie Rodde.

As a pianist, he toured on six continents and recorded 198 LPs and CDs since 1955, particularly of Schubert (including the complete sonatas), Debussy, Ravel, Charles Ives, Bartók, Stravinsky, Aaron Copland and Elliott Carter. Thirteen of these have received a Grand Prix du Disque.


 Analyzed folder: /96kDeb_OuDePi_1-2_Lee/96k Debussy L’Oeuvre De Piano – Livre 1, 2 – Noel Lee
 DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
 DR14        -0.59 dB     -21.33 dB     Livre1 – Side1.wav
 DR12        -0.74 dB     -18.46 dB     Livre1 – Side2.wav
 DR17        -0.32 dB     -23.59 dB     Livre2 – Side1.wav
 DR13        -0.22 dB     -18.96 dB     Livre2 – Side2.wav
 Number of files:    4
 Official DR value:    DR14

Ripping Infos

  • RCM: Okki Nokki
  • TT: Clearaudio Champion Level II
  • Cartridge: Sumiko Black Bird
  • Phono amp: Pro-Ject Phono Box RS
  • ADC/DAC: RME Fireface UC
  • Pre Amp: Unison Research Unico Pre (Tube)
  • Finals: Opera Consonance 9.9 Mono (Tube)
  • Speakers: Dali Helikon 400
  • Connections: MIT Terminator, Audioquest Emerald, Audioquest Quartz
  • Software: iZotope RX Advanced v2.02, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Light de-Clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no De-Noising

If You hear some clicks and pops here and there, Who cares?
Id rather have a few light anomalies instead of destroying the music. Enjoy the music, not the ticks & pops.

  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate. I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button. Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory
5 archives
PW: LaWally

15 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls 24/96 (Valois) Claude Debussy – L’Oeuvre de Piano, Préludes, Book I + II (Noel Lee)

  1. Hallo Alf, many thanks to bring Noel Lee, who died in July this year. There was only a short article in the french magazin diapason d’or. In addition to your very good information about the carreer of Noel Lee, he was also a good friend of Werner Haas, the German pianist of great promise, who died 46 year old in a car accident in France. They made together for Philips the comlete piano works for two pianos of Debussy. (see Boxset Werner Haas).Trottar

  2. Rach, I’ll have to take your word for it, and Trottar’s, et al.
    I’ve never been much of a Debussy fan; too moody for me.
    I have to agree Mr. Lee is a good pianist, and your sound enhancement is perfecto.

    I do love this website for proving music of all kinds. Bravo.

    • Now I try to torture you… 😉 in a few days I will post here other stuff by Dbussy, played by Mr. Pianoforte himself: Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli !

      • Rach,
        I have about 30-35 LP Albums of Operas & collections of soloists like EMI Gedda and Bjoerling & a Reader’s Digest Collector’s Edition by RCA of Mario Lanza (6 LPs). Would you be interested in seeing a list of them?


        • Oh yes, BOB…can you give me the list on a PM or the email address you know?
          Would you send me the records?
          PS: Jussi Björling is a special fixed point in my life…every time I hear his voice I feel moved to tears, I don’t know why…maybe because I’ve heard him all my life long – was maybe the very first tenor I heard (through my beloved uncle Totò) when I was a little child.

  3. Alf, no torture, I love Benedetti Michelangeli. He is the most delicate Debussy player. I have all his debusssy
    recordings. I wait for your posting.
    By the way, Noel Lees ‘s recording dates are 12.-17.6.1959 in Copenhagen. Greetings. Trottar

Leave a Reply