HD-Vinyls (Mono)24/96 (EMI) Gustav Mahler – Kindertotenlieder (Ferrier)

front-small-boxsetAll thanks for these gems go to Tovarnik
Even before her tragic death at 41 (in 1953), Kathleen Ferrier became a legend for her incomparable voice, her simplicity and sincerity of expression, and her indomitable courage. This compilation of recordings originally made in the 1940s includes two beautifully sung Händel arias, two sacred songs by Maurice Greene, and delightful duets by Purcell and Mendelssohn (sung in English with another beloved English singer, Isobel Baillie), greatly enhanced by the inimitable pianist Gerald Moore. But the core of this recording is the Mahler cycle. Here, Ferrier’s voice takes on a new warmth and intensity; her deeply inward, direct expressiveness gives the bereaved parent’s grief and anguish a devastating impact. Her reading of the last song could be a bit more spooky, but the end is heartbreaking in its submissive resignation. The Vienna Philharmonic and Bruno Walter are in their native element. –Edith Eisler

Composer: Gustav Mahler
Performer: Kathleen Ferrier, Gerald Moore, Isobel Baillie
Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Bruno Walter
Vinyl (1949)
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Flac
Label: EMI
DR-Analysis: DR 12
Size: 442 MB
Scan: yes
Server: FileFactory



  Mahler: Kindertotenlieder
A1 Nun Will Die Sonn’
A2 Nun Seh’ Ich Wohl
A3 Wenn Dein Mütterlein
A4 Oft Denk’ Ich
A5 In Diesem Wetter
  Georg F. Händel
B1 Come To Me, Soothing Sleep
B2 Spring Is Coming
Maurice Green
B3 I Will Lay Me Down In Peace
B4 O Praise The Lord
Henry Purcell
 B5 Let Us Wander (The Indian Queen)
B6 Shepherd, Leave Decoying (King Arthur)
B7 Sound The Trumpet (Come Ye Sons Of Art)
  Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
B8 Greeting, Op.63 No. 3
B9 I Would That My Love, Op.63 No. 1


Analyzed folder: /96k(Mono) Mahler – Kindertotenlieder – Ferrier, Walter
DR        Peak        RMS        Filename
DR11        -2.97 dB     -18.49 dB     A1 Mahler- Kindertotenlieder – Nun Will Die Sonn’.aif
DR11        -1.68 dB     -17.95 dB     A2 Mahler- Kindertotenlieder – Nun Seh’ Ich Wohl.aif
DR12        -0.41 dB     -18.12 dB     A3 Mahler- Kindertotenlieder – Wenn Dein Muetterlein.aif
DR11        -0.94 dB     -16.08 dB     A4 Mahler- Kindertotenlieder – Oft Denk’ Ich.aif
DR11        -1.72 dB     -18.03 dB     A5 Mahler- Kindertotenlieder – In Diesem Wetter.aif
DR12        -3.83 dB     -20.26 dB     B1 Georg F. Haendel – Come To Me, Soothing Sleep.aif
DR13        -3.23 dB     -19.46 dB     B2 Georg F. Haendel – Spring Is Coming.aif
DR14        -4.13 dB     -22.95 dB     B3 Maurice Green – I Will Lay Me Down In Peace.aif
DR12        -4.63 dB     -21.75 dB     B4 Maurice Green – O Praise The Lord.aif
DR14        -4.06 dB     -21.92 dB     B5 Henry Purcell – Let Us Wander (The Indian Queen).aif
DR14        -0.92 dB     -18.37 dB     B6 Henry Purcell – Shepherd, Leave Decoying (King Arthur).aif
DR13        -1.62 dB     -18.85 dB     B7 Henry Purcell – Sound The Trumpet (Come Ye Sons Of Art).aif
DR13        -2.04 dB     -20.70 dB     B8 Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy – Greeting, Op.63 No. 3.aif
DR13        -1.25 dB     -18.40 dB     B9 Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy – I Would That My Love, Op.63 No. 1.aif
Number of files:    14
Official DR value:    DR12

  • Composed By – Mendelssohn* (tracks: B8, B9), Handel* (tracks: B4, B5), Gustav Mahler (tracks: A1 to A5), Henry Purcell (tracks: B1 to B3), Green* (tracks: B6, B7)
  • Conductor – Bruno Walter (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Contralto Vocals – Kathleen Ferrier
  • Orchestra – Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (tracks: A1 to A5)
  • Piano – Gerald Moore (tracks: B1 to B9)
  • Soprano Vocals – Isobel Baillie (tracks: B1 to B3, B8 to B9)

Ripping Info


  • Software: iZotope RX 4 Advanced, Adobe Audition CS 5.5, Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Super light de-clicking with iZotope, significant clicks manually removing, no de-noising
  • DR-Analisys before converting to Flac
  • Converting Wave -> Flac: Twisted Wave 1.9
  • Artwork: Sony Alpha 350, Epson Perfection V750 Pro, Photoshop CS 5.5

If you like what i do, please consider that a little donation would be very appreciate.
I reinvest all donations in maintenance of my rig, for purchasing cleaning solutions and, most important of all, purchasing of new vinyls.
Click on the “Donate”-button.

Thank you very much !

Download from FileFactory

PW: LaWally

7 thoughts on “HD-Vinyls (Mono)24/96 (EMI) Gustav Mahler – Kindertotenlieder (Ferrier)”

  1. Thanks so much! Speaking of the “Das Lied von der Erde”… has anyone come across this recording: Kathleen Ferrier, Richard Lewis, Hallé Orchestra / Sir John Barbirolli
    APR mono APR5579

    1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1h0HW_ClDyc
      It is readily available here, but the sonics are bright and tinny thin.

      Mahler “Das Lied von der Erde” Lewis/Ferrier/Barbirolli



      Published on Jul 15, 2014

      Das Lied von der Erde by Gustav Mahler
      1. Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde
      (the first 7 bars are missing)
      2. Der Einsame im Herbst
      3. Von der Jugend
      4. Von der Schönheit
      5. Der Trunkene in Frühling
      6. Der Abschied
      Kathleen Ferrier, contralto
      Richard Lewis, tenor
      Hallé Orchestra
      Sir John Barbirolli, conductor
      Manchester, 02.IV.1952

Leave a Reply